Homeless Tensei: Isekai De Jiyuu Sugiru Majutsu Jisoku Seikatsu

Chapter 34: Return to Mana

“It’s quite hard…”

“Hey, when will that end? It’s already noon you know?”

“Waauu”

I’m dismantling the Bull King in the guild’s warehouse, but it’s harder than I expected. At the time we dismantled the Pseudo dragon, there was someone with good dismantling skill but this time it is challenging as I’m the only one doing it.

Erna and Pero are only allowed to observe.

“With this, I’m done.”

After dismantling, I sat down in a nearby chair. I’m really tired.

“Oh my, you really dismantled it yourself huh.”

It’s Edmund who is the representative director of the guild here in the Royal Capital. To put it simply, you can think of him as the one holding the highest authority in the guild.

“What is the representative director doing in a place like this?”

“Well, I came here because I have something I want to inform you about.”

Edmond wore a black suit for men and a top hat. His right hand holds a fashionable cane, and both hands were covered in black gloves. There is an eye-catching Kaiser beard under his nose too. He had this noble like impression.

He took out three cards from his bosom.

“As a result of the discussion with the Guild Committee, you have been upgraded to an advanced adventurer. Erna and Pero who are with you are also specially promoted to advanced rank.”Translated by Yume Neiji

I was happy when I received the card. This golden card is the proof of an advanced rank adventurer. For now, I can say that it is a good achievement and that I succeeded in this world. I am scared as my second life is too smooth sailing though.

“Yay! I’m happy to become an advanced ranked adventurer!”

“Waauu!”

Erna and Pero were so happy that they even hugged each other.

But what does it mean by giving a card to Pero? In the first place, Pero has not even registered as an adventurer…

Edmond sat down in the nearby chair and began to talk about that matter.

“I’ve done a careful research on Pero. The result is that he’s unquestionably a sacred beast. On behalf of the Guild, I can’t just leave the sacred beast alone. The higher-ups of this kingdom may also think like that. So, first of all, we secured Pero as an adventurer, I draw upon myself the role to protect him from the higher-ups of this kingdom.”

“Hoh, but, what do you think about doing such thing without my permission?”

“I’ll apologize for that. In fact, the higher-ups of this kingdom were already in motion. Perhaps their purpose is to capture Pero. The procedure went well partly because Duke Medil bought us some time. It worked, but I didn’t have that much time.”

“Duke Medil made a move huh…”

“Yeah, it’s all thanks to him. If Pero was captured, he would likely be trained as a weapon for war. There are a lot of suspicious things recently you see.”

I was convinced. As long as the guild protects Pero, the Kingdom cannot easily deal with him as Guilds are independent organizations that interact with each Kingdom. I can’t really thank Duke Medil enough who was working behind the scenes to protect Pero.

“I heard that you are leaving the Royal Capital today?”

“Yes, but… isn’t it better to return to Mana as soon as possible?”

“Yeah, it’s better to do that. There are still many people in the Royal Capital who are thinking of capturing the sacred beast you see. Now that you are still popular in the Kingdom it is still fine but they may start to make their move when your popularity calmed down.”

We are attracting attention as an adventurers who saved the Royal Capital. That would be a hindrance for those who want to capture Pero. I thought I felt some strange gazes at us today, that maybe because of them.

“Heed my words. We’ll return to Mana immediately.”

“I will send instructions to the Guild in Mana City too. You must be careful not to be robbed of Pero.”Translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

Edmond stands up and leaves the warehouse.

“For Pero-kun to be targeted…”

“No, if you think about it carefully, it was indeed the case. Sacred Beasts can become a powerful weapon. I did not realize that part, I was careless.”

People simply trust the sacred beasts. At the same time, they are also expected to play an active role as a powerful weapon, so the Kingdom cannot leave them alone. It is easy to see that the Nobles plan to have a young sacred beast nearby by training him. Ironically, it seems that Pero’s identity has been revealed due to our success in killing the Bull King.

“We’ll be returning to Mana right away.”

After I put the Bull king’s meat into the bangle, I decided to go back to the Duke’s mansion first.

◇◇◇

“Thank you for letting us stay for a week.”

I thanked the Duke. We bid farewell at the entrance of the mansion, the Duke then shook his head.

“No, same here, I’m very grateful. Without the Sacred Beast, I would have been deeply confined to the sadness of losing my son.”

