Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 65: The new “usual”

“Thus, from today onwards, Diana becomes part of our family too.”

They applauded when I declared that after we returned from the Capital. The two (Samia and Rike), did it and that would complete everyone. I was relieved because there seems to be no objection.

“I’ll be in your care again from today on. I’m Diana Eimurl. Please treat me well.”

“Nice to meet you, Diana”

“Nice to meet you, Diana-san”

Diana and the other two exchanged greetings. They lived together until the day before yesterday so there is no awkwardness between them. However, Rike and Diana had an interesting conversation.

“Hey, did it work?”

“Yes, it was exactly as what Rike had said.”

Hn?

“Hey, what are you talking…”

“It’s a girl’s secret. Right, Diana-san?”

“Yeah-”

Diana appears to get along well with Rike before I knew it. It’s a good thing, but I felt I little left out… Oh, that’s right.

“Diana, just a minute.”

I called Diana, go back to my room, take what I want out of the cupboard, and go back to the living room.

“I’m giving this one to you.”

“This is?”

“It’s my “custom-made” knife. Each of us has one for self-defense. It’s like a proof of being one of the family.”

Diana receives the knife I gave her with glittering eyes. She pulled it out of the sheath and stared at the blade.

“As you can see from its appearance, it’s pretty sharp so handle it with care.”

“I understand. It’s very beautiful.”

“Right!? That knife is one of the best masterpieces of boss!”

For some reason, Rike is sticking out her chest and boasts about it. Seeing that, Samia looked dumbfounded then she starts laughing. Diana’s smiling face was also added to such “usual”. This appears to be very satisfying for me.

I then prepared today’s dinner. Dried meat cooked with wine, unfermented bread, root vegetable soup and wine. It’s a “feast” to celebrate Diana becoming part of our family.

“As expected, the meal made by Eizou is the most delicious.”

Samia says with deep emotion.

“Is that so?”

“Yes. I cooked our meals while you are away, but I never surpassed the taste of Boss’ cooking. I also cooked at the workshop at home you see.”

Diana looked away, she herself, probably never cooked once.

“Then, since I’m back, let’s all celebrate.”

“Yeah, we can particularly feel it with this meal.”

Rike giggles. So everyone laughed and the conversation regarding the food we ate during the dinner party at Eimurl House was opened up.

The next day, after finishing my morning routine of fetching water and other things, I started the conversation during our breakfast.

“Is there a week’s worth of general models in stock?”

“Yes. We were still in production even when boss is not here.”

“In that case, the quantity for wholesale should be enough then.”

“We helped too so there’s a good amount in the workplace you know?”

 “Good. Then, let’s make a new room from today. It’s for Diana.”

“Will that be okay?”

It was Diana who asked.

“There’s no good thing or bad thing since we’re family. Besides, as a family, isn’t it better to have the same room?”

 “Thank you”

“You are welcome. Diana will have to help us too though.”

“Of course that’s a given.”

In this way, the schedule for the next week was decided.

We frequently secured some timber so we have accumulated quite a few. We can afford to make two more rooms with it. To put it the other way around, if we make two rooms, the timber will run out. So I first cut down some trees around the house with the axe to secure new timber. I’ve cut a few so I feel that the garden has become a little wider. I have to get rid of the stumps so that new trees can grow.

While I was cutting trees, the three of them were working on levelling the new room and staking the foundation. Rike has done it before, and all three of them are now much faster, probably because they are stronger than ordinary people. However, there is one point I’m concerned about.

“Why are you working for two rooms, anyway?”

Yes, no matter how I look at it, the work is for two rooms. Our purpose this time is to secure a room for Diana, so one room should be enough.

“Because it’s Eizou anyway, the family will surely grow again.”

“No, that’s…”

I tried to refute, but my words got stuck in my tongue. In the first place, Samia, Rike, and Diana’s arrival here is not planned. In that case, it is quite possible that something unexpected will happen and the number of the family will increase. It is indeed better to make two rooms now rather than being rushed in adding more at that time. It certainly makes sense.

“Alright, we can make use of it as storage room while it’s not yet occupied…”

When I acknowledged it, Samia just sighed and went back to work.

Then for five days, we spent time working on the room expansion. I get up early in the morning and finish my daily routine. We then work on creating the room. After we had our lunch, we work from noon and I would train with Diana before dinner. Then it’s time to go to bed after having dinner.

After spending five days, the work on the room expansion went smoothly. And probably because we had done it before, it was almost completed by the fifth day. The former end of the corridor was removed, and the corridor extends further from there, two rooms that look similar to Samia and Rike’s room are now there. However, there are no doors attached at the entrance of the rooms yet and there are no furniture’s placed there too.

“We did it!”

“That’s right.”

Diana didn’t participate at the previous time, so she seems to be deeply moved.

“Tomorrow we’ll put the door and the bed and that’s it. The day after tomorrow, we’ll go to Camilo’s shop to wholesale our products. Diana will come too, right?”

“Yes, of course. It’s a family business, right?”

“Yup. Well that’s because I’m a blacksmith you see. Though I have a beastman, dwarf, and even the young lady of the Count’s family with me, still I’m just a stubborn old man running a smithy.”

“You’re a weird blacksmith.”

Diana giggles as she said that.

“Well, I can’t deny that at all.”

I smiled and replied back. This is also one of the new “usual” scenes that have been added.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


10 thoughts on “Chapter 65: The new “usual””

  1. Does it make any sense for Diana to stay with him? Samia has nowhere else to go(she was living in the forest) and Rike is his apprentice, but what about Diana? Why did no one ask for her reason?

    Like

    1. From the previous chapter,

      +++
      I received the letter that Diana gave me. What was written there is as follows,

      “Hi Eizou. If you are reading this, it means that my, Diana and Camilo’s plan was a success. It’s a pity that I can’t see your surprised face but it can’t be helped. Just give it up. By the way, she is the “other item I left in your care”, since I became a count, her “value” goes up at once.

      She’s originally a member of a Count family but having three older brothers, unfortunately, her “value” will be different if there’s only one male in the family. Because of that, various troublesome things may occur. Can you accept her as a way to keep her away from it?”

      I see. It’s not that I don’t understand but he’s using high handed method huh.
      ++++

      Like

    2. Diana(definitely not me)’s brother is hiding her because her value as a noble lady raised a lot so many suitor would be flocking to wife her for connection~
      The usual noble society thing~

      Like

      1. It would be interesting to see if this Isekai world allows daughters to inherit titles. Of the 758 UK titles of peerage, only 18 can be inherited by a woman. Since most Isekai worlds have female knights and Diana is studying swordsmanship, you would think that is allowed. However its likely that her inheritance rights are inferior to male siblings and when her 3 brothers were alive, she was only 4th in line of inheritance. Now she only has one unmarried brother who is the Count, and that would make her the heir presumptive (NOT heir apparent).

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.