Homeless Tensei: Isekai De Jiyuu Sugiru Majutsu Jisoku Seikatsu

Chapter 48: Lich’s natural enemy

We arrived at the 26th floor accompanied by the skeletons. It’s quiet and empty, probably because I’ve made most of them into my familiar.

“Is there no enemy in this floor?”

Freya holds her spear and increases her vigilance due to the odd silence. It’s a hassle but I still decided to explain it.

“My skeleton familiars are those who were originally in this floor. I’ve put almost everyone under my control so we may not encounter any enemy.”

“Saying it in a matter-of-factly manner, Tanaka-dono is quite scary…”

Freya looks at me with her expression mixed of fear. Ahem, excuse me for that. Even I think that I overdid it. However, there is no help for what has been done. This floor will be used as a resting place for the adventurers in the future.

With the skeletons at the forefront, we were finally able to find the stairs in about an hour. Apparently, there’s only a short distance from the previous stairs to the next stairs on this floor, and if it went well, it seemed that one could pass through the skeletons.

Well, that doesn’t matter now anyway.

“We’re going down to the 27th floor. Everyone should be careful.”

My party members and the skeletons nod their heads. I heard that Mohed’s Great Labyrinth suddenly becomes difficult to capture from a certain point. I’m not sure if it’s the 26th or 27th floor but it’s better to be prepared as we move ahead.

We then slowly go down the stairs.

“It’s the same as the 26th floor huh…”

The twenty-seventh floor was a similar brick-like passage. It’s still dim and the crystals on the wall are faintly shining.

Tap-

I heard a sound. It’s like someone’s walking barefoot on a hard floor.

Tap- Tap-

A sound can be heard from the end of the passageway so we hold our weapons. In the skill enemy search that I’m already using, one enemy seemed to be approaching us.

“Ugaaaaaaa”

The groan that’s as if it came from the bottom of the earth that we just heard came from the enemy approaching us. Its body is pale and the eyes are so unfocused that you cannot tell where it is looking. The clothes it was wearing were worn out and when I looked closely, it didn’t seem to be wearing shoes.

I knew it’s a magical beast. No, it’s rare not to know. That’s a well-known monster.

Yes, it’s a zombie.

“Iyaaaaa!”

Erna raises her wand and casts magic.

I hurriedly tried to stop her, but the magic had already been activated and the intermediate magic Flame Bomb hit the zombie directly. We evacuated to the rear due to the scattered pieces of flesh.

“Don’t attack so suddenly! You caught us unprepared!”

“I-It can’t be helped… I hate zombies…”

“Still, do it moderately!”

I don’t really like zombies either. However, I really want her to stop doing the attack just now. The sight of human flesh scattering is like watching a splatter movie.

“Father, it’s coming again!”

Responding to Pero’s voice, when I confirmed it with the enemy search skill, it appears that four enemies were approaching. I immediately ordered the skeletons.

“Form a formation and eliminate the enemy!”

Hundred skeletons move forward in line. Suketarou is like the general of the skeleton unit so he seems to make command behind the unit.

“Uguaaaaa!”

Four zombies attack the skeletons. However, the biting attacks of the zombies cannot inflict any damage on the pitch black bones. As the skeleton kick the zombie, it slashed its sword to the head without any hesitation.

The skeletons get rid of them in a few seconds then they continue to move forward without stopping. This is not an adventure anymore. It’s already a mopping-up operation.

“A powerful soldier who never gets tired… Tanaka-dono is so amazing! Zombies are like garbage now!”

Freya praises the skeleton unit with excitement. Well, I wasn’t surprised because I could see such result.

I appraised the defeated zombies for the time being.

Appraisal Result: Zombie: Although it is called a zombie to distinguish it, it is actually said to be the same magical beast as a skeleton. Before molting, it is referred as such and it horrifies many because it turns into a skeleton by stripping off their rotten flesh: Rarity E

【Status】
Name: Zombie
Race: Undead
Magic attribute: Darkness
Magic: Shadow
Skills: Swordsmanship (Advanced), Taijutsu A (Intermediate), Danger detection (Special), Soul Eating

I acquired danger detection thru Skill Picking. Other skills have also been acquired from the remaining zombies and my status changed.

