Homeless Tensei: Isekai De Jiyuu Sugiru Majutsu Jisoku Seikatsu

Chapter 39: Dungeon exploration

“Oops!”

After I avoided Pero’s fist, I immediately followed up a foot sweep move. Pero avoided it by doing a cartwheel then he shot a roundhouse kick.

“Ugh!?”

Although I defended with my arm, I was blown away by the heavy impact. As expected from this body, it seems that it won’t be killed by a werewolf’s kick.

“That’s enough.”

When the clone announced the end of the match, me and Pero bowed to each other.

“Father is strong!”

“Pero did a good job too. In this case, you might be able to fight an orc alone you know.”

After I said that, the me, who was of the same height as Pero approached my main body. When I held hands with my main body, assimilation gradually started and I was absorbed completely.

“This division skill is not bad.”

It was my clone who was fighting Pero earlier. I can use this division skill to create a young child. However, I can’t create the clothes, so the problem is that my clone is naked. Besides, the number of my clone is limited to one, so I can’t say that it is easy to use yet.

“I’m home—”

Erna is back with her rucksack on her back. I made her go to the city alone but it seems that there was no problem with it.

“How is Rodman doing?”

“It seems that he’s in the studio hitting your sword. His son was the one who gave me an appraisal instead.”

She threw the empty rucksack to the ground and lay down on the grass. I always accompanied her but today, she went alone so she’s pretty tired.

“In the meantime, show me how much it worth.”

“It did not fetch that much.”

The amount she handed over was three silver coins. Not many weapons and armors were collected at the disposal site so this price is as expected.

It may be about time we find a new place to search after all

“All right, we’ll aim for the 30th floor after we have our lunch.”

“Eeh!? Are we really going!?”

“Of course. It’s hard to say that we are still living a stable life.”

“But, is there really another disposal site?”

I’m not that confident whether there’s really one. However, I can’t really tell if there is one or none unless we look for it. Besides, we won’t get started even if we discuss it in this place anyway. Well, there is a reason why I said that we should aim for the 30th floor. The disposal site we are currently using is almost exhausted, weapons and armors cannot be recovered unless new corpses are added.

Then from there, I noticed something.

Not only beginner level adventurers but also those with good equipment such as intermediate and advanced level adventurers went here in Mohed’s Great Dungeon in the past. If they died, their equipment should also be in the disposal site.

However, only the equipments from beginner and intermediate level adventurers fall over on the disposal site we are currently using. In that sense, it means that there is another disposal site somewhere and there is a possibility that such equipments from advanced level adventurers may be accumulated there.

The map left by the great mage Moore also described a mysterious space on the thirtieth level. At least I’m sure that there’s something on the 30th floor.

“I’ll serve you a delicious food, so show that you’re full of spirit.”

“Delicious food you say…”

I can’t feel even a slight enthusiasm from Erna. If I cook a special dish, her feelings will surely change.

First, I draw a magic circle on the ground and add a fire magic stone to create a certain amount of heat. Then with a knife, I make a cut in the meat that has been cut into large pieces. Next, I put oil in a pan and heat it up. In the meantime, I also soak the meat in the beaten egg and then toss it into the bread crumbs. When the oil was properly heated, I add the meat and wait for a while until it turns golden.

When the fragrant scent spread out, Erna, who was lying down, gets up. Pero was already drooling and shaking his tail. When the meat was fried, I chopped the vegetables and sandwiched them in the bread. Finally, I added the sauce sold at the seasoning store and it’s done.

“Is that Shinichi’s special burger?”

Erna and Pero grab the burger that was served and bite on it.

“Hn~!! It’s delicious!”

“Father, it’s so delicious! It’s my first time eating something like this!”

They both like the burger. Even so, I’m still not used to Pero’s fluent speaking. It’s only been a few days since he was taught of the language here but he has an incredible growth. As for his training, his skill has remarkably levelled up and if it is only about agility, it is already beyond the limit.

I used appraisal on Pero.

