Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 54: Entering the capital

“W-Wait a minute. The new heirloom sword… does it mean that my sword will become the heirloom of the Eimurl family?”

“That’s not really the case. The one stolen is a “fake” so naturally, you should say that the one that Marius-san holds is the “real” heirloom. And that “real” one was made by you.”

“Is it okay for the sword I made to be like that…?”

“That heirloom sword is neither a national treasure nor was it made by a god or an elf and there was someone who forged it first, so it’s the same thing.”

“It does seem right when you say that.”

“Accept it, just think that you’re helping Marius-san.”

 “Yeah”

Well, a heirloom is nothing more than a well-made sword, so if I make a sword that is better than that, it will be said to be “it’s superb, as expected of a heirloom that’s being inherited”. It will probably be worth it.

When it comes to making national treasures and heirloom of a family with a higher rank than a Count, I think that the material and manufacturing method are beyond the range that can be compared with just the use of steel. But if it is the Count’s family, they might have the finest steel so I may be able to manage somehow. For the time being, ask Marius about the material of the sword…

 “Helen showed me the sword that you forged and even I could tell that it was a fine item. If you can forge something similar, that would be good enough.”

Camilo calls out to me while I’m thinking such.

Ah, he saw that huh. It was the only one out there so far. Since he said that it would be fine, I guess it would really be okay right? I can’t get rid of my anxiety, but I’ve already gone this far to turn back so I have no choice but to do it.

“I got it. But it will be tricky if some conditions overlap. For example, if the material is more than just steel, it becomes too dangerous. Though I’ll try to make something good as much as possible.”

 “Oh, that’s fine. Well then, my bad but do you see a box there right? Can you hide in it?”

“This one?”

Certainly there is a large box here. But it seems a little small for me to enter…

“Yeah, that’s it.”

Camilo glances back at me and says that. I took off the lid of the box as I was told and looked inside. It’s deeper than I expected. Or should I say that the depth obviously doesn’t match physically.

I see, so that’s how it is huh. The wagon is crafted to carry more than what it looks. If this is the case, I can hide here alone. I hid inside and closed the lid myself.

It’s been a long time since I hid in the box. At least it’s been a while since I fell asleep lightly. It’s a horse-drawn wagon and the roads are well maintained so I think it’s a lot faster than walking but still, it’s quite a distance huh.

Then, after being shaken by the wagon for a while, it shook greatly then the wagon stopped. The surrounding is noisy. Apparently we already arrived at the entrance of the Capital.

I feel like I can hear the voice calling “the next person!” from here and there. Is it like the border immigration inspection in the previous world? It’s frustrating that I can’t really tell because I’m inside the box. The wagon occasionally advances and stops. The voices of the guards are getting closer and louder accordingly.

Eventually, it seems to be our turn.

“Are you a peddler?”

“Yes. I transport some items.”

“I’ll inspect it a little.”

“Okay”

The sound of two people walking is approaching the cart –that is the one where I’m at. I believe that the footsteps that have come up to the loading platform is from the guard, it seems that the lid of the luggage on my opposite side is being opened. The footsteps and the sound of opening the lid gradually approached me and I was quite nervous, but in the end, he didn’t come to where I’m at and just got off the loading platform.

“Okay, it’s good. You may go through.”

“Yes. Thank you very much.”

Camilo returns to the wagon and advances once more. Eventually, the vibration of the wagon changed at the same time as I heard the hustle and bustle as if we had entered the city. The sound of the wheels now is also different. Still, Camilo doesn’t tell me to “get out”. It seems that the situation of not going out and making a noise does not change yet.

Even after I know that we’ve entered the Capital, we still went a good distance, turning on a road, climbing hills and occasionally stopping. Eventually, after stopping for a while, we went a little further and when I felt a vibration of the wagon that was clearly different from before, the wagon stopped again.

Is this the destination?

“Hey, you can go out now.”

It’s Camilo’s voice. I opened the lid as if I was waiting for it. And when I got out of the box, I stretched out on the loading platform. My waist makes a cracking noise. If I stayed there at my age in the previous world, I might not be able to stand because my back was too painful.

“Ah-, it was painful.”

“Right. I’m sorry for that but I can’t let them know you’re here.”

“I know.”

I replied to Camilo with a bitter smile.

“So where is this?”

“This is a smithy owned by Eimurl family. It seems that private army weapons are made and repaired here.”

“Hoh-, it’s really quiet though.”

I thought places like this will be noisy because the hammer using the water wheel will be operating.

 “Right now it seems that Marius-san has stopped the operations and left only a few reliable craftsmen.”

“I see”

Well, I don’t want to show a lot of people how to create the “real” heirloom either.

“Whoops”

I jump off the loading platform. It seems that this is just a place to put the luggages as there is no fire bed. I didn’t know because I was in the box, but when I looked outside, the sun was starting to tilt. Looks like it took a long time even with a carriage since morning is already over before I knew it.

 “Well then, I should prepare quickly.”

“Yeah. I’ve just sent a message to Marius-san that we’ve arrived. Sorry but please start right away.”

“Understood”

I opened the door pointed by Camilo. Now then, let’s get started with this once in a lifetime help to Marius-shi.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


6 thoughts on “Chapter 54: Entering the capital”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.