Status
Name:  Shinichi Tanaka
Age:  17 years old (56 years old)
Race:  Homeless (King)
< Dragoneut >
Occupation:  Adventurer
Magic attribute:  No Attribute
Magic:  None
Skills: Appraisal (Special), Master of War(Beginner), Life or Death Technique(Beginner), Theft(Advanced), Stealth (Special), Universal thread (Beginner) new, Division(Beginner), Danger Detection (Special)↑, Enemy Search(Advanced)↑, Taste Enhancement (Special), Digestion Enhancement (Advanced), Eyesight Enhancement(Special), Hearing Enhancement(Special), Smell Enhancement (Special) , Limit Breakthrough(Beginner), Super Sensation (Advanced), Shock Absorption(Beginner), Underwater Adaptation (Intermediate), Flight (Intermediate), Hardening(Advanced), Self Recovery (Special), Plant manipulation (Special), Leadership (Special), Indomitable Spirit (Advanced), Small Dragon Breath(Advanced) , Familiar Creation, Skill Picking, Race Picking, King’s Vessel

The enemy search skill has finally reached the advanced level. By using the skill, the performance has improved dramatically as it has become possible to identify things within the range 1.5 times as much as before.

Then the following words were displayed in my field of view.

【Since certain conditions have been met, skill will evolve.】

【Skill evolution: Appraisal → Analysis】

I’m surprised. It seems that upgrading skills is not limited to integrated evolution. It seems that it can evolve even by itself if it meets the conditions.

If so, it would be a proof that the skills do not end in special grade, but rather, there is more above that. I’m wondering how far I can go.

I suddenly wanted to try the newly acquired Analysis skill so I tried it on Erna.

【Analysis Result: Erna Frederia: The second daughter of the Frederia family. She hates zombies as she was traumatized when she was chased by zombies in the forest in the past: Rarity C】

【Status】
Name: Erna Frederia
Age: 19 yrs. old
Race: Elves
Occupation: Adventurer
Magic attribute: Fire / Light
Magic: Fireball, Fire Arrow, Flame Bomb, Flame Chain, Flame Wall, Flame Burst, Flare Zone, Light, Stan Light, Camouflage
Skills: Spearmanship (Intermediate), Archery (Special), Taijutsu A (Advanced), Taijutsu B (Advanced), Hell Ears (Advanced), Super Sensation (Intermediate), Attack Prediction (Advanced), Indomitable Spirit (Advanced) , Essence of magic (Beginner)
Evolution: Conditions are met.

First of all, I was interested in the Essence of Magic skill. I don’t know when she got it, but I think this is the reason why she recently said that her magic wasn’t working properly.

Additionally, my attention focused on her skill improvements, Hell ears, Super Sensation and Attack Prediction has advanced. I used to train with Erna from time to time so she used it quite often.

And the most notable item is the Evolution category. Despite the fact that the conditions have already been met, there is no such sign in Erna. Perhaps even if the conditions are met, it may not be announced immediately.

However, words suddenly appeared in front of me and I am utterly stunned.

Do you want to evolve Erna Frederia?  【YES / NO】
【Evolution destination selection:】
・ Elf → High Elf
・ Elf → Founder Elf

Eh? Whaat? I will be the one to determine the evolution?

I was confused and decided to consult with Erna for the time being.

“Hey, I’m being asked if you want to evolve.”

“H-Huh!? Why is Shinichi being asked instead of me!?… I mean, I can evolve!?”

“There’s a category for evolution but, which is better, high elf or the founder elf?”

“Founder Elf !? For real?!”

Erna was flustered and in disbelief. After pondering for a while, she says she wants to evolve to a founder elf.

“By the way, what is a founder elf?”

“Well, as the word says, it’s the ancestors of elves. It seems that the races from ancient times had great power especially the elves. We were by far the most predominant ones before humans ruled the world. Above all, it is said that it was the founder elf who taught magic to everyone.”

“Hoh-, the founder elf was a magic expert then.”

While saying that, I clicked on the YES option for evolution.

“It’s here! An evolution notice has arrived!”

Erna hurriedly went to bed and closed her eyes with excitement. I took the blanket out of the bangle and drape it on Erna. I also called back the skeletons and ordered them to protect our surroundings.

“By the way, it’s the first time I’m looking at the evolution of others.”

Observing Erna, her body begins to glow faintly. This situation continued for hours, and gradually, we began to kill time by eating and drinking tea.

“We got nothing to do huh……”

“It was like this too during father’s evolution.”

