Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 67: Before carrying out the plan

Properly speaking, it would be reckless if Her Highness, the General of this fortress infiltrates the enemy’s territory.

But there’s no other individual comparable to her exists in this fortress. Raquel-san can play a unique role as a heavy cavalry, but she will use a sword when infiltrating missions, and she is one step less than Astina-denka’s swordsmanship.

Still, Raquel-san is the second best swordsman in this Fortress. If Presha-san uses her one-handed spear, nothing will be left on her right side –with the addition of Dite-san, the lead archer, I can hold on to my expectations with these four people together as they can perform any the difficult task.

The question is, can I counter the enemy magician? There is also Leslie but, neither of us have any experience fighting a combat magician. When I was in school, I could not even participate in a mock battle…

Compared to combat magicians, we’re treated like ordinary persons. Even a magic warrior can get killed without being able to make the most of his strength if he is up against a magician. My role is to contribute by doing things that only my spirit’s magic can do. And with Leslie accompanying me, I can plan a strategy that makes use of her spirit as well.

“I thought that the danger of being perceived by the enemy must be taken care of when crossing the river, but… With the “spirit of the air”, you can completely erase our presence.”

“Yes. With my magical power alone, as soon as I use it to erase the presence of many people, it will be quickly depleted. But with Princess’ help, the time I can maintain it will be longer.”

Leslie removes her glasses and shows her real face. Raquel-san’s eyes turned wide at first, but seeing Dite-san who is calm, she too calmed down. She cleared her throat as if to imitate Dite-san then she returned to her usual calmness.

“…I’m not Lendl but Leslie. For now, don’t ask me why I attended to Grass as a man. It’s just that… it was necessary.”

“If a man was wearing a women’s appearance to infiltrate here, it’s necessary to punish him. However, because there are many soldiers of the right age in this fortress, so some people may be discouraged to know that you are women you see.”

“I can interfere with the air around me which can change the impression that others have around me, before I become a man or a woman, I can’t be recognized if I erased my presence.”Translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“Is that so?… That’s amazing then. Up until now, does that mean that you have done that as much as possible?”

“Yes. It’s hard to interfere with a wide range of air, but in a limited range, I can alter the air in many ways.”

The more I know about Leslie spirit, the more I think of something. I feel like I understand why she hasn’t talked too much about her spirit up until now – it is too suitable for “infiltration works”.

It completely erases one’s presence by altering the air –For example, it can deprive the air which is a necessary component for the human body, then, she can attack by suffocating the target. If the Lenklus family knew that she could do that, Leslie might have been brought home earlier. An ambitious man who even wants to use his daughter for political strategy, if he knows the power of air spirits… The fact that no plot is involved yet, I can say that I can still be optimistic.

“Grass, Leslie… Bringing you on a dangerous mission is something that I shouldn’t do, but we are unlikely to be able to break this stage without the help of magic… Please forgive me.”

“The enemy army also borrows the power of a magician. Only a magician can go up against another magician….We are not combat magicians, but we are also magicians. I can prevent you from being defeated without knowing why.”

“….Sensei, thank you. If that’s true, Sensei is more…”

Giving up on becoming a court magician and work as a doctor in the Royal Capital. That too, certainly did exist as an option for me. However, if I did that, I don’t think that it’s good at all. I am sincerely honoured that I was allowed to accompany Her Highness.

The people in this fortress, the people of this territory –there are many who should be healed. I would like to do my utmost to restore the beauty of the garden of the sacred tree.

I even thought that I had to stop Zirconia someday. If I don’t do that, it’s of no use –for that reason…

“Fuuaa… they’re talking very seriously. Rei, are you thrilled?”

“…I will not let Summoner-sama die. We will protect him.”

“That’s right! Summoner-sama, I want you to rely on our power and in all of our friends too. If you feel like it, you can summon all of Rei’s friends in the hideout of those bad people, they can beat all of them!”

We were talking in the strategy room in preparation for our departure, in there, Arlaune and Rei peeped in.

“That’s right… Say, Grass-sensei would really be strong even with a rough estimate right? What do you think?”

“Hmm…Since Grass came here, he always tries to contribute. Certainly, it’s not like those large-scale attacks like what a combat magician does, but I do feel quite a considerable power of support from the shadows.”

“It’s not just that. Grass’ evening care is also perfect you see.”

“…Dite, what does that mean?”

It’s a suggestive way of saying it but I knew exactly what Dite-san was trying to say, so I deliberately said nothing. It was also because Astina-denka’s soft tone felt somewhat powerful.Translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“When I talked about how I can only sleep lightly, he told me about a good flower. Just by leaving it in my room, I finally had a good dream after a long time.”

“D-Dream you say, in that sense… Dite-san intentionally said something weird?”

“Fufufu… you guys look so tragic. It’s indeed dangerous to sneak into the enemy’s territory. But in such time, you should be calm as you normally would. Only those who fears gets closer to the death god you see.”

When Dite-san smiled, everyone’s facial expressions softened. Once again, I felt that I understand what role she played in this fortress.

“Now then…Since the equipments for infiltration is all been prepared, shall we change our clothes? Your Highness, I’ll help you with the equipment.”

“No, I can do it alone….. but, it’s better to check the equipment of each other.”

“Your Highness, for crossing the river, shall we use a small boat or…”

“For crossing the river, you can borrow the power of my fellow plant. Summoner-sama, can I borrow your ears?”Translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“Hmm…what is it?”

I leaned over to Arlaune, then she whispered at my ear.

“I see… There is “that plant” in the spirit world huh…!”

“Yes, it’s sure to be useful. I’m going to the spirit world and call it!”

A plant that can be used to cross the river –if I summon it, we can effortlessly cross the canal and its presence can be erased thru repatriation.

While Arlaune returned to the spirit world, I decided to finish equipping myself. It is said that there are no equipment for men, but the staff of the fortress armor maintenance adjusted and prepared things for me. I think it’s rare for a military doctor to be armed, but I too need to be prepared to save my own life.

The military operation time is the moment the day has changed. Thinking about what else to prepare for, I went to pick up the armor.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


2 thoughts on “Chapter 67: Before carrying out the plan”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.