Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 66: Additional Family and an increase to “Everyday”

The next day.

After cutting out the materials for the bed and door, we started assembling it. I made the hinges and nails last time so that saved a lot of time. Being prepared means less things to worry. I’ll leave the bed to Samia and Rike, and Diana and I will work on the door. It’s the door of her room so she has to put in some effort.

As expected, since Diana has never done some carpentry, she does the work while I’m teaching her what to do. It would be a problem if the frame was misshapen and the door wouldn’t fit so I did that part but Diana did most of the rest. Perhaps because she was swinging her sword regularly, she was quite good at it even if it’s the first time she uses a hammer.

“This is somewhat fun too huh.”

“If you’re silently doing it by yourself, you may get tired in the middle of the work. However, isn’t it nice for everyone to make things like this?”

“That’s right. I really took a liking to this.”

“Sometimes there may be some work like this, can you do it?”

“Of course. If I make a fuss at just this level, I would not have come here in the first place.”

Diana laughs as she said that.

“Well, that’s for sure.”

Enticed by her laughter, I also laughed.

And as for the bed, since the two people who worked on it already made one before, they finished it before we were done on the door.

“Oh, please carry it inside.”

 “Okay. Shall we place it in front of the room?”

Samia asks Diana.

“Yes, that’s fine.”

“Alright. Let’s go Rike.”

“Okay. Then Samia, can you hold it there.”

Because Samia is a beastman and Rike is a dwarf, they have a considerable power. They then easily lifted the bed and carried it in.

“Well then, let’s finish the door too.”

“Yeah.”

Then after some time, the door was completed. It’s pretty good.

“It turned out good.”

 “Is that so?”

“Yeah. It’s quite difficult to hit the board compactly you see.”

“I’m glad. I was thinking what to do if you said it was no good?”

“With me watching, there’s no way that you would make such mistake, you know?”

“Well, that’s indeed right.”

“Worry not, it’s not flattery when I said it’s pretty good. Let’s go and install it.”

Diana is not as strong as Samia but she still has some power. Diana and I carried the door then I installed it. The doors were installed immediately, and together with the bed that had been brought in earlier, Diana’s room is now completed.

“From today, this is Diana’s room. I think it’s quite small unlike the one in your residence though.”

“It’s okay, I’m fine with this. I learn once I come here that it’s not necessary to have a wider room.”

 “I see.”

Diana tries to get used to this life as fast as she could. She got accustomed to this to some extent when she came before but, she was supposed to be a guest of some sort at that time. I’m grateful for her doing this.

“With this we are finally a family right!”

Rike smiled at Diana.

“Yeah. Then once more, I’ll be in your care Rike. Samia too, once again please treat me well.”

“Ok. Well, I will guarantee that the meal is always delicious.”

Samia was proud saying that but, the one to cook will be me I suppose. Oh well, it’s fine if she likes the food I make. After that, Diana’s luggage was brought in from the guest room and with this, Diana’s room is finally completed.

The next day, we went to Camilo’s shop to wholesale the goods. Diana couldn’t go to the town before so this is the first time for us four to go there. Rike and I pull the cart while Samia and Diana are the ones on the lookout around the area. Our pace is the same as before. Sometimes grass rabbits and other small animals appear so Diana gets high spirited. Well that’s because they look cute. I hope that doesn’t hold her back when we eat them next time though. We then arrived at the main road with one break on the way.

“How is it? I think there’s none this time.”

 “I don’t sense anything so I think there’s nothing in particular either. How about you Diana?”

“I thinks so too.”

Just in case, we’re checking the surroundings before we go out from the forest to the main road. There seems to be nothing this time as well.

“Well, shall we get going then?”

We pulled the cart and go down the road. It’s the road where we have come and go many times, but today Diana is with us. That alone makes me feel fresh. The guards in that town are enthusiastic about their work, though it doesn’t mean we don’t have to be vigilant at all, but the fear of bandits is quite low. It would be nice if there was enough manpower now that Marius was gone but, I don’t plan to do this on his instead this time. Since I want to do things that I can do as much as possible.

As expected, we arrived at the city without any problems. Since the guards on duty are not a colleague of Marius, I tried to pass by with only a slight bow. That’s when a guard on duty called out.

“Hey, your companions increase by one?”

He did well remembering me despite how many people pass here each day.

“Well, yes”

“Aren’t you a popular one? I‘m envious of you, Mr. lady killer.”

“No, that’s not really the case.”

“Can you let me take a look at the eyes and wrists of the “newcomer” lady for a while?”

“Alright”

The guard checks Diana’s eyes and wrists.

“Sorry for the trouble. A child who was forcibly brought as a slave or by kidnapping can be noticed by looking at the eyes and wrists. Though it’s a secret how and what to look at the eyes and wrists. Anyways, thank you for your cooperation. You can go now.”

“Thanks”

The four of us slightly nod and enter the city. If I observe various people, I’ll probably learn how to tell that too. It’s not a skill that I’m happy to learn about but I’m sure that person must have seen his fair share of hardship until now.

We head straight to Camilo’s store as usual. After parking the cart in the warehouse we went upstairs. The salesman and the head clerk already know us and we are immediately guided to the business meeting room. However, I feel that the number of warehouse and clerical staffs here increased.

Without waiting that long, Camilo entered inside the business meeting room too.

“Hey there”

I greet him casually. Camilo found Diana and said.

“Hey. Oh yeah, Diana-ojousan was with you now.”

“That’s right. You guys really like to do things like that.”

“You already know right?”

“Indeed. By the way, I think the number of people here has increased considerably.”

“Right. Thanks to you I’m making more money. Now that I can come and go to the Count’s family, I did not only leave employees in the city to market the product once but I did open a store albeit a small one you see.”

In my previous world, it’s like the Osaka head office and the Tokyo branch office huh. It seems to be difficult to become a large store with a warehouse in the capital, but if it’s alright to functions even as the worst store, then there’s no problem I guess.

“I see, that’s a good thing.”

“Hell right. So today, should I prepare the usual things?”

“Oh for this time, if you have two sets of alcohol and beddings, could I get them too?”

“Yes, we have those. Shall I pay as usual way too?”

“Yeah, I’ll leave it to you.”

When I nod, Camilo looks at the clerk. The clerk nodded and left the room. After that while unloading our products, we talk about the things that happen in the capital with Camilo. Samia and Rike were happily listening to things that I and Diana didn’t tell them about (although Diana didn’t know some part too).

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


5 thoughts on “Chapter 66: Additional Family and an increase to “Everyday””

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.