Homeless Tensei: Isekai De Jiyuu Sugiru Majutsu Jisoku Seikatsu

Chapter 50: Demon beast

The vampire bared his fangs and grabbed me. And just like that, he quickly shoves his sharp fangs into my neck.

“Shinichi!!?”

I can hear Erna screaming. Pero and Freya were also surprised and seemed to be stunned stiff. On the contrary, I am extremely calm. Is it better to say that curiosity prevailed over fear?

Well, I wanted to know how powerful this so called vampire race is.

“How is it? Is my blood delicious?”

When I called out, the man who was sticking his fangs into my neck jumped away.

“What’s with your body!? My fangs won’t pierce through!”

“Oi, that’s rude. It’s not my fault that your fangs won’t pierce me you know?”

I took out a handkerchief from my pocket and wiped my saliva-soaked neck. He felt helpless as he couldn’t pierce through my skin. Of course, I didn’t use any skills.

“Erna, if I’m not mistaken, vampires are demon beasts, right?”

“Uh? Y-Yeah… that should be the case…”

There are fewer demon beasts than magical beasts. I’m not sure why, but that’s the reason why I haven’t seen one before. Vampires particularly ranked higher amongst the magical beasts and I heard that they often appear in remote areas and kidnap humans.

Vampires are also a vermin to humans.

Well, shall I check his status?

【Analysis Result: Federer: A vampire clan’s exile. He was banished from their kingdom for violating the Queen’s orders. He thought of going out of Mohed’s Great Dungeon and head to the ground: Rarity D】

【Status】
Name: Federer
Race: Vampire
Magic attributes: Wind, Darkness, No attribute
Magic: Air Arrow, Air Cutter, Air Wall, Lightning Thunder, Shadow, Shadow Field, Shadow Bind, Charm
Skills: Stealth (Advanced), Fangs Strengthening (Advanced), Nail Strengthening (Advanced), Strength Enhancement (Advanced), Leg Strength Enhancement (Advanced), Eyesight Enhancement (Special), Danger Detection (Advanced), Self-recovery (Advanced), Flight (Advanced), Leadership (Intermediate), Familiar Creation, Familiar Summoning, Soul Eating
Evolution: Does not meet the required conditions.
[Evolution condition: Stealth (Special), Fangs Strengthening (Special), Nail Strengthening (Special), Self-renewal (Beginner)]

He’s indeed a demon beast. He seems to be far stronger than those magical beasts.

The first thing I noticed is his magical attribute. It’s very interesting because he has the “no attribute” one too. Perhaps, Charm is that non-attribute magic.

Next is the Flight skill. He’s called a vampire after all, so he can fly in the sky, right? I definitely want to see if he can transform into a bat.

Finally, it’s about the evolution category. It is an item that was added after the Appraisal skill upgraded into Analysis skill. However, considering the things up till now, it seems that one can evolve by satisfying the conditions.

Of course not only that.

It is quite possible that even if the conditions are met, it will not be possible to evolve unless a certain number of things such as experience point, which are not displayed in the status, are accumulated. Given these things, it becomes clear why races take time to evolve.

According to Erna, humans rarely evolve into high humans.

If one can evolve only by satisfying the conditions, human beings in this kingdom would surely be able to establish an evolution method long ago. Therefore, what I can see at this point is that evolution can be obtained by satisfying a certain number of experience points while achieving certain conditions at the same time.

“Air cutter!”

Federer casts magic while I was in deep thought. It seems that I was a little too absorbed in my thoughts. The wind blade disappeared when it hits my robe.

“Magic doesn’t work on me, you know?”

“That’s ridiculous! You used shadow before I noticed it!”

Federer seems to have thought that I used shadow magic to prevent his magical attack. The robe just nullified it, not that shadow thing, but there is no reason to explain that to my enemy.

“Lightning Thunder!”

This time, he fired a lightning strike. The purple light hit me directly but my robe just nullified it again.

“Erna, what’s that magic just now?”

“Lightning Thunder is an advanced wind magic.”

As expected from a demon beast, he’s able to manipulate advanced magic. No, I should say, as expected from a vampire. It’s a pity to just kill such opponent.

I tried to use familiar creation.

【Note: Vampires cannot be turned into you familiar.】

With the words reflected in my field of view, I’m now finally convinced. It’s still a mystery, but I think that one can be turned into a familiar depending on their racial traits.

He’s an enemy that isn’t simple after all.

