Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 68: Halberd

I then keep explaining.

“Well, since it’s the first time, I wonder if I should sell 5 pieces first.”

“Then, where will you sell it?”

“To the town guards. To be exact, their superior. In other words, your brother.”

The guards are now using short spears. And the lord of the town who gave them that is the Eimurl House. Simply put, that’s also why Marius was assigned as a guard there even though he was the third son of the Eimurl House. The reason why he was not the captain of the guards was because he doesn’t like being called as someone who benefits from the influence of his parents.

And Marius must have wanted something a little better, that’s probably because he was a guard himself. Otherwise, he doesn’t have to bother buying a sword from me and insisting that it’s for his own use. I think part of it is his discretion towards his father and brother.

So, I’m guessing that if I make a halberd this time and negotiate with the Eimurl House for the sake of the town’s guards, it will likely be sold. If it doesn’t sell, I’ll just ask Camilo if he wants to buy it. If it still doesn’t sell, then I’ll think of it at that time. I may have made full use of his position, but I will make a halberd that is worth it. There may be additional training for them to use it, but that’s okay… I’ll just ask Marius to think about it.

“Oh, I see. Nii-san might buy it.”

“Right? Well then, I’ll leave the general model ones to Rike and everyone.”

“Alright boss. Then, let’s make short swords today, Samia, Diana.”

“Okay”

“Yes”

And everyone starts their own work.

I heat the sheet metal and first make the tip of the spear part. In the case of an ordinary spear, a function to “slash” is required to some extent, but since it is a halberd, it will be shaped into a triangular pyramid that specializes in “stabbing”. “Slashing” is left to the axe part. If the tip is thin, durability may be impaired so I make it thick and short. The base is left unprocessed for the combination part later.

Once I made that shape, I used another sheet metal for the axe and hook part. I then put two sheets of sheet metal on top of each other, put a straw ash between them, heat and hit them to make them one, then I stretched them to form the shape. The axe part is shaped so that one of the vertices of the triangle faces the center, and the outer base part is gently curved inward. I then made the hook part so that it extends to the other side. This shape is like a hawk’s beak.

This completes the two parts. The spear part and the axe and hook part. The base of the spear part and the center of the axe and hook part are spread out in the shape of a thin cone divided vertically. I then attached them together and then the final stage will be done.

Quenching, tempering and sharpening the axe part completes the finishing of the head part. In this area, the temperature, hitting method and quality were completely controlled by the capability of my “cheat”. I’m on this already, so this time, I concentrated on it and created it with the quality of a “high-end model”.

After this, the head and the base part (which is made into a slightly pointed spike) will be fixed to the handle and the halberd will finally be completed. The wood to be used for making the handle is still outside, so it will be made later… Creating it is like combining different weapons, but connecting the handle to the head would not have been possible in this short time without the cheat.

Although it was a short time, even if I relied on my cheat and installed knowledge so far, half of it is with me grasping the process so a considerable amount of time has passed. From tomorrow, I will be able to make it a little faster.

I had a little time to spare, so I’ll make a replacement for my self-defense knife that I dissolved during the Eimurl House’s turmoil. Since this is a custom model, I had a complete concentration with my cheat’s full power from the time I hit the sheet metal to extend it. I look at it carefully so that things like the composition of steel are even then I hit is so that something like a glitter comes out.

When the whole thing becomes neat, I then shape it and finish it. This is a work I’ve been doing many times. The only difference is how concentrated I am in my work. The finished knife still has a strong glitter. I wonder why this didn’t come out when I hit it in the Capital. Anyways, I’m glad I made something good. That’s should be fine for now.

Before I knew it, the three of them, especially Rike, were seriously looking at the knife I struck.

“Haa-, as expected, the beauty of the work that Boss made seriously is different.”

Rike says that with an entranced look. Rike at a time like this is a little scary.

“I don’t know as much as Rike, but it’s indeed beautiful.”

“I don’t really understand it, but I know it’s amazing.”

Diana and Samia also praised me.

“Thank you for your praise guys. However, I couldn’t do this when I was in the Capital you see.”

“Really?”

“Yeah. So I had no choice but to hit one with my self-defense knife mixed in and it worked.”

“Oh, that’s why you made a custom product today.”

“That’s right. Well, if I make one here, I can make it with the usual quality so I was wondering if there is something here…”

Hearing what I said, the other three thought about it too but they didn’t seem to think of any reason for it.

“Though I’m saying that it is a problem, I can’t move to any other place for now and I have no intention of doing so in the first place, so it’s almost the same as there really is no problem.”

I said so and laughed “hahaha”. However, there is no guarantee that there will be no such scene where we have to abandon this place.

For that time, it will be necessary to find the difference and explore why it could not be done in the Capital. What we don’t know right now is that we have the help of someone who has some expertise other than what we know (including my installed knowledge). But first of all, what expertise it is, we should start from there.

“Now then, it’s getting late so let’s end the work and prepare for our meal.”

When I said that, Samia rejoiced and shouted “Yahoo” and ended up being rebuked by Rike.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


6 thoughts on “Chapter 68: Halberd”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.