Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 65: Pride

After I finished the doctor’s round for those injured with Katie-san and Leslie in the sanitary building, I was immediately called by Raquel-san’s subordinate.

There’s a room on the second floor of the fortress that is used to accommodate visitors from outside. We passed that and I was brought to the next room –Chloe-san and Solfa-san were also there. I saw them on the round table before but this is the first time I’ll talk to them directly.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

Chloe-san has a similar atmosphere to Raquel-san, but I can feel that Raquel-san’s sense of intimidation as a warrior is higher. I don’t feel any magical power though, well, I think it’s natural, but with her deep green hair and eyes she appears to be a mysterious woman.

Solfa-san is a dignified woman with long flax-colored hair tied in two, in the left and right side. I wonder why she refers to Dite-san as “ane-sama” though she is quite young. But since she is an archer, she has that sharp gleam dwelling in her eyes.

“…By nature, this kind of thing is dangerous. Knight Captain Raquel must have been so trusting in Grass-dono. Ane-sama too…”

“…No need for such preamble… I’m sorry if I called out Grass-dono so suddenly. Right now, there’s a messenger who came from the Capital with a decree from His Majesty, the King. Astina-denka, Knight Captain Raquel and Dite-dono already met him and were now talking to him.”

“From the capital… Does that mean that His Majesty has received the request for reinforcements and the reply has come?”

If so, it would have been a good thing for this fortress. But neither Chloe-san nor Solfa-san answered anything, and Chloe-san just urged me to come to the back of the room.

There was a faint conversation from the next room. Chloe-san looks at me without saying anything –does that mean we are here to listen to the conversation between Her Highness and the messenger from the capital in the next room?

“I’ve got the permission from Knight Captain. Grass, you don’t need to force yourself if you’re afraid to be at odds with those in the Capital. We cannot possibly deceive someone who has contributed a lot as a military doctor.”

“I would like to hear that from your own volition. I think you should definitely listen to Raquel-san’s instructions but, you should do so not only because it’s an order.”

 “……Is that so?”

Chloe-san replied briefly and said nothing more. The three of us listen to the conversation coming from the next room –then,

What I heard was an overbearing male’s voice. I don’t think he even thinks that he’s facing the guardians of this fortress, it was such an insolent speech.

“―A direct command from His Majesty, the King. Release all those detained at this Isle Rose Fortress.”

“…I can still understand if it’s about the Zirconian soldier. However, the others were captured because they acted against this fortress. Why should we release them?”

“Watch your mouth, Raquel-dono. If you still object, I’ll have this relayed to His Majesty the King.”This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“Uh…”

I can’t believe what I’m hearing. Not only the Zirconian prisoner, but also those people who were sending weapons to Zirconia and it was even “His Majesty” who ordered the release.

―I shudder while thinking of my suspicion. Although such a thing can’t be true, the sequence of events so far, shows one possibility.

Someone is having trouble releasing everyone detained in this fortress… then that person either borrowed His Majesty’s name or urged His Majesty to issue a decree.

“…Northern Knights… Through the member of the royal family… they give us weapons…”

It was the information pulled from the prisoner with the power of Arlaune. I recalled those words of the person who had communicated with Zirconia across the border.

The other possibility is almost gone.

A member of the Royal family who is familiar with Zirconia urged His Majesty the King.

But even if there is evidence to show that, the decision is left to Her Highness. It’s such a heavy decision as it will determine the fate of this fortress –however, if we do nothing about it and just release the prisoners, Astina-denka and the others will fall right in the palm of the person who’s plotting against Her Highness.

Are all of these the Second Queen’s plot? Why do they go this far? Astina-denka is fighting to protect her country. If they join hands, this country will be more…

I am not the only one holding a fist. Chloe-san and Solfa-san were also angry as they are even biting their lips. They may still not know that the enemy is in the Royal family. Nonetheless, anyone in this fortress knows that the Capital is doing something unreasonable.Translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“…The Zirconia side has been constantly attacking us without rhyme or reason. We are here to protect Lezenia…”

“If you release the people in custody, the integrity of Isle Rose will surely be appreciated by the people as well as in the Capital. His Majesty the King will also be pleased.”

And again, something ridiculous happened. The messenger interrupted Her Highness, Princess Astina’s remark, and expressed her opinion as if it was not necessary.

“You bastard…..uh!”

“Raquel, it’s okay. Vaiseck-dono, thank you very much for telling us about “His Majesty, the King’s intention”. However, for the prisoners of war, it is a matter directly related to the defense of the Western territories….I would appreciate if you could understand that immediate release is not possible.”

“…Princess, you should be able to comprehend this. Your position in the Royal Army was given in consideration of your position as a princess. Rumor has it that you are active on the battlefield. But, it was always your subordinates who say that and it’s quite doubtful on up to what extent of it is a true merit. Don’t get carried by such picture too much.”

The man roughly gets up from his seat and leaves the room. It sounds like Raquel-san stood up too –but she must have been restrained by Her Highness.

“G-Grass-dono…!?”

I couldn’t help but take action.

Why dont they understand…Astina-denka is not just sitting by on the army, she goes in the battlefield while risking her life. Will they try to treat even the achievements she has given so far as if they never existed?

I can’t forgive that. But I wasn’t the only one to think so.

Presha-san too was standing behind the door. She is more upset than anyone. Fury, indignation, and murderous impulse –her clenched fist was bleeding as she forcibly restrains her killing intent.

“…I know it’s completely useless. If I kill him now, all the things we’ve endured up to now will be in vain… He was sent here to disturb Her Highness, I also know that much.”

“…Presha-san”

What happens if someone kill Vaiseck here –Her Highness will be robbed of her right for the throne as she will be deemed rebelling against His Majesty, the King.

Only one person can benefit from it. If we could pinpoint the person behind Vaiseck, that person should be the one being blamed. However, in a situation where Her Highness is far from the Capital and he have no personal connections linked here, he have no means to see the situation, His Majesty the King could only listen to the person nearby.

“…I can’t let him say such a thing to Her Highness…I can’t forgive them. I, one day, I’ll spare none from them…”

“…Me too, I feel the same. Such kind of thing can’t be forgiven.”

Tears spilled from Presha-san’s eyes which had begun to turn into the shade of hatred. She faced the wall and punches her fists on it many times.

“Why… Why do they only think about their selves…!? Can’t we not be one for this country… why!!”

The fist that was once again raised was stopped. Raquel-san who came out of the room holds Presha-san’s wrist.

“…I made you experience something painful. I too… I can only watch Vaiseck’s insolence in front of me…”

“That’s wrong. The one who should feel ashamed the most was…I myself.”

“Uh…..What are you saying, Your Highness? For the people’s sake… and for our sake too, Your Highness personally wield your sword and we have come to this point. Astina-denka is only thinking about the people and you have become a true shield for all of us. That was why we are so proud of you but, why did you not command as to kill Vaiseck…!”

Raquel-san speaks in front of Her Highness. It would have been more painful for her, who had a deep respect for Her Highness.

Her Highness looked at me. Then, without saying anything, she walks towards the upper level.Translated by Yume Neiji

I know that means to follow her. Raquel-san doesn’t say anything, she just cast her eyes downwards –Presha-san looks at me like she’s about to cling on me.

I have to go in order to hear Her Highness’ real intention with my own ears.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


4 thoughts on “Chapter 65: Pride”

  1. Seems like not only do they have to defeat the neighboring countries but also their own! Well let’s see how this goes…
    Thanks for the great chapter!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.