Homeless Tensei: Isekai De Jiyuu Sugiru Majutsu Jisoku Seikatsu

Chapter 47: Exploration resumes

“Only this?”

“Yes, this is the only request issued to Homeless.”

There was only one nomination request given in the guild.

Didnt the Homeless become famous?

The receptionist who saw my confusion explained the reason.

“Basically, for big requests, they tend to ask the adventurers from the Royal Capital. This is a remote countryside so jobs for famous senior adventurers tend to be scarce. Ah, but just like this time, there are quite few researchers with strange tastes who issue requests.”

Looking at the request form, it seems that the request was made by a researcher living in the neighbouring city.

In the content, it was written that he wanted us to procure an undead magical beast called Lich, which dwells in the Mohed’s Great Dungeon. It seems that he especially wants its skull. He’s indeed someone with a strange taste.

“Freya, what kind of magical beast is a Lich?”

“It’s a high-ranked skeleton. It specializes in magic and seems to be vulnerable to physical attacks. However, it’s said that its magic is powerful and many often gets annihilated before they even enter a close range.”

If it’s a high-ranked skeleton, I think it’s okay to make it into my familiar. I already have some familiarity with a skeleton after all. In addition to the request, let’s turn a Lich into my familiar too.

Un, that would be good.

Furthermore, when I talked to the receptionist, according to the information of those who saw it, it seemed to be on the 26th to 30th floor of Mohed’s Great Dungeon. It’s also right on the floors that I am trying to explore. I have no choice but to accept this, I guess.

After accepting the request, we went to Rodman’s Weapons Store after doing some shopping. When I opened the door of the store, I saw Rodman smoking as usual.

“Welcome― Oh! Tanaka-kun!”

“Since Rodman is the shopkeeper, it means… it’s completed?”

“Of course! Anyway, look at this!”

What he brought from the back of the store was a weapon wrapped in a high-quality cloth. When I opened the cloth, a sword of about 1m and a knife of about 20cm came into view.

The sword is housed in a black-painted scabbard, and the handle is made of leather to prevent it from slipping. There was a hole in the handle, and a magic circle was engraved around the hole. It’s done as I requested.

“Can I pull it out?”

“It’s my masterpiece! Please take a look!”

Rodman looks excited. He probably made this with great passion. I gently pulled out the sword from the scabbard.

Shiing.

I heard a bell-like tone and the unsheathed sword reflected some light. It is pitch black like obsidian, what’s more, it’s even darker, as if darkness was added on it. A sword that seems to solidify darkness, it’s exactly what you call pure black. The weight is moderate and it fits in my hand. Although I’m not an expert, this is a work that deserves to be called a sharp sword.

I used appraisal to check it out.

【Appraisal Result: Bull King’s sword: A sword made by processing the horn of the magical beast, Bull King. It surpasses Mithril in all aspects and it takes prides in its twofold magical conductivity: Rarity S】

“Amazing…”

“I had a hard time with that one! Anyway, the material is pretty hard so it’s difficult to sharpen it. Well, if I apply my skill, that’s it! Uhahaha!”

 “Is that so? By the way, what’s with the knife?”

“Oh, this is made from the excess horn. Take it as a bonus.”

The knife was also pretty good. With such sword and knife, the production cost would be considerable. I’m a little worried about how much it will be.

“That’s why… this is the production cost for this time.”

When I looked at the paper that was given to me, it was written that it totalled eight gold coins. Approximately 8 million in Japanese yen. I think it’s too cheap, but Rodman, the shopkeeper, may have some reason for it.

“The price of a weapon is usually high because of the materials, but this time, it’s brought in so that’s not included in the calculation. It ended up like that after I added the processing fee, design and the material cost of the handle and sheath.”

“So it’s like that huh. Recalling the mithril knuckles last time, you were pretty squared up.”

“No. Well, the price is still high enough.”

I suddenly realized that when it was pointed out. Apparently, my sense of money is paralyzed.

Recently, I have forgotten the value of gold coins because I often receive gold coins. With one gold, a normal household can eat for a year. Considering that it is good for eight years, the payment this time is quite high. I should keep in mind the importance of money.

After paying Rodman, I decided to leave the store and return to the dungeon. On our way home, Freya asked the thing she’s concerned about.

“By the way, regarding the formation of Homeless, two people are for close range and one for long distance, wouldn’t it be better if I’m in charge of middle range?”

“Hn? That’s right… but can you use a spear?”

“Though I look like this, I’m an advanced ranked spearman. Depending on the weapon I have, I can use a sword or a spear well.”

So speaking of that, Freya could also use a spear huh. I completely forgot about her status. Let’s check Freya’s status once more.

【Appraisal Result: Freya Label: Retired Knight Guard of the Duke, got recruited as Homeless adventurer party member. She likes dogs through and through. For her, Pero, a sacred beast, has been converted into an idol: Rarity D】

【Status】
Name:  Freya Label
Age:  18 years old
Race:  Human
Occupation:  Knight
Magic attribute:  Fire
Magic:  Fire ball, Fire Arrow
Skills:  Swordsmanship(Advanced), Spearmanship(Advanced), Shield Technique(Intermediate), Taijutsu A (Intermediate), Taijutsu B (Intermediate), Strength Enhancement(Intermediate), Cooking Technique(Advanced)

Hmmm, as what she had said, the spear seems to be suitable for her. Then, I’ll welcome such capable person as Homeless member. It’s decided, Freya will be in charge of the middle range.

“Alright then, I’ll hand this over.”

I took a spear out of the bangle. As Freya received it, she looks bafflingly at the spear.

“Tanaka-dono, this spear looks like a Mithril…”

“Yeah, that’s certainly a Mithril. Are you dissatisfied?”

