Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 80: Heart of steel

The knights under Astina-denka have the same feeling. However, our cause goes against the decree of His Majesty.

No matter what the Second Queen thinks of, this Isle Rose Fortress will never fall. It is necessary to protect this area and prevent the Western Territory from being occupied by Zirconia even if it’s only temporary. Otherwise, the peasants and townspeople who have returned to their restored farmlands will be overrun by the enemy’s forces.

Now that many soldiers from both armies had shed blood, it is only an undependable optimistic thought that the enemy army will not harm the people of Lezenia. I can only imagine how fierce the looting during the war would be –it is inevitable that the unskilled people in this fortress will suffer first.

Katie-san, the captain of the medical unit and the others who work in this fortress. As well as the maids who serve Astina-denka. To protect them, it’s not just about defense, there is no other choice but to attack after all.

“Before the enemy troops make a move, we will take the initiative first. We have seized a warship, Noin’s whereabouts is also unknown… and by detaining Baile as a prisoner of war, the enemy’s headquarters would be in mayhem.”

“With Grass’ magic, the soldiers at that fort should be in a state of devastation… It would be ideal if we attack before the enemy could get ready.”

“You can see that there is a grace period of a day or two before Alejandro makes a move. During that time, we will show our superiority. We will disembark on Zirconia’s side and siege the enemy’s main camp with 2,000 soldiers.”

“Two thousand… That’s certainly logical considering the size of the enemy’s previous army. There is a possibility that reinforcements are being sent from behind.”

“Zirconia desired the Western Territory to get their hands on the farmlands. You may not know that there has been a poor harvest in the recent years, but the citizens still supply enough food to support not only themselves but also our 3,000 soldiers. Zirconia is a huge kingdom so they must be struggling to find enough food to sustain their army.”

After we entered Zirconia, a wide plain spread out. I think the reason why that area was untouched is because Zirconia avoided developing farmland along the river. That’s also probably why Zirconia thinks of Isle Rose Fortress as a threat.

Strong soldiers need to eat a lot of meat and beans to maintain a strong body, but livestock production requires a lot of feed and manpower. The land at the riverside that should be good enough to make forage is not used just because it is close to the border –that’s also one of the useful information for us.

If ceasefire happens, Zirconia will also have a lot of advantages. Still, the reason why they are trying to attack is because the King of Zirconia trusts General Alejandro’s ability… Is he afraid that by having ceasefire, he’ll be given a trade-off?

It is better to have men that are strong and can do livestock farming, but at present, those men that can work are collected as soldiers ―although there is a policy that they could live as a farmer when there is no war, partly because they are exempt from labor, they pursue military service. This is not quite well-suited.

Even in this fortress, soldiers have been engaged only in military service until now. It’s true that they can maintain their strength by focusing on training but that’s only because the farmers in the Western Territories are diligent and were willing to gather food.

“This season, it will probably be a rare good harvest during the harvest season as the benefits of the sacred tree spreads throughout the Western Territory. Subsequently, as Zirconia declines more, they’ll covet this land.”

The Western Territory heads for prosperity with the blessing of the sacred tree. Her Royal Highness’ surplus magical power is always returned to the sacred tree which in turn brings blessings to the land from that garden. And the crops that are produced should have some resistance to bad weather and are incomparably richer than the land without the protection of the sacred tree.

If Zirconia knew that fact, they would surely want this land desperately. Nevertheless, I have no intention of surrendering that garden where the sacred tree Yuserish is rooted in to anyone else.

“The influence of the sacred tree tells me about the future when I’m trying to protect this land from those who threatens it. Even if it withers so much, Yuserish was still working with me… And in addition to that, if Grass hadn’t come, it would have reached its limit long ago. If I realized the value of the beings known as spirit earlier…”

“In truth, spirits are beings that keep their distance from humans. We studied at the Magic Academy to understand such existence and borrow their power. In a sense, they, who live in peace where drawn out for the convenience of the magicians, something like that.”

“That’s not really the case nodesu. We are really interested in the human world nodesu, otherwise, we wouldn’t be summoned nodesu.”

Laune, who was observing while being held by Leslie, says so –next to her is Rei, who is held by Noin. I refrained from taking them to the round table where the knights sit, but that sight was so pleasing that even if we are in the war council, it made us calm down.