【Appraisal Result: Pero Tanaka: Werewolf who became a sacred beast. He thinks of Shinichi Tanaka as his father and he’s trying hard to be as strong as his father. He’s currently captivated by the special burger: Rarity S】

【Status】
Name:  Pero Tanaka
Age:  5 years old
Race:  Saint Werewolf
Occupation:  Adventurer
Magic attribute:  Wind (Holy)
Magic:  Air ball, Air arrow
Skills: Gale Attack (Beginner), Taijutsu A (Intermediate), Taijutsu B (Beginner), Body Strengthening (Intermediate), Claw Strengthening (Intermediate), Intelligence (Intermediate) Intimidating (Beginner)

It’s quite a growth he has there.

I’m particularly concerned about the gale attack. This is an attack skill along with my skill, thread bomb. Skills include assistance and strengthening, but attack skills are relatively rare. It is a skill that can be called as a trump card.

I’m looking forward on seeing how strong my son will become.

“Ahead of us is the 20th floor.”

Erna pointed to the stairs while looking at the map. Starting from the hideout, we finally arrived at this stairs. From this point onward, it is an area unknown to me.

“Both of you, are you’re equipments ready?”

“Yeah. I only bring out my cane, I’ll take the bow out of the bangle in case of emergency.”

“I’ll also be fine because I have the knuckles that father bought for me.”

Both of them seem to be well prepared. However, I’m a little surprised that the special burger motivated them so much. I said that if this search is successful, I’ll make it again and it seems that it is very effective.

“Let’s go.”

We then went down the stairs.

“…Looks normal…”

I agree with Erna’s words. There was no particular change in the 20th floor and only a brick-like passageway continued in the area.

“Ugaaaaaaa!”

As soon as an orc appear, Pero rushes forward and hit it hard. It feels good to see that such a small body scares a large orc. Pero quickly approached the orc that took a pratfall and he slits its neck with his claws.

“It’s true that he can overwhelm that orc alone huh.”

“Pero is a sacred beast you know, that’s normal you see.”

I understand what Erna wants to say, but orcs are by no means weak. Even an intermediate adventurer can barely win against it. It was a miracle that I won when I first came to this world. I stored the orc’s corpse in the bangle and we proceed by following the map.

“What is on the 20th floor?”

“It’s not written, but it looks like there’s a Temple of Teleportation here.”

“Then, should we go to the temple?”

It is a big advantage if you have a transfer point as you can go to that level at any time. It’s a hassle, but it will be useful later. We continued walking for about four hours then we arrived at a dome-shaped room.

The Temple of Teleportation is in the center of the room, with a black stone plate placed at the center. I touched the stone plate without any hesitation.

【Welcome to the Temple of Teleportation. Shinichi Tanaka’s transfer point has been added.】

Now I can go to the 20th floor at any time. Considering that there are temples on every five floor, the next temple will be on the 25th floor.

After a short break, we started walking towards the stairs again.

There are not many magical beasts on the 20th floor, but the encounter rate with orcs is high. There may be a lair somewhere from here. After walking for another 3 hours, we found the next stairs. We went down without hesitation.

“What’s this!?”

The 21st floor was a wetland. A lot of grass grows and the muddy ground tries to sink my legs. Perhaps this floor is a large room as the wall on the other side is not visible and the horizon is far away.

“Goro-goro”

When I heard that sound and looked at the ground, a big frog, about the size of a kagami mochi, is looking at me. When it realized that I’m dangerous, it jumps away using its big legs.

“Is there an orcs lair here…?”

There’s abundant food in this large space, it’s a good environment to feed the orcs. And also, from here they can go to the 20th and 19th floor. As evidence, we saw three orcs already running to us.

“Apparently it’s my turn.”

Erna holds out her cane. A large space is perfect for using magic. The moment the Flame Burst was used in a narrow passage, no matter how many lives you have, it will not be enough.

“Flame burst!”

A roaring sound echoed out and the three orcs disappeared. Pieces of meat scattered in the swamp, and a frog, about the size of a puppy, picks it up with its tongue and swallows it.

“Apparently, they heard that sound.”

I held Erna and Pero’s hands and used my stealth skill. The orcs rushed to look around and tilted their heads in confusion and left to go somewhere.

“Well,  shall we hurry ahead?”

Then we walk in the swamp while still under stealth. When we followed the map to the place where the stairs were, I wanted to hold my head in frustration. The staircase is in the middle of the swamp, but an orc settlement was built around the staircase!

Houses made of grass are lined up, reminding me of the Jomon period.

“What should we do? As expected, I think we will get exposed…”

“Well, this is Stealth (Special grade). Hopefully we can get through them.”

