Homeless Tensei: Isekai De Jiyuu Sugiru Majutsu Jisoku Seikatsu

Chapter 55: What is Ninjutsu?

After we arrived at the neighboring city, all of us were fascinated by the view. Crent City appears to be a completely different city compared to Mana.

“Whoa! There are lots of flowers!”

“Crent City is known as the City of Flowers after all. There will be many tourists here especially at this time of year.”

I look at the scenery while listening to the conversation between Erna and Freya. Flower fields fill the area around the city. Pink, yellow, and purple petals fly in the air every time a gentle wind blows. The sweet scent that drifts in the area makes my heart feel radiant.

“Father, what is that person doing?”

The person who Pero pointed at is sitting on the side of the road and was holding a sketchbook as his hand moves his pencil on it. Apparently, he is drawing the image of a flower garden.

“He is drawing the landscape. He’s probably a painter.”

“Heh-, I want to draw too.”

Pero look enthusiastic as he watches the painter. Seeing that, I begin to think about Pero’s future. If things go on as it is, it is possible that fighting will become my son’s only redeeming feature. If that happens, I will surely regret it.

“Alright, let’s buy a sketchbook for Pero.”

“Really!? Is that okay !?”

“Of course. If you have something you want to do, just say it.”

“Yehey!”

Pero was more than happy. Even if he is known as a sacred beast, he is still a child. Thus, he must cherish his childhood time. When we reached the entrance to the city, the soldier who was guarding the entrance blocked the way.

“Wait! You can’t let a magical beast go inside the town!”

I already expected this, we were stopped like this in Mana City too. Well, with Pero here and as we are riding on a black unicorn, our group would look suspicious.

We got off the unicorn and presented the card issued by the guild. After he received it, the soldier quickly confirms our identity and then he looks at us with a look full of shock.

“Y-You guys are those rumoured adventurers? Then… this child you have with you is the sacred beast ?”

“If you know about it, this conversation will be quick then. Pero is indeed that sacred beast, and we are riding a unicorn. I’ve heard that it’s okay for them to enter the city right?”

“Y-yeah. There’s no problem with that but… a black unicorn?”

The guard returned our adventurer cards but he is still tilting his head in confusion. Apparently, he is still wondering about the black unicorns but he let us through.

I’m not telling a lie because they are really a unicorn. It’s just that they have different color and ability. When we entered the city, many people were coming and going. The building structure here is similar to Mana, but overall, with the colorful flowers everywhere, it looks bright and beautiful.

“Whoa, the flowers sure are breathtaking!”

Erna and Pero watch happily as a flower-laden wagon passes nearby. It is a scene that makes me realize that this is indeed a foreign land.

“So where does the client live?”

Upon Freya’s question, I checked the copy of the request form.

“It was written as number 3 on the main street. The client seems to be Professor Jill.”

“Speaking of Professor Jill, isn’t he a prominent person in magical beast research?”

“Hoh-, is that so?”

“Yeah, he’s famous for astonishing the world by saying that goblins are demi-humans.”

By the way, when I appraised the goblins, I feel that there was such a description. It doesn’t matter to me if the goblins are magical beasts or is a demi-human, but there are races in the world that care about such trivial matters.

As we go down the main street, we found a store. Art supplies were displayed on it and several men, who are painters, I suppose, were looking at the products.

“Pero, shall we buy a tool for your painting too?”

“Yes!”

Leaving the unicorn to Erna and Freya, me and Pero enter the store. The store was filled with the smell of paper and paint. Even I, who’s not into painting pictures, felt intrigued.

“As expected, the paint is expensive.”

The blue paint I picked up is very expensive. The cause lies in the material that produces the color. Paints are made from stones and plants, but some of them are made from jewels and other powders. In that case, the price will inevitably rise.

The advent of cheap paints like today is only recent. In a different world where science and technology have not been developed, it seems that paints are naturally treated as expensive items.

“I just need a pen and paper.”

Pero saw the situation and only brought a pencil and a sketchbook. I am trully impressed such caring son.

“Don’t worry. My wallet still has a lot of gold coins in it.”

“Really? But, I just need this.”

It seems that Pero really only needs a pencil and a sketchbook. Well, I don’t really need to rush. We can just come here to buy it when he needs it. After I paid it, we joined Erna and Freya then we head to the professor’s house.

“This seems to be the 3rd street.”

The house Erna pointed to was a two-story, quite a luxurious one. The sign says Professor Jill, and the post has a number of envelopes that could be the letters for him.

“Is he not around?”

“Well, we will know by knocking on the door.”

 “Knock, knock”, Erna knocks on the front door. There was no reaction the first time.

“Can’t he hear me?”

After Erna knocked harder, the door finally opens up while someone from inside shouted, “Who is it! You’re so noisy!”. Wearing a red robe, a middle-aged man full of stubbles, peeked and glares at Erna, who was hitting the door.

“What?! Is this another aggressive peddling!? If that’s the case, go home!”

“No! You’re mistaken.  We are the adventurers that you nominated! We are here by your request!”

“Ah? Adventurer?”

The man gave Erna a ridiculous look. The conversation seems to be going for the worse so I gently placed myself between them.

“We are Homeless adventurer party. The other day, I accepted a nomination request from Professor Jill. Don’t you remember?”

“Homeless… Nomination request …”

The professor murmured. He did not seem to be lying, it appears that he can’t really remember.

Did he forget what he requested?

“I was asked to take a Lich’s skull…”

When I said so, the professor suddenly changed his expression.

“Yes! Yes! Lich’s skull! I’ve been waiting, get in, get in quickly!”

The professor opens the door widely and finally welcomes us into the house. For the time being, I left Freya and Pero outside. I can’t say that no one in Crent City would dare to aim for our unicorns after all.

After the professor guided us to the living room, we respectively took a seat. I took the Lich’s skull out of the bangle and put it on the table.

“This is the skull of the lich that we killed.”

“Indeed, this looks like a lich’s. How about the other bones?”

“If you need it, I can sell it too”

Then I take the Lich’s body out of the bangle. The professor begins to enthusiastically observe the bones on the table.

“It’s still firm and heavier than normal human bones, probably because it contains a lot of magical power. In that case, it may really have a built-in magical circuit that connects from the head like I expected.”

He showed a faint smile while he’s touching the bones. At times, people who are devoted to research really appear crazy. Professor Jill has that kind of atmosphere now.

“Uhm, Professor, can I get paid now?”

“Hn? Oh, were you still there? There is money in the cupboard over there. Take some home appropriately.”

When I opened the cupboard as instructed, gold coins and silver coins were kept there in a