“Other than how Summoner-sama thinks of me, I’ve always been a bad child… I’m very satisfied when I’m pulled out and suck the vitality of the living creatures around me. Mandrake is that kind of specie you see. The vitality sucked by my fissions becomes the nutrition of my body.”

“T-That’s… it’s something like a succubus who shows people a dream and sucks their vitality huh.”

Rei just smiled faintly and did not answer clearly –speaking of vitality, does it have that meaning as well? I wonder if Rei, who looks so young, is fine as she’s sucking power from strong soldiers.

“This is how I can entwine my vines then suck them nodesu.”

“Uh….w-wait. You don’t have to show an example here.”

“Awawa~… As expected, Summoner-sama’s magical power is the best nanodesu. However since I have a contract, even if I suck from the Summoner-sama, Summoner-sama’s power remains nanodesu.”

The vines of a plant, which is Arlaune’s avatar, emerges from the ground and entwines me. I’m not being gripped but I feel restless.

Her Highness stared earnestly –even though it’s not the time to play around, as she tried to fix her collar, she speak with interest.

 “So that’s how it is huh… Me and Grass also communicate through the sacred tree but my magical power does not always flow into him. If you increase the power that’s being discharged, does it mean that Arlaune’s power will also increase?”

“Fuaa… t-that’s certainly the case nanodesu. You’re asking what would happen to me then, right?”

“Although Arlaune is powerful enough as it is, but when it comes to strengthening, she may exert unimaginable power. The same is true for Rei.”

“…If I get stronger, everyone will die just by pulling me out. The living creatures around who heard me will die.”

She’s speaking of something extreme but Rei is just saying it in a matter-of-fact tone. If Mandrake’s power grows stronger, it’s more than just reaping one’s consciousness.

“Rei’s power will be tremendous in the battle, but I think Laune’s power is equally effective if it’s used on the opponent’s weak point.”

“I(boku)… No, I(watashi) think so too. I will rely on these young girls in the battlefield…”

“I’m fine with it nanodesu! I want to help the Summoner-sama as much as possible nodesu!”

“The appearance of spirits does not change with age. It’s just that the appearance of a child consumes less magical power to keep its reified form.”

If I informed them that, their feeling of reluctance to enter the battlefield with these children would no longer be an issue.

From the beginning, I was planning to volunteer to accompany the Knights even if I was stopped. Given my magical contribution, I will be in the forefront of the entire army – I’m prepared even if there is a danger of an arrow flying. I just need to protect myself.

“If I can accompany you, I will do my best to contribute as a magician. However, I also think that Noin’s magic will be a big key.”

“Yes, to conceal the warship, it is necessary to maintain the water spirit’s illusion magic. And one more thing… Though it will put a heavy burden on Noin, until we surround the enemy’s army I have something I want to ask of you.”

“Certainly, Your Highness. I’m a magician who follows Grass-dono. I would be grateful if I could join him in this Knight’s order.”

“I understand that your life has been saved but, aren’t you changing your attitude a little bit fast…?”

“…I wouldn’t be standing here without Grass-dono. I no longer exist. So I want to continue to exist only at the will of Grass-dono.”

Noin blushed –I’m more embarrassed seeing that. I know it’s a big deal if your life was saved but to even call me “Milord”, the change in her attitude is certainly too rapid.

“…I am also Grass-sensei’s attendant so I will follow him on the battlefield. Sensei’s magic and mine… are compatible so I will definitely be of help.”

Leslie proposes as she thinks that she might be left behind. I did think about getting her out of it for a little while but if I insist that, I’ll just be forcing her.

Water, air, and plants. Compared to spirits such as fire and wind, it is not specialized in combat, but if these three attributes unite, the number of effective combinations will increase dramatically.

Combining airballs with hypnotic pollen is also a coalescing magic, but with the option of water spirits added to that, what can we do? –We might be able to come up with a strategy to slaughter Alejandro’s army.

“Chemistry huh…? That kind of feeling is important between magicians, isn’t it?”

Since Dite-san speaks of it in a suggestive way, everyone on the spot felt awkward. Only Her Highness was calm but Raquel-san was clearing her throat.