The mysterious power of Pero healed the Duke’s sorrow. Not only that, Pero also saved the Duchess from sorrow. It’s strange that he can save them just by licking, but if I think of Pero as a miracle in this world, I get the gist of it. He’s undoubtedly a sacred beast.

“Pero, please come again. I will always welcome you.”

“Waauuu”

The Duchess was stroking Pero. Seeing that figure, I feel glad that I came here.

“Huhuuu…Pero-sama…”

Of those who see us off, Freya is the most noticeable. She sheds tears as she feels sad to leave Pero’s side. I can’t see her crumpled face but I’m glad that she valued Pero so much.

“Freya too, take care alright.”

“Freya till next time, okay.”

“Waauuu!”

We boarded the horse-drawn carriage driven by Edner.

“Wait a minute!”

When I heard that voice and looked back, the Earth Fang guys were running towards us. Dhal runs up to me and we made a handclasp.

“You’re going to return to Mana today? Keeping it from us, isn’t that unfair?”

“It’s my bad, it looks like Pero is being targeted by those Nobles you see. I then decided to return to Mana immediately.”

“Oh, so that’s the case huh. When I saw Pero, I thought it would happen, and sure enough, it did huh.”

Since he knew it, he wanted you to say it, but I think Dhal opted to think about it silently. I also shook hands with Roy and Mina and promised to meet them again someday.

“Hey, Erna. If you are really going to become a great mage, go to Dartan Rock Country one day. There seems to be a former training place for the great mage, Moore there.”

“Eh? Is there such a place?”

“Yeah, it’s just that it’s the dwarves’ secret, but if you have the opportunity, you should go. That is if you really want to be a great mage.”

Dhal then turns his back to Erna and leaves briskly. Roy and Mina smiled and chased after Dhal.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“He’s a guy who is not honest till the end.”

“What do you mean by honest? Well, that dwarf’s advice is not that bad.”

I dropped a fist on Erna’s head. Young people don’t understand parental love, but when bidding farewell, be aware of Dhal’s feelings at least.

We then got on the carriage once more and started our journey back to Mana.

“We finally arrived!”

After getting off the carriage, Erna stretches her body. Imitating that, Pero also did some stretching. We finally returned to Mana, but it wasn’t that different from before we went to the Capital.

“I will return to the Royal Capital then. If there is anything, please write to the family head.”

“I understand. Thank you for sending us till here.”

When I thanked Edner, I also hand over a package from my bracelet. Edner who received it tilted his head in confusion.

“This is?”

“Thank you for sending us this far. There’s a bull king’s meat inside. I tried eating it, and it’s delicious.”

“I-Is that okay? Speaking of the Bull king, it has a rare meat that only comes once in a thousand years you know?”

“There are so many of it, and I’ve already given some to the Duke too. Eat it with your family.”

Edner smiled broadly then after his salute, he started the carriage. I’m glad that he could be happy even with only that meat.

“Hey, Shinichi. What are you going to do? Will you go to the guild?”

“Well, yeah. They may be worried because we haven’t been there for a week.”

We then head to the guild. When we entered the Guild, the branch manager, Bud, rushed over to us.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

“Hey you guys, I heard about the things from the Royal Capital! You did it!”

“What do you mean by we did it?”

Bud puts his hand on his forehead as if he’s exasperated.

“What are you saying!? You’re the hero who saved the Royal Capital! Even in town, there are uproar about Homeless’ conspicuous service you know!”

“Uh-Uhm…”

Rumors are sure quick. It feels scary as it has already spread throughout Mana City.

“Speaking of which, I heard that the City lord is looking for Homeless but, is it okay for him to see you guys?”

“City Lord? Is he aiming for Pero?”

“Don’t worry about that. The City lord is known for his good personality. If you are troubled, just say that the sacred beast belongs to the guild.”

Apparently, Bud is already aware of the things in the Royal Capital. As expected from the representative director of the guild, Edmund seems to be a capable person.

“Alright, we’ll visit him tomorrow.”

“Okay. I’ll tell the City Lord as well.”

Bud shook hands with us and returned back to the guild.

“Well then, shall we head home?”

We went out of the guild and head to the dungeon. As usual, when we reached the Temple of Teleportation, I touched the stone plate and we are transferred to the miniature garden.

“Ah, it feels good here.”

Erna lay down in the grass in the miniature garden. When I also lie down, Pero imitates us and lie down too. The bright light coming out from the ceiling is so refreshing.

When I finally felt that I was back in the miniature garden, Pero repeatedly opened and closed his mouth as if he wanted to say something.

“F-…Fa-…Fa-a-aa……”

“Fa?”

