Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 67: New Product

I bought some things and left the Camilo store. This town is not as big and crowded as the Capital but it is as lively. One man and three women pull a cart through it (though I and Rike are pulling it) so we stand out. However, even if others have no carts, there are some groups that similarly stood out. Almost all of them are still wearing travelling outfits, but I wonder if they are the so-called adventurers.

I’m willing to live my second life in this world as a “blacksmith” but if I had another cheat, I might have ended that way too. As I thought of that, I absentmindedly stared at the travelers.

“What? Eizou, are you planning to set out on a journey?”

Samia questioned me. Hearing that voice, I can tell that Rike and Diana are also concerned about me.

“Certainly not. “Having a special circumstance”, I wandered from the north to here you see. I’m sorry for carelessly worrying you guys.”

I glossed it over with a made-up story. When it’s against Samia, I’m quite nervous whether my lie will be exposed or not but neither “having a special circumstance” nor “wandering from another place” is a lie. It’s just that, the means of my transportation is a little unusual.

“Well, it might be good if we go out on a pleasure trip once in a while.”

“Hmm”

With that, it seems like Samia has lost curiosity in that topic. For now I’m relieved that I didn’t get caught. At the same time, I heard Rike and Diana sighing in relief.

“What’s wrong with the both of you?”

“Boss is sometimes like this, it’s like you’re about to do something dangerous you know? Apart from that, it’s not like you’re blacksmithing talent is being threatened by someone, but rather, I feel like you are going to disappear all of a sudden without any signal. Maybe Samia felt the same thing so she asked you about it.”

Rike said so, and Diana nodded next to her. Well, it’s true since I came from another world.

“At least, I won’t keep quiet about things like this from my “family” you know.”

“Yes!”

The three of them, including Rike, were relieved hearing that.

We were cautious on our way home but we are able to return safely without any problems. Except for Diana’s case, nothing has happened in particular until today. This may also be a good luck. I don’t know if there is a God in this world, but if there is, I’ll give my thanks.

Once we got home, we brought the luggage in. I asked Samia and Diana to bring the wine and salt inside the house while I and Rike stuffed the iron ores and charcoal into the workshop. The consumption of iron ores has not caught up with the supply yet. However, I don’t know what might happen and I can still store some iron stones in the workshop so it’s okay to have Camilo supply it for a while. It may be better to build a storehouse before it gets too bad.

Then, when we finished carrying all the luggage inside, Samia called me.

“What’s the matter?”

“It smells like it’s going to rain. Combined with the wind’s direction, it seems to last a little longer.”

“How long?”

“I don’t know for sure, but I don’t think it will last a week. I think it’s for about 3 days.”

“I see”

I don’t have water jar that can hold enough water for three days worth. In any case, since it’s about 30 minutes for a round trip, I should go fetch tomorrow’s portion this day.

After I came back from fetching water, I prepared our dinner. It’s the “usual” menu for today. I bought additional pepper so I added a little more to the soup. The dinner today was lively with the story of Rike, who had travelled far, and Diana, who was sometimes taken by her father when he went out. It’s all about where they went. It seems that iron ores are mined from the mountains that I saw when we left the Capital. I would like to go on a trip there if I have the opportunity.

The next day, it was indeed raining, which probably happened after midnight. It’s a pretty large streak of pouring rain so I’m quite thankful to myself for deciding to go fetch some water yesterday.

For today, we’ll replenish the sheet metal. It’s all about melting the iron ores in the furnace and hitting the produced iron. From this time, Diana also joined the work. We don’t have to be so careful at this stage so it’s fine. The furnace continues to spit out iron without stopping, and we continue to make sheet metals. At the end of the day, a considerable number of sheet metals were produced. Diana is quite patient maybe because it is an unfamiliar task.

“Thanks for the hard work, Diana”

“Are you guys always doing this?”

“We have to do this once a week, if not, we’ll run out of materials you see.”

“Seems like it is right to say that you guys are strong.”

“Samia and Rike are strong by nature. Well, that may be the case for me as well.”

That’s because I got some “cheat” though. Samia and Rike, who were listening to our conversation, playfully made a bicep pose. Both Samia and Rike has well-developed biceps. Seeing that, Diana burst out in laughter and the workshop was filled with laughter. Then the work for the day was over.

As Samia has said, it’s also raining the next day, but it is much better compared to yesterday. Let’s fetch some water quickly.

“Hiyaa-, you’re soaking wet.”

I unexpectedly get that wet when I came back from fetching water. Diana said,

“Welcome back. You’ll wipe your body, right? Here, take this.”

She gave me a cloth.

“T-Thank you”

“You’re welcome”

Diana smiled sweetly. I quickly returned to the room so that she wouldn’t see my embarrassed look.

“Today I will make a new item.”

The modest applause of the three people resounded.

“What are you making, Boss!?”

With her sparkling eyes, Rike jumps up and asked me that. This is what I really like about Rike.

“It will be a halberd.”

“Halberd?”

Samia tilted her head in confusion as she doesn’t seem to know about it. Unless you’re on the battlefield, you won’t see it that much. It was a short spear that the guards in the Capital had.

“Ah, it’s like a spear and an axe combined.”

“Whoa, what’s with that? It sounds to be powerful.”

“It is powerful.”

Depending on the case, a halberd, which can do various things other than stabbing and slashing, will have a wider range of correspondence. Hearing such explanation, Diana asks a question.

“But, how will you make a halberd? Can you sell it?”

“Yes. We got a place to sell it.”

I grinned hearing Diana’s question.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


5 thoughts on “Chapter 67: New Product”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.