“If magic doesn’t work, I’ll just have to kill you physically!!”

Federer waved his right hand and a number of lights emerged from the floor.

It should be the Familiar Summoning skill. About ten skeletons emerged from the light and they rattled their jaws.

“These are my familiars…? That’s strange. There must have been more. And those Lich did not came out either!”

Federer was confused when he only saw the ten skeletons. Well, that should now be the case because I snatched his familiars away.

“Will he get it once he sees this?”

After I used the Familiar Summoning skill, three Lich emerged from the light. A, B, and C are written on their forehead and their eyes glowing with crimson flame shine in the dark.

The three Lich simultaneously raised their wands and magically vanished the ten enemy skeletons.

“That’s absurd! Did you steal my familiars!? And what’s with that Lich’s appearance?”

“If you want me to tell you, answer my question first.”

I push Lich and the others aside and moved forward. A demon beast that understands words is precious after all. With this chance, I would like to ask him various questions.

“Stop fucking kidding me! There’s nothing to talk about with the likes of you, human! Charm!”

Federer focused his gazed on Freya. Then, Freya launched an attack on me using her spear.

“For Federer-sama!”

I parried the spear she thrusts with my sword. I’ve heard rumors that there is a magic that bewitches the other party, it seems that this so called charm is such type of magic.

Moreover, it is sly of him to aim for Freya, who’s the weakest one amongst my comrades.

“Suketarou!”

When I gave the order, Suketarou starts moving immediately. The enemy that he’s after is Federer.

“A golden skeleton!? Ugh!?”

After Suketarou shortened the distance between him and Federer, he quickly land a roundhouse kick towards Federer’s abdomen. As the impact broke through the wall of the mansion, Suketarou and Federer rolled outside.

“Die for my beloved Federer-sama!”

Freya’s attacks become much sharper. At times like this, Freya is probably the type that gets stronger based on her emotions. She’s faster and more powerful than usual. I decided to follow Suketarou and the others while avoiding her spear.

“Wait!”

As expected, Freya chased after me when I went outside from the destroyed area. At this rate, it’s like I’m training her.

I stopped when we were at a distance from the mansion, then the battle with Freya resumes.

“Yaaa! Taaaa!”

I narrowly avoided the spear that was lunged at me. My sword is still in its scabbard. It’s too sharp to be used when fighting a comrade. Her lunged attacks almost hit my face many times but I can see it in a slow motion so I never get hit. I can’t help but once again think that Homeless (King) is an extremely strong race. A skin that couldn’t be pierced even with a vampire’s strengthened fangs is too abnormal, right?

As a test, I tried receiving the incoming spear with my abdomen.

Bruiiit-, fresh blood gushed out as the spear pierced and stick into my abdomen. It wasn’t as painful as I had imagined, but gradually, a dull pain spreads out from my abdomen.

“I, what have I…”

Freya has finally regained her consciousness. Apparently, shock therapy is effective when you are charmed.

“Hmm, when it comes to Mithril, it pierces my skin huh.”

“This is not the time for you to be saying that! You have to take care of it quickly!”

Freya was so flustered, I then pulled out the spear stuck in my abdomen and hold my wound down. Thanks to the self-recovery skill, the deep wound was completely healed in a few minutes.

“Tanaka-dono is a monster…”

“I’ll take that as a compliment.”

When I checked the status, the skill, Shock Absorption has levelled up to advanced. The previous battle may have been a good experience point.

【Since certain conditions have been met, skill will evolve.】

【Skill evolution: Self-recovery  → Self-renewal】

Self-recovery has also evolved thanks to the fact that it was already a special grade. Well, I was also aiming for this. That’s the reason why I dared to catch the spear with my abdomen.

“Lightning Thunder!”

Crackling lightning bolts appeared in the dark.

Suketarou who was directly hit remained still. The battle between Federer and Suketarou is still ongoing. Black bat wings grow from Federer’s back and he relentlessly attacks Suketarou on the ground while he’s flying in the air.

Suketarou, on the other hand, is parrying the magical attack while casting a shadow magic.

“Katakata”

Suketarou used shadow bind and chain of darkness aimed to bind Federer. As the chain stretched out of the ground, Federer repeatedly swirled and brilliantly avoided it.

“You’re good despite being just a skeleton huh! I want to turn you into my familiar but it seems to be difficult!”