Pero said that while being embraced by Freya when I grumbled.

In the future, it would be better to think about the place a little more before evolving. I finally understood the feelings of Erna and Pero at that time. About six hours later, the light finally disappeared from Erna’s body.

“Uuh… where is this…?”

Erna who got up had a ghost-like hair. Her long blonde hair grows further and covers her entire face.

“Drink water for the time being.”

When I gave her the water bottle from the bangle, she gulped it down. As she took a breather, she stared at her palms and body.

“Right… I’ve undergone evolution…”

“Um, we’re still in the dungeon. How are you feeling?”

“I feel… the best! I’m full of power and magical power stream in my whole body.”

She takes out a knife and cuts her beautiful blonde hair. Her face, that I could now see, was different from before. She had evolved into a beautiful woman. Her golden lashes are even more obvious than before and the long golden eyelashes give off a presence like that of a work of art. Her lips were plump and pink and I felt the illusion of being sucked in just by looking at them.

I can’t hide my admiration for this founder elf transformation.

“Erna-anechan is beautiful!”

“That’s right. Erna seems to have made a great evolution.”

Pero and Freya also look very pleased.

However, Erna stared at me fixedly.

“Y-Yeah. I was surprised at how beautiful you are, Erna seems to have made a good evolution huh.”

When I said that, Erna smiles contentedly like a blooming flower. I think she was worried about her first evolution. I regretted it, I should have praised her immediately.

“Now then, the evolution is completed but, shall we rest for a while? Erna should be hungry too.”

“Yeah, I’m really hungry.”

I then cook for Erna. She poured the served food into her stomach. By the time she finished her meal, she was hungry enough to finish six servings of food alone. I’m impressed that it fits into that slender body.

“Then, shall we head off?”

We start walking again and we move forward with the skeleton unit at the forefront.

“Oh, my hearing improved too. I can hear the footsteps of the enemy not far away.”

“I haven’t got any respond from my enemy search skill yet. By the way, is the enemy a zombie?”

“It looks different… The footsteps are quite hard.”

Is it the Lich?

I haven’t seen any skeletons in this floor yet. It’s pure luck, but the possibility of it being a Lich cannot be ruled out.

Kata-kata-kata

When I heard that peculiar sound, a strange skeleton appeared from the end of the passageway. Its body is made up of white bones and the eyes have green flames. He wore a brown, dingy piece of rag, and in his right hand was a cane that was modelled after a skull.

【Analysis Result: Lich: High-ranking skeleton race. Since it specializes in magic, it is relatively weak in physical attack. If there are a lot of skeletons, it’s usually a Lich’s work: Rarity B】

【Status】
Name: Lich
Race: Undead
Magic Attribute: Darkness | Fire
Magic: Shadow, Shadow field, Shadow bind, Flame Bomb
Skills: Swordsmanship (Intermediate), Familiar Creation, Familiar Strengthening (Beginner), Familiar Summoning, Soul eating
Control Rate: 100% controlled by Federer
Evolution: Does not meet the required condition.
[Evolution Condition: Swordsmanship (Special), Spearmanship (Intermediate), Attack Prediction (Beginner)]

He seems to have good skills, but I am more interested in controlling it. It seems that Federer has the control over the Lich in front of us. I’m not really sure what it means to have a familiar and be made into a familiar, but there may be some conditions for the familiar to be made.

For example, is it the link between the ruler’s power and the ones he rules over?

“Katakata”

The Lich used shadow magic on its body. As expected, it seems that it has more wisdom compared to a normal skeleton.

“Alright then, I’ll go.”

As I move forward, I hold out my sword. I need to know what kind of enemy a Lich is.

“Katakatakata”

A fireball was fired from Lich’s cane. All of a sudden, intermediate magic was made as a great welcome. I’ll receive it then. Without avoiding it, I was totally exposed to the explosion.

“Katakatakatakata”

The Lich is clattering its jaw. It probably thought that it won.

Naive.

The Lich then stepped back when it saw that I emerged out of the flames.

“Magic doesn’t work on me, you know?”

Waves of light runs on my black robe, signifying that it nullified the magic. If it’s a magical beast that specializes in magic, I think I will be its natural enemy as magic doesn’t work on me at all.

Seeing me grinning, the Lich’s jaw clattered, as if it just shivered.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


2 thoughts on “Chapter 48: Lich’s natural enemy”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.