Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 62: “I’m home”

I had to hide on the way here but I didn’t have to do it on my way back. While looking at the scenery in the Capital, I am now sitting on the wagon’s luggage carrier as we go on the road. The coachman was the clerk at Camilo’s store and Camilo was sitting with him on the coachman’s stand. In this way, I look like the one keeping an eye on the belongings. It’s been a while since we left Eimurl family’s mansion and it’s now about noon.

As expected, a wide variety of people are coming and going. There are dog-like and cat-like beastmen, there’s also a woman with short but firm stature. Along with the equally short man with thick beard next to her, they are probably dwarves. Other than them, there are also lizardmen (it seems that the race for lizard-like human walking on two legs and humans with scales are different), at first glance they look like children, but you can tell that they are different based from their movements, it’s the race referred as Marito and of course, there are human beings. People with different skin and hair colors are bustling on the road. However, humans do not seem to dislike beastmen. Everyone goes the same way, selling things and buying things naturally. Seeing that somehow made me feel glad.

We then pass through a gate (it seems that it is the boundary between the noble’s area and the general public), then we travelled for about half an hour more and then we pass through the main gate of the Capital. I didn’t see this on the way here but when I looked at it now, it’s huge. It seems that the height is about 6 meters. On the way home, I asked Camilo about it.

“It seems that when the previous king made peace with the giants, it was built into that size so that the giants could enter, but it is doubtful whether it is true or not.”

So it seems to be like that. Eventually, I would like to investigate such legend little by little.

They did some check on the way in, but going back was almost straightforward. The guard standing there just glanced at us and immediately looked at another wagon behind us. It’s not that the guard has bad eyes, it’s just that he thinks that we are not suspicious… In fact, when we came here, they did not find anything so they won’t get anywhere if they stopped us on our way back.

When we came out of the gate, I could see the road and the river, it’s as if a line was drawn using brown and blue crayons in a green carpet. Even at a distance, I can see the river shining under the sun, I can also see that the road in front of us continues beyond the horizon. The green carpet is the short grassy meadows and distant fields. Looking around, when I turned my head, there’s a mountain range in the other direction that seems to be quite high, it towers as if it were a wall that protects the area.

Position wise, that river doesn’t look like it’s flowing from the lake near us. How about the mountains then? Well, I’m not sure because I can’t see it from my house.

Such scenery continues for a while, the Capital then disappears beyond the horizon and the mountains gradually decrease in height, eventually disappearing. It’s the road from the Capital, so we sometimes pass by someone else but we basically just run the wagon in the wide area. I eventually got tired looking at the scenery so I occasionally chat with Camilo. For example, I didn’t see any elves in the city.

“Those elves huh? They’re basically self-sufficient and they don’t come out of their village. You’ll rarely see them in towns around here.”

“I see.”

However, if they are here, they go inside huh.

“Ah. Sometimes, they buy some necessary items or you can see the ones who were travelling about to gain skill in combat. Even for a merchant like me who peddled around, in my entire life, I’ve seen them fewer times compared to the count of the fingers on both of my hands.”

Some of the stories I read in the previous world seemed to be relatively similar to the human towns here, but in this world, elves seemed to seclude their selves. I’ve seen quite few races today and I’d love to see an elf even once.

While having such conversation, the area began to turn orange. The wagon’s pace is much faster than walking so we reached the entrance to the forest while the sun is still up in the sky. However, even if I proceed through the forest at this time, it is inevitable that it will be pitch black on the way so I’ll have to ask Camilo to hand over a torch. Maybe they can reach the town by the time the sun goes down.

I got off the wagon with the torch and flint taken from the luggage carrier. I thanked Camilo and we then split up.

Alright, there’s one more step to go.

I can find the direction of my house thru my cheat and installed knowledge so I hurried towards it. I’m still vigilant around my surroundings but I’m in a hurry so I’m quite fast. Still, the sun will completely set while I’m on my way so I hurriedly light up the torch. If I don’t do this while I can still see, it will be too late doing it after I can no longer see it.

I gained time because I was in a hurry and I walked fast but now I couldn’t walk fast in this dim forest with only a torch at hand. Rather, I can only walk at a slightly slower pace than the usual round trip. I’m in a hurry but I shouldn’t get distracted so I urgently calmed myself down and proceed through the pitch-black forest. It feels quite eerie, when I go with everyone, we should try to avoid going through here in the middle of the night…

When I start to think that the torchlight was about to go off, I finally arrived at my house. Even though I’m hungry, I still feel a little nostalgic. I approached the door of the house unhurriedly.

The door opened just when I was about to reach the door in a few steps. Samia, Rike, and Diana are all standing there. I was surprised. I was about to say “I’m home” just now, but those words didn’t go out successfully. But,

“Eizou, welcome home.”

“Welcome home, boss.”

“Welcome home, Eizou-san.”

The three of them greeted.

“I’m home.”

Feeling my heart filled with warmth, I managed to say what I wanted to say.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of Contents ⚜ Next


7 thoughts on “Chapter 62: “I’m home””

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.