Based from what he’s saying, it seems that he tried to make Suketarou his familiar. However, it would be difficult to steal him from me. Well, that’s because my control over him was much stronger than Federer.

When Federer descends to the ground, he shots an air cutter directly from above. The wind blades hit Suketarou directly and cloud of dust flies up. Federer begins to fly once more.

“I’ll torment and kill you bit by bit! Oops, you were already dead! Hahaha!”

Clink.

Federer freezed in the air. There was a chain of darkness wrapped around his leg.

“Katakatakata”

Suketarou, who’s holding the chain, clatters his jaw as if to laugh. He probably activated that magic during the previous attack. Federer struggles desperately, but he’s already good as a carp on a chopping board.

When Suketarou swing the chain down, Federer also struck on the ground.

“Ugh… In a place like this, for me to…”

He’s being a bad loser. The chains are still wrapped around his legs so he won’t be able to escape. As I approach Federer, I tried to ask one more time.

“Answer the question!”

“Damn you!!! I’m from the great vampire race, you’re just a freaking human!”

I then pulled out my sword. Once he saw it, he changed his attitude quickly.

“S-Speak! I’ll speak so spare my life!”

“Alright then, here’s the question. Why were you here?”

“I-It’s dark and quiet here… We vampires, is a race that doesn’t like light you see.”

It’s indeed true, but I got this feeling that he didn’t talk about everything. I have seen many types of human beings too. And from that experience, I can already see through the other person’s mind.

“Is that all?”

“…Sometime some adventurers come here. I then drink their blood.”

I thought so too. Otherwise, the hordes of skeletons and Lich cannot be explained. This guy had his familiars capture the humans and he probably lived by drinking their blood at this floor. Then lastly, he turned the adventurers into a skeleton. It’s a well-planned system.

“Then, for the last question, where is the Vampire’s Kingdom?”

“I can’t answer that! P-Please, spare me!”

“Well, if you can’t answer, you’ll die you know?”

I point my sword at Federer. But he still didn’t answer my question.

“Lightning Thunder!!”

Lightning bolts wraps around himself. Taking advantage of that momentary opening, he committed suicide. All that was left of him was the smoldering scorched bones and pieces of flesh.

“For him to commit suicide…”

I didn’t mean to kill him in the first place. I intended to keep him alive if he promised not to attack the adventurers in the future. Well, I guess he didn’t really want to talk about his kingdom.

Feeling disappointed, I acquired his skills. Let’s also acquire his race.

Status
Name:  Shinichi Tanaka
Age:  17 years old (56 years old)
Race:  Homeless (King)
< Dragoneut | Vampire (new) >
Occupation:  Adventurer
Magic attribute:  No Attribute
Magic:  None
Skills: Analysis (Beginner) new, Master of War(Beginner), Life or Death Technique(Beginner), Theft (Advanced), Stealth (Special), Universal thread (Beginner), Division(Beginner), Danger Detection (Special), Enemy Search(Advanced), Taste Enhancement (Special), Digestion Enhancement (Advanced), Eyesight Enhancement(Special), Hearing Enhancement(Special), Smell Enhancement (Special) , Limit Breakthrough(Beginner), Super Sensation (Advanced), Shock Absorption(Advanced)↑, Underwater Adaptation (Intermediate), Flight (Advanced) ↑, Hardening(Advanced), Self Renewal (Beginner) new, Plant manipulation (Special), Leadership (Special), Indomitable Spirit (Advanced), Small Dragon Breath(Advanced) , Familiar Creation, Familiar Strengthening (Beginner) new, Familiar Summoning new, Skill Picking, Race Picking, King’s Vessel

Flight has levelled up to advanced. That’s about the harvest this time. I didn’t think it was necessary to strengthen my fangs or nails, so I didn’t learn them.

Acquiring the vampire race is more important than that anyway.

Somehow, wings grew from my back.

When I paid attention to the vampire word in the race category, I noticed that bat-like wings appeared. After that, when I paid attention to the Dragoneut, sheep-like horns grow from my head.

This was the real power of Race Picking skill!

Simultaneous activation can be done at my will. With wings growing from my back and horns on my head, my heart beats fast.

“This is superb!”

Having wings, the flight skill begins to show its real power. Now I can fly around the sky without any limit. And I finally become the D★man that I admired! Kufufufu.

After enjoying a stroll in the sky for about an hour, I then joined my members.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


3 thoughts on “Chapter 50: Demon beast”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.