“Huh? What do you mean by dissatisfied!? Mithril is a high-class metal! Rather than that, I’m worried if I should accept it!”

As what she had said, Mithril is a high-class one. It’s embarrassing because I didn’t even know that fact until I went to Rodman’s shop. However, it is also true that these Mithril weapons are weapons that were originally in the hidden room for free.

There were two spears, so give one to a comrade is trivial.

“Ah right, Freya also use a sword, right? I have a Mithril sword, if you need it, I can give it to you.”

“Hiii! It’s fine! A spear is enough!”

Hmmm, her attitude of not being greedy is quite good. I’m glad to have such good comrade.

In this way, we returned to the dungeon.

“―And, this is our house.”

After showing Freya the things around, we finally arrived at the hideout. She looks at the hideout with a dazed look. She was also silent when I showed her around the fields and disposal site but I want her to say something soon…

“W-Who are you really, Tanaka-dono…?”

“I’m just a homeless person.”

“A mere homeless person doesn’t live in a place like this…”

Freya approached the bookshelf and pulled out a book. Flipping it over, she mutters, “No way…”

“That’s right. It seems that this hideout was Moore’s, the one who was once dubbed as a wise man.”

“This is a great discovery! I have to report it to the Kingdom right away!”

“W-Wait, wait! That’s no good!”

After catching Freya who’s about to start running, I told her about our circumstances.

“This is a place I don’t want anyone else to know! I showed it to you because you’re a comrade, so don’t betray me!”

“B-But…”

Freya struggled for a while then she hung her head as if she lost her vigor. It looks like she was convinced.

“I was about to betray Tanaka-dono’s trust. I’m sorry. I won’t say anything about this anymore.”

“Um… Sorry but, please do that.”

I then sit on the sofa with peace of mind, Freya pulls another book out of the bookshelf and begins to look inside. She also seems to have a strong interest in Moore.

“Are you also interested in Moore?”

“Of course! Moore is the smartest and strongest mage in history. And he’s a human you know? If you grew up in this Kingdom, there’s no one who doesn’t adore him.”

When she tried to put the books back on the bookshelf, probably because of the force, the bookshelf started to slide sideways. Erna was in the middle of changing clothes in the bedroom. Her pink underwear is completely visible, and the white and well-proportioned body is right before my eyes.

“…”

Erna, who’s trying to tuck her pants on, froze. I also froze while still looking at her.

“Kyaaaaaaaaaaaaa !!”

Alongside that scream, the bookshelf closed in a hurry. I thought she was sleeping, I wasn’t expecting this to happen. However, it’s a good thing that I saw something beautiful.

“I’m sorry, the bookshelf turn out to be a door…”

“Don’t worry about it. It’s a common occurrence if you live in such a small space.”

“Is it a common..?”

Freya blushed. Although she is often cold, she’s still unmistakably a woman. Maybe it’s time to make a rule here. When the bookshelf opens, Erna, with her face dyed pink, comes out.

Unlike her previous red robe, she now wears a purple robe.

“Did you finally make it purple?”

“Yeah, I already memorized a special magic, I thought it’s about time to wear it. More than that, why is Freya here?”

I explained to Erna what happened when I was in Mana.

“―So you mean to say, Freya has become our official comrade?”

“Yeah, that’s the case. It was my bad that I did not talk to Erna about it first, but Freya is already credible, partly because of the things that happened in the Royal Capital. I decided it was enough to recruit her as our comrade.”

“That’s fine with me. But this house has only one bed, right?”

“No need to worry.”

I took two beds out of the bangle. One is for Freya. The other is for me and Pero. It was getting harder to sleep on the sofa, so I thought it was time to buy it.

“Wait a minute, what do you mean by two?”

Freya asks with excitement. Somehow, I can see through her thoughts, but I need to answer honestly because it depends on Pero.

“It’s for Freya and me. Pero always sleeps with me, so I thought I should buy it too.”

“T-Then, Pero-sama could go with me!”

Freya is breathing “Haa-Haa” like a pervert. Seeing that, Pero clung to my leg and shook his head.

“I heard he wants to sleep with me for a while.”

“Uwaaaaaaaa!! Pero-samaaaa!!”

She’s a noisy one. She’s a beautiful knight except the part that she’s obsessed with Pero. It’s such a pity. I decided to put Freya’s bed in the bedroom and my bed near the fireplace.

It would be convenient to have another room somewhere, but I can’t say luxury.

Upon returning to the 24th floor to resume the exploration, I found the skeletons working hard in the livestock farm.

“Katakata”

After Suketarou approached me, he took me to a certain hut. Harvested wheat and barley were stored there, forming a small mountain.

“Have you already harvested?”

I went to the field for the time being. The vast land turned into a field, probably because the skeletons continued to cultivate without rest. New buds are emerging from the fields, and the skeletons are watering them with a watering can.

Looking at where the water comes from, it seems that they have taken the trouble to go up to the 22nd floor to fetch water. They are tireless, a unique trait of skeleton. However I’m still impressed as they are doing it for a long time.

“Katakata”

Suketarou clatters his jaw.

Somehow, I got what he wanted to say. Apparently, wheat and barley grow faster when watered, so they focused on expanding the fields within reach and watered them. That’s what he seems to say.

I’m glad that it is possible for us to communicate. Well, it’s probably because of our connection. Or rather, Suketarou seems to be smarter than I expected. Looking at the apple trees, they are still growing. It will take a little longer to feed them to the livestock.

After I gathered the skeletons, I selected some to go with me to the 30th floor. It would be enough if there were about 100 of them. Of course, I will take Suketarou with me.

It’s a good time to see how strong his fighting power is.

“Let’s begin!”

We then depart for the 27th floor.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.