Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 80: Start of a communal life

As expected, Samia and Diana are back. Shortly after the naruko rang, the door connecting the workshop and the house opened.

“I’m home… oh, a customer?”

“Yeah, uhm…”

Diana asked. Speaking of that, I didn’t get to hear the woman’s name.

“My name is Liddy.”

The elf woman –Liddy-san stood up and bowed as greeting.

“She came here to ask me to repair her sword.”

I added. Then,

“My name is Diana. I am staying at Eizou’s workshop, I’m pleased to be your acquaintance.”

Diana, still in her easy-to-move clothes, greeted her with a bow (like how the nobles do their greeting gracefully). Well, regardless of her outfit, she likes greeting in such way. And yeah, it’s only natural because she is the Count’s daughter after all. I wonder if she’s wary because she didn’t include the Eimurl House’s name during her greeting though. But I think, that the fact that she’s from a high ranking family has already been revealed through her greeting.

“I am… called Samia…?”

Samia is kind of weird. It’s good if she remembers her. Shall I leave it to Diana…?

“I am an apprentice at Eizou’s workshop, my name is Rike.”

With a small bow, Rike greeted her flawlessly. Rike may be the only one who acts per usual here. But as she looks very young, it feels very unbalanced. Anyway, these are the members of my Eizou family.

“Well, Rike knows this already as she already heard about it but, uhm, this sword is so important that Liddy-san will stay with us during the repair period.”

“I’m sorry for the troublesome request…”

When Liddy-san said that, Diana was full of joy.

“You’re saying that I get to live with an elf!?”

She’s so thrilled. She even forgot to ask for her age first, she’s far more curious than Samia.

“N-No, it’s only like she’ll be supervising, it’s a little different from living here.”

“But she will be living together with us, right?”

“Well, yeah. She’ll be staying with us.”

“Then, it’s possible that she’ll live with us for a while, right?”

Ai, you’re already this elated so I wouldn’t argue with you anymore.

“Well, yeah. Speaking of that, while I’m preparing our dinner, Diana and Rike, please prepare the guest room.”

“Got it”

“Understood”

Diana and Rike nodded and went inside the house.

“Samia, what did you guys catch today?”

“Oh, some leaf birds. About 5 of them.”

As expected, since we still have enough meat on stock, they hunted for a smaller prey. Still, this will be convenient because each person can have one bird to fill their belly.

“Alright then, Samia let’s quickly pluck the feathers.”

“Okay”

Just as Samia and I were heading back to the house,

“Uhm……”

We were stopped by that thin voice.

“Can I help too?”

Liddy-san offered. I’m grateful that she offered to help but still a guest…

“I used to handle birds in the village so it’s fine.”

Is that so? It seems that the elves in this world usually eat meat huh. If she said that she only eats vegetables, I’ll be troubled because we only have dried root vegetables available here. This is such a relief because we cannot simply get a supply of those from the depths of this forest. Fruits can be managed to some extent but even though she’s a woman, it’s not enough for an adult to eat just one meal. Should I buy more vegetables the next time I go to Camilo’s shop?

“I’m grateful for that, it really helps. Can you please?”

“Yes”

When I said that, from the time she came here, Liddy-san smiled for the first time.

Me, Samia, and Liddy-san plucked the feathers of the birds. I boil water in a large pot and dip the birds in it then we plucked the feathers. It took a decent amount of them and when it’s finished, I cut the meat into parts using the knife. At that point, the guest room was also readied so I asked Liddy-san to leave her luggage in the guest room. Other than Liddy-san, the others took care of the tools we used while I prepare the supper in the meantime.

Liddy-san arrived today so I made the meal a little extravagant with bird sautéed in wine sauce. We also serve wine (sake for Rike) and we all prayed, “Itadakimasu” and saying, “Cheers”, we toast our cups.

Liddy-san seemed confused at first, but I explained that we often talk about what happened that day and that it was our custom to have dinner (although it’s the same for breakfast and lunch) in a lively atmosphere, she seemed to be convinced and she joins in the conversation from time to time. She may have to spend about two weeks here so I hope that she gets used in living here as much as possible.

The next morning, I finished fetching water and cleaned myself up. It was still a little crowded with five people washing in the tub, but I don’t feel as cramped as before. I wonder if the difference from when Helen was here was due to the difference in their body size.

After we were done, we had our breakfast next. The menu consisted of the usual root vegetables and salted meat soup, and unfermented bread. Liddy-san didn’t seem to have any complaints, and I secretly felt relieved. The most disheartening thing about a change in one’s living conditions is that the food is not to your liking...

Well, at least that’s what I think.

After our breakfast, I make a plan for the day’s work. I asked Samia and Diana what they wanted to do, and they said they wanted to watch me repair the sword too. It’s not like I’m going to reject them, so with Liddy-san’s permission, I consented.

Of course, Liddy-san, will be watching me work too. In other words, today is the day when everyone observes me work. Well, there’s nothing wrong with that either. I then lead everyone to the door of the workshop. 

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


10 thoughts on “Chapter 80: Start of a communal life”

  1. Thank you for the hard work! Your translation quality is superb; the clarity and accuracy, as well as occasional use of honorifics makes for an excellent and easy reading experience. I am eagerly looking forward to more!

    Like

  2. Hnnn.. slightly confused, do they wash themselves in the same tub? As in like nude, seeing one another or something else?

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.