“Is that true?”

Erna doubts the power of my stealth. Well, we did not really turn invisible, it just erases our presence. Since the effect does not include erasing our smell and sound, I can understand her anxiety.

“We’re going.”

We hold hands and enter the village. We keep a certain distance while avoiding the passing orcs then we go to the inner part. When we arrived at the center of the village, the staircase is also in the center. However, the stairs are blocked by wooden boards and it seems that it is not easy to get it off.

Somehow, I felt that they are scared of something that’s coming from below.

“We can’t go down at this rate.”

“All right, shoot flame bomb towards the stairs.”

“Is that okay? We’ll definitely be found out!”

“Don’t worry. I’ll do something about it.”

Erna points her cane at the stairs and shoots a flame bomb. Immediately after that, an explosion occurs. The wood that was blocking the stairs was blown away, and the orcs who were caught off guard tumbled down.

“Thread bomb!”

I shot thread bombs in a turbulent manner. A sticky thread covered the village, and the orcs were also entwined with threads. I can’t stop grinning at how easy it was to get rid of the orcs.

“Okay, I’ll annihilate the orcs just like this.”

“Father, there’s something there!”

When I looked back after Pero called out, an orc, one size larger than the others appeared as it pushed its way out of the thread. The color of its body is mustard, and it has this different atmosphere around him. If the orcs so far were ordinary people, the one in front of me felt like a warrior.

【Appraisal Result: Orc fighter: As the orc evolved, it got a stronger body. Its delivered punch is enough to crush the bones of its opponent with a single blow. The longed target of orcs: Rarity C】

【Status】
Name:  Orc Fighter
Race:  Orc Fighter
Magic attribute:  Earth
Magic:  Rock arrow
Skills: Smell strengthening (Special), Arm Strengthening (Special), Taijutsu A (Advanced), Indomitable spirit (Intermediate)

“Orc fighter huh…”

It seems to be a high-ranking race of orcs, but its status is also quite good. I especially want to strengthen my arms.

“Guugauuu”

When the orc fighter holds its fist, it provokes me to come at him with its left hand. It looks like a boxer type though it has a body like sumo wrestler. Interesting.

“Fine with me.”

I take off my upper body clothes. The battle between men does not require clothes. The orc fighter and I keep an eye on each other and determine the other party’s appearance. Meanwhile, Erna and Pero are also eradicating the orcs entwined in the thread.

“What’s wrong? If you don’t defeat me quickly, your friends will die you know?”

“Fugagaga!”

He was laughing. It probably doesn’t think of its companions as friends. Or rather, I wonder if it really understood my words.

“Humph!”

“Gauu!”

The fight has begun. I narrowly dodged its fist and I also countered a punch. I hit its face, but he didn’t bulge. This time its punch digs into my abdomen. It’s a heavy punch, but not that unbearable. After hitting each other at close range over and over again, the orc fighter finally slump his knee on the ground by the tenth shot.

“It’s my win.”

I hit its head with my fist seriously. I heard the sound of its skull crushing. I still had some spare energy but it was quite an opponent.

Orc Fighter, Ill never forget you.

With the Skill Picking, I acquired smell strengthening, arm strengthening, and indomitable spirit. I then confirmed the situation of the other two. Apparently, the two of them had already cleaned up the orcs while I was fighting.

“Father, why didn’t you avoid it?”

Pero approaches me and asked that question. Certainly, I could do that if I wanted to avoid the fighter’s attack. Rather, it was easier to win that match unscathed.

“It’s a man’s romance you see.”

“A man’s romance?”

“Uhm, sometimes it’s necessary for a man to exchange blows.”

After I said that, Pero’s eyes shined. Erna seems to be amazed too. After recovering the corpses of the orcs we killed, we decided to go down the stairs.

Why were the orcs blocking the stairs anyway?

When we went down to the 22nd floor, I understood why.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


3 thoughts on “Chapter 39: Dungeon exploration”

    1. Muscleheads really like getting hit, huh? I’ve read a lot about warriors with bulging muscles that have this kind of mentality. Not that I don’t understand, though. A fair and equal battle to the death with your opponent could be considered a form of respect between battle hardened warriors.

      [Now I can go to the 20th floor at any time. Considering that there are temples on every five floor, the next temple will be on the 25th floor.]
      * five floor —> five floors

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.