“..Fa…Father”

I was so surprised that I ended up opening my eyes wide. Pero just spoke…

“Y-You can talk!?”

“Father.”

I hugged Pero, I was so happy that my lacrimal glands loosened. How long has it been that I was called father?

“Father, father!”

Pero shouts it many times. Erna who has a lovable appearance also got teary eyed.

“I decided! Pero, from today on, you are my son!”

I was resolute to raise Pero as my real son. Yes, today is the birth of Pero Tanaka!

“If that’s the case, then we have to properly teach you the language here.”

I then glance at Erna.

“W-Wait a minute, are you perhaps saying that I have to teach the language?”

“You are the one who taught me right?”

I’m not good at teaching people. I have the habit of thinking that one should just look and remember. In that aspect, Erna is very good at teaching. And just like this, being able to speak another world’s language is all thanks to her good teaching.

“But it’s not free to teach…”

“You can buy two clothes.”

“Three pieces.”

“No, two pieces only.”

In the end, we ended up with two clothes and one accessory. Homeless cannot live a wealthy life. Thrift needs to continue.

We then start to move and we arrived at the first miniature garden. We had to leave the fields for a week, so I have to check what had happened.

“Whoa…”

The field itself has not changed much. However, the vegetables I planted ignored the ridges and it continued to grow. The place where there should have been only a field is now full of vegetables. We immediately start harvesting and restored the field for the time being.

“It might be better to sell these vegetables in the city.”

“Yes, I don’t know what to do about this as there are still lots of vegetables in the warehouse…”

It is a waste to throw it away. Then it would be better to sell it. If possible, I would like to trade with an honest merchant, but why not consult about it with the weapons shop owner, Rodman tomorrow?

We left the fields and finally arrive at the hideout, each of us either falls straight to the floor or the sofa. It felt like I came from on a long trip.

I opened my status while lying on the sofa.

Status
Name:  Shinichi Tanaka
Age:  17 years old (56 years old)
Race:  Homeless (Variant)
Occupation:  Adventurer
Magic attribute:  No Attribute
Magic:  None
Skills: Appraisal (Advanced), Pressure Point (Advanced), Swordsmanship (Advanced), Axemanship (Advanced), Spearmanship (Advanced), Hammermanship (Advanced), Archery (Advanced), Taijutsu A (Advanced), Taijutsu B (Advanced), Stealth (Advanced) ↑, Thread Generation (Special), Thread Manipulation (Advanced), Thread Bomb (Special) ↑, Division(Beginner) New, Danger Detection (Advanced), Digestive Enhancement (Intermediate), Eyesight Enhancement (Advanced), Arm Strengthening (Intermediate) New, Leg Strengthening (Advanced) New, Body Strengthening (Special) New, Super Sensation (Intermediate), Shock Absorption (Beginner) New,  Hardening (Advanced) New, Self Recovery (Intermediate), Plant manipulation (Advanced), Leadership (Special) New, Skill Picking, King’s Vessel New

As you can see, I have acquired the skills from the Bull King. Some skills have also improved. What I’m more curious about is about the King’s Vessel. I am not that sure how to use it, so I’ll leave it as it is for now. It seems that it is a skill that I can use because as it’s even called King’s Vessel, but I cannot remember the situation where the Bull King used it, so I don’t know what to do with it.

In addition to that, it’s about the Bull King’s horn. It’s fine to get its meat, but I’m wondering if I should sell the horn. One out of the two horns was given to the Duke though. Since he extremely wanted it, I exchanged it for 100 gold coins, but I wonder if it was worth it.

“Should I show the horn to Rodman?”

Because of my strong drowsiness, I gradually closed my eyelids. In the midst of my sleep, Pero climbed up to my body, so I decided to hold him up and sleep with him. With a vague consciousness, I felt happy that my son was back.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


3 thoughts on “Chapter 34: Return to Mana”

    1. I’m thinking that King’s Vessel is an intimidation or strengthening skill, like Leg or Body Strengthening. Probably changes the air around him and makes him fearless as well.

      [The result is that he’s unquestionably a sacred beast, in behalf of the Guild, I can’t just leave the sacred beast alone.]
      * beast, —> beast.
      * in behalf —> On behalf

      [“Hoh, but, what do you think about doing such thing without my permission?”]
      * such thing —> such a thing

      [The procedure went well partly because Duke Medil buy us some time.]
      * buy —> bought

      [“Freya till next time, okay”]
      * okay —> okay.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.