Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 81: Repair

After entering the workshop, I start with the puzzle. The blade of a slightly broad sword is divided into eight large and small pieces. The first step is to assemble this into its original shape. Of course, this work has nothing to do with my blacksmithing skills. The five of us, including Liddy-san, assembled the sword puzzle in a lively manner. Eventually, its shape will be assembled in this way.

Since it is made of Mithril, there are many parts that I do not have to worry about. If it is steel, the structure will change when it is reheated, so it is difficult to make adjustments after joining them. Such problem does not apply to Mithril, however, joining them back itself is difficult in the first place so it may be more difficult since it is Mithril. Well, with my cheat, I can manage to make adjustments after joining them if it is steel. After all, through my cheat, I know where to readjust the steel.

For the first step, I’ll have to attach it from the part close to the handle of the blade so I lit up a fire on the fire bed. Of course, it’s through magic.

“By the way, Eizou-san can use magic, right? Yesterday, you also magically ignited the furnace.”

Liddy-san, who was watching the scene, pointed that out. Well, it’s like an established practice in this house.

“Even if I say that I can use it, I can only use it to ignite fire just like now and create light wind you see.”

“With that alone, it would have taken some training you know. Also, it’s quite strange to say that you know almost nothing about magic.”

Liddy-san said that with a broad smile but her smiling face is quite scary. I guess she doesn’t trust me at all when I said that I don’t know much about magic. I was given a “minimum” magic and I didn’t practice it or anything like that. Also, neither Rike and Diana, let alone Samia, had any knowledge about magic. If anything, as the daughter of the Count, Diana should be familiar about magic compared to the other two. Well, I can’t tell if she’s not that knowledgeable about it… No, wait.

“Diana, are you not familiar with magic?”

“Uh, I-, I didn’t study that much in that aspect.”

Diana answers while averting her eyes. That is like cutting classes huh. It’s convenient if you can use it, but you don’t have to worry that much if you won’t be using it so it’s pretty simple to imagine that this boyish girl focused on swordsmanship instead.

“Is that so? I’m not really angry or something, so don’t worry about it.”

“R-Really?”

Diana is overtly relieved. With a sister like this, the Eimurl House must have been a sunny family.

“S-So that’s why I’m not familiar with it and my family does not know much about it either. Well, I’m ashamed that I don’t know much about it though.”

“I see……”

Liddy-san ponders about it. Since the fire bed has been sufficiently ignited, I grabbed the hilt side of the blade and the fragment closest to it with the pincers, put them in the fire bed and then I sent some wind to heat them. While pondering about it, Liddy-san watched me closely. Even if she earnestly talks to me about magic, I can’t really give her further information other than, “I’m just able to use it somehow but I’m not aware of anything in particular.”

I used my cheat to determine the temperature at the last minute then I take out the two parts at the same time. Since the temperature of the parts to be joined and its surroundings has risen, I ask Rike to help me in sticking them together and then I swing the hammer down. If this is steel, I need some borax, but thankfully, with Mithril, it seems that they will stick just like this. However, the temperature and the hammering are more rigorous than when I stretch things out normally. Compared to making new mithril armors, it’s hard to find a blacksmith who can do this.

After hitting it about 3 times, it has already deviated from the proper temperature. Since they barely stuck together, I put them in the fire bed as it is. I then adjust the position of the charcoal so that only the joint part is heated and then I send some wind in.

“This is hard.”

I muttered unintentionally.

“Do you think you can do it somehow?”

Liddy-san asked while squinting. I was so surprised by her voice coming from a close distance. Her face is actually quite close to me. Though I’m slightly flustered, I managed to reply to her,

“Well, it’s pretty hard but I think I can restore it. However, it will take a lot of time. I think two weeks is just about enough time.”

“So it’s really like that. Thank you very much.”

“No, it’s my job you see.”

I look back at the fire bed again. It’s about to reach a good temperature. When it reached the perfect temperature, I take it out again and hit it with a hammer. I carefully did that so the glittering part doesn’t fall apart for it not to have any gaps. With my cheat, I can see that if I hit it three times, it will stick a little. I’d like to increase the pace a little if possible, but if this collapses, all my work will be in vain. I put it in the fire bed again and start heating it up once more.

“Eizou-san can see the flow of magical power after all.”

This time, I heard Liddy-san’s voice from a distance.

“Is that so?”

“Yes. You’re hitting it that way so that the flow doesn’t break, right?”

“No. I mean, how do I say this…, I’m just trying to keep the glittering parts from falling apart you see.”

“That’s it!”

With a whoosh, Liddy-san approached me. Most of my field of vision is occupied by her sapphire-colored eyes framed by long eyelashes. She’s so close that I can feel her heavy nasal breathing on my skin. When I’m too pressured to move, Liddy-san straightened her posture.

“Ehem. Do pardon me. Anyway, that’s magical power. As expected, Eizou-san could detect it. It’s just that you didn’t know it.”

“I-It looks like it.”

When I’m hitting steel, I can see other things like its unbalanced structure, but I’ll keep that to myself.

“With this, one of my questions is answered.”

When I looked at Liddy-san, she has a friendly grin on her face, clearly in a good mood.

“Uhm, I’m glad to hear that.”

I replied awkwardly. I took the sword out of the fire bed and swing the hammer down once more.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


11 thoughts on “Chapter 81: Repair”

  1. As a note, I’m giving this a pass because Mythril is a fictional metal, but you CANNOT do this with steel swords. Repairing a shattered sword, depending on how it was constructed (and whether or not the metal itself was layered in a specific way, if at all) would either outright impossible (in the sense that either the pattern itself can no longer be replicated (damascus) or that the layering has a specific structural purpose (Japanese blades in general)) or can be done, by layering those broken pieces and forging them out…which will result in some cosmetic changes or a weaker blade overall if pieces are missing. Basically, if you shatter a sword, don’t bother, give it a warrior’s funeral and get yourself a new one all together.

    Like

    1. I mostly agree, but it’s worth pointing out that later medieval swords did not use pattern welding at all. Not because they got lazy or something, but because they had access to higher quality raw materials that just made it unnecessary.

      Those techniques (and yes, this includes all the folding involved in making katanas) were developed out of necessity primarily to deal with iron/steel with high levels and a lot of variability of impurities. With better raw steel it doesn’t actually do much besides add some pretty patterns in the blade.

      All that said, trying to reforge a blade like this is pretty much always going to result in something much weaker than the original. You are almost certainly better off melting down the original and reusing the raw material to make something from scratch.

      Like

      1. Yes..the one they are doing here is from LOTR where they made Anduril from the shards of Narsil..thats a complete fantasy way of remaking a sword…I remember Man-at-Arms did it the correct way..

        Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.