“Ah, b-by the way… Leslie-, since you’re a woman, to be in the same room with Sensei…”

Presha-san says that as if she has just realized it now. As I’m told that, even though we’re talking about a military doctor with his assistant, it’s indeed true that a man and a woman use the same room… then, wouldn’t that be considered as us disturbing the fortress’ public morals?

“There’s no problem with that. I’ll have Noin sleep in the same room with Grass and Leslie. With three people, nothing will go wrong.”

“N-No… I want to move to another room. It doesn’t matter if it’s in a warehouse, so if you let me sleep there…”

After saying till that point, for some reason, Raquel-san suddenly stands up. With a start, my body shook as I thought she got angry.

“What are you saying? You’ve been instructing me on how I made a toll my body while I’m being treated. But now you are allowed to be unconcerned on your own body? Do you think I’ll permit that? I’ll be troubled if Grass would sleep on an ordinary bed. I think it should be fine if you are given something similar to my bed.”

Raquel-san screamed immediately–it’s as if she’s got angry for herself. At the same time, I regret that I made such careless remark so I just said my thanks.

“Thank you, Knight Captain Raquel. Thank you so much for your concern for me… I understand, I’ll focus more on my work as a military doctor so that I won’t get misunderstood by everyone.”

“U-Uhm… Ahem! Pardon me, you’re just too humble that’s why…”

“When you suddenly said that something similar to your bed would be fine, I thought Grass-sensei would move to Knight Captain’s room.”

 “…I-Is that okay? I, I still have a space to put another bed in my room… I mean, it calms me more if I’m in a narrower one…”

Raquel-san sits down quietly and returns to a knight-like posture, but her ears remained beet red.

Not denying it means that… No, it’s not like that. If she denies it, it would feel like she’s stubbornly refusing to be in the same room as me.

And even Presha-san has an attitude that it’s ok to move to her room if I’m going to change room. I can’t think she’s the same person who greeted me with killing intent when I just came to this fortress –it feels like a tiger that transform into a cat.

She is definitely an unparalleled tiger on the battlefield. However, even if her heart can be brought closer to steel due to the scene of carnage that she had experience many times, it’s not like her fragile part is also completely lost.

Leaving what she holds inside as is might lead to her getting injured on the battlefield. It’s not that I don’t believe in Presha-san’s courage but leaving it alone while noticing it is something I can’t help but get stuck in my heart.

 “…Grass, it’s not about moving rooms, but since you’re thinking of something, I’ll give you my permission. You are free to visit the commander’s room and get permission to start medical treatment. Though it’s important to the physical body, I’ve seen and knew that injury or sickness is not the only thing you can heal.”

“Uh…Y-Yes. Thank you for your permission, Your Highness.”

It seems that my thought of getting permission from Her Highness was conveyed through our contract with the sacred tree. Even if I don’t voice out my thoughts, it looks like any requests or the likes I have for Her Highness can be easily conveyed just by flashing it in my mind – so that means I can’t think carelessly..

“We’ll talk about the operation again tomorrow at noon. The person working in the territory… Under the influence of Vaiseck, some territories may be worried that we’ll attack Zirconia. We need to tell you to some extent that we will attack Zirconia as part of our defense and what our future prospects are.”

“I understand, I’ll send a messenger to each division of the Knights in the territory. Especially, I need to reconfirm the cooperation with the Reinfeld family.”

Schneider of the Reinfeld family seemed to be a good person who puts the people first to me. That is why, when shaken by Vaiseck, who claims to be His Majesty’s messenger, there is a good chance that protecting the people will be his priority.

For now, it’s fine as long as he doesn’t turn into an enemy. Allowing the invasion of Zirconia while keeping the Capital’s mood on check is something we should not allow at all cost. The Reinfeld family should know that.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


5 thoughts on “Chapter 80: Heart of steel”

  1. He’s building up that harem without even trying. It would have been pretty humorous if an earnest session of doctor ended up becoming a night of clumsy but pure intimacy, later in the story, when some things have settled a bit.

    Like

  2. Man, these women are MEGA thirsty. At this point I feel he could crawl into any of their beds and proceed to have consensual sex. Even the shy Raquel, I didn’t expect her to be fine with sleeping in the same room as him. Meee-ooww~

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.