Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 46: Letter and moving forward

Diana brought the letter. Well, in this world, there’s no such thing as the crime of opening someone else’s letter like in the previous world. Just in case, there is no emblem on the wax seal. I opened the envelope with a knife.

“Camilo-dono, I think you know the general situation of what is happening in the Capital so I addressed this to you.”

That’s how the beginning of the letter was written. The things I heard from Diana earlier was also written in its content. And towards the end,

“For that, I want to leave my sister, Diana, to a certain person. I don’t know where he lives but he is the blacksmith who crafted my sword. I heard that he lives in a remote place. It would be better to hide at his place. He said that he sells merchandise to you so can you please keep my sister until he comes?”

So that’s how it is. There’s a little continuation after that but reading it till there is good enough for the time being.

“With this, it’s confirmed. Marius intended to leave Diana to us so we saved one effort.”

Furthermore, the fact that Diana doesn’t have to go to Camilo makes it harder for them to trace her, so this may have been just right. By the time they noticed that the pursuers were annihilated, her traces have already disappeared.

Everyone nods when they heard my words.

“In that sense, I’ll have Diana-san stay here for a while. Since there are no trees around the house, it’s okay for you to hang around there alone. But if it’s farther than that, take me or Samia with you. Otherwise you will be eaten by the wolves.”

“Understood.”

“If it’s difficult to talk to a man, talk to Samia or Rike.”

“Please treat me well.”

Diana bows towards Samia and Rike.

“Yeah, don’t hesitate to ask.”

Samia replied with a smile.

“Ah right, I’m sorry to ask you this. Diana-san, why do you treat ordinary people like us that politely? I’m not saying it’s not good but since you’re a noble, you can be less formal to us you know?”

I asked her what I was curious about. Though that’s preposterous of me, I’ll just play innocent.

“Because you guys are my lifesaver…?”

“Uhm… From now on, you’ll live here and maybe you’ll even stay longer so you can act less formally! If possible, it would be better if you act casually. I think that way, we can live comfortably and smoothly….”

“I understand… no, I see. Since you said so, I’ll do so.”

“Yeah, do that.”

Good grief! This made me feel like I’m getting a little closer to a laid-back life. I don’t think that I can relax since I gave shelter to a petite refugee though.

“All right then, today was tiring, right? Let’s go to sleep now.”

“Ye-s.”

“Yeah.”

“Yes.”

I get a reply from the three people. In this way, today’s event was finally over.

The next morning, the first person who got up was me as I’ll go fetch water. Rike once tried to say, “That’s a disciple’s job”. She tried to do it but I felt like I wouldn’t move much without doing that, besides I’ve been doing it all the time. It’s about half an hour going and coming back from there. On the way back, the two jars will be filled with water so it will be a decent exercise.

When I came back, Samia and Rike were already awake. It was normal for the three of us to wash our faces with the water I had drawn. But from today, with Diana joining us, four people wash their face and brush their teeth together. Then the women did the laundry while I’m preparing the breakfast. Since it is impossible to cook egg dishes while baking bread in the toaster (just like the ones in the previous world), they can do enough laundry during that preparation period.

The detergent is made by saving the ash from the burned charcoal and putting it in a special bottle with water. It seems that it was also used as a detergent in the previous world, and yeah, it makes sense in its own way. If I look for it, there should also be a soapberry-like plants that contains active substance used to manufacture soap here. But, looking for it is a matter for the future.

Our breakfast is barley porridge and salted meat soup. I made a generous amount of this soup so that we have more portion for our lunch and supper. This will also reduce the effort on cooking as much as possible. While the three people (four people for a while from today) have a boisterous meal, setting the schedule for the day is also one of the important parts during breakfast.

From this day, I decided to make short swords and longswords for 3 days. In this is the case, Samia can teach Diana. While Samia teaches her, the two of them can make molds by applying some clay to the wooden molds.

I may have to buy or find clay soon. If there is a lake and water spring here, it means that there is an impermeable layer, so if we dig till we have the clay layer, we could use it. Even if it feels like a soil mixed with clay, it is sufficient enough for its purpose. Well anyway, this is also postponed for now.

The subsequent process does not change. It’s just that with Diana here, the number of assistant has increased. Samia and Diana will do the deburring. Diana even has a good aptitude in swinging the hammer despite being a noble’s daughter.

When she ran away, she was wearing a breastplate and she managed to defend against her pursuers alone until we rushed to help her in the first place so I think that she has confidence in her swordsmanship. After that, me and Rike will finish it. Meanwhile, Samia and Diana are ready for the next one.

The result of this day was quite good. It’s as efficient as before but there’s nothing wrong with that because there’s one person who is not used to it. Diana was interested in the newly made longsword so I allowed her to try swinging it. It seems to fall behind compared with my cheat, but she has learned swordsmanship well so it starts to look appropriate.

“You’re quite good.”

“Thank you, but I still don’t feel like I can beat the Eizou at that time.”

She was referring to that time when I helped her.

“Eizou looks like this but he’s strong…”

Samia joins in.

“The “looks like this” part is unnecessary you know?”

I opened my mouth and argued but,

“But Boss, you won’t usually think that blacksmiths are so strong, right?”

When Rike’s supporting statement went to Samia, I deliberately dropped my shoulders and I laughed together with everyone.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


3 thoughts on “Chapter 46: Letter and moving forward”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.