Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 56: Completion of the heirloom

This completes the sword blade itself. It cannot be “compared” with any sword out there. However, this cannot be delivered as it is. It’s so simple for a heirloom.

I borrowed a chisel (although the hammer and others are also borrowed) and carve on the blade. With the help of my cheat, I added a graceful pattern on it to match the curve of the blade without disturbing the weight balance and hardiness. It looks like the leaves and stems of a plant. Then I put a flower-like pattern on the tip of the sword. Since these are carved on the back and front, it is quite an intricate work. If I’m not good at this, it would be harder than when I’m hitting the blade… Well, that’s also why I feel that it will be good as a heirloom.

Thanks to the cheat, I can work without hesitation and without drafts. After a considerable amount of time, I finally finished engraving on the blade. Next will be the sword guard and the pommel. I put a pattern that looks like a plant is entwined in the sword guard. I carved the pattern on the sword guard in a way that it looks three-dimensional. I also put the coat of arms of the Eimurl family in the middle of the brim. As for the pommel, it’s an engraving that looks like a flower bud.

The usual “sitting fat cat” was engraved in the small place where it wouldn’t be visible if it was wrapped in leather. It’s a little bit like an Easter egg.

I then use a file to clean the burrs that came out when I’m putting the engravings. The pattern has become clearer so I stop there. When I noticed it, it appears that it’s already quite late. I’m also very drowsy now. There is no point in continuing to work on this. As I got older, I tend to give up on doing this kind of work much faster. After I put out the fire on the firebed, I lay down wrapped in a blanket inside the smithy.

“―up. Hey, wake up.”

I wake up after being shaken by someone.

“Hrmm”

I opened my eyes droopily. It seems that it was Camilo who was shaking me.

“I thought you were depressed because you couldn’t do it yesterday, but you’re sleeping peacefully huh.”

“Hnnn… No. It’s not good for the body to stay up all night you see.”

I replied to Camilo’s words in a carefree manner while still lying down. If the body of the sword hadn’t been made, I wouldn’t have been able to take it easy.

“Your body is your capital huh?”

I heard a familiar voice that was different from Camilo. I jumped out of bed in a hurry.

“Marius-san!”

The one who’s smiling there is the face of the guard who I saw at the entrance of the town. He’s wearing fine clothes instead of the slightly rugged leather armor. I’m glad and embarrassed at the same time seeing that the short sword on his waist was the one I made.

“It’s been a long time, Eizou-san.”

Marius-shi politely greets me. I’m afraid he’s having a hard time with the mess these days, I can see some of them reflected on his face. Eh?

“Marius-san, you know my name?”

“I heard about it when I asked help for this matter. Even if this is a confidential matter, it will be rude of me if I continued not to know your name.”

“I see… Marius-san, you don’t have to treat me so politely. Just do so like when you meet me in town.”

When Marius-shi treats me politely, it felt strange and the conversation is quite awkward.

“No, I can’t be rude to those who are my benefactors.”

It’s been the case since he was the guard in the town, Marius-shi is quite distracted huh.

“No, not at all. You don’t have to worry about it because I owed you one too.”

When I said that,

“Well then, let’s just say we are in the same position so let’s stop being polite to each other, all right?”

With a smile, Marius makes a suggestion. If I don’t agree to this, he’s probably going to keep on treating me like that. I don’t want that either.

“Understood… no, I see. Let’s do that.”

Thus, a blacksmith, who talks to the Count casually (probably the next), was born.

“I still need to wrap the leather so please wait a moment. Do you have time?”

“Yeah, it’s still okay.”

“Alright”

I wrapped the leather around the grip of the sword. With the help of my cheat, I was able to wind it quickly and tightly.

“This should be fine. Try shaking it.”

“Got it”

I handed the sword to Marius-shi. Marius looked at the sword he received and,

“It’s a beautiful sword…”

He liked it. He looked at it for a while then as if he had returned to his senses, he started swinging my sword. It’s a beautiful swordsmanship. It’s very similar to Diana-san’s swordsmanship, probably because he was learning the same sword technique. However, probably because Diana was a woman, her movement was a little more focused on speed, but Marius’ movements are more like playing around, I got this impression that it was a power type stance.

Marius-shi waved the sword intently for a while, and then he stopped moving so I called out.

“How is it?”

“Wow, this sword is the best sword I’ve ever had.”

Marius-shi spoke from the bottom of his heart.

“Well, it’s almost the best I can make. It won’t lose to the swords out there…”

Oops, I was about to forget.

“By the way, what is the material of the “original” heirloom sword?”

I have to listen to this. It’s pretty good, but after all, it’s just steel. If it’s made of a magical metal such as Orichalcum or Adamantite, my sword will lose.

“That “fake” was given to the Eimurl family when we received the count’s title, the king at that time asked the best blacksmith in the kingdom to forge it. Even if there is god metal which would be the best in the kingdom, it’s not attainable by humans.”

“In other words, it’s just steel?”

“Exactly”

For the time being, one is clear. Is it impossible for a normal person to get Orichalcum? I wonder if it’s possible for me…

“One more thing, up until now, did you ever show the heirloom?”

“It is displayed during private ceremonies, but other than that it’s not displayed. It’s also written in the records that “the title and the sword is given by the king” so no one could comment on it.”

“Then, the outsiders wouldn’t make a fuss saying, “The shape is different from the heirloom I heard off”, right?”

“Yeah, it will be like that.”

Then it will be fine, right? I was wondering what to do if it had been exhibited like the ones in a museum in the previous world. It appears that it has never been exposed to the public because it is treated as a god tool.

“If something goes wrong, I’ll just compare it. If this “real” one doesn’t lose to the “fake” one, they will know which is the “sword given that was graciously given by the king”, right?”

Marius grinned as he said that.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


6 thoughts on “Chapter 56: Completion of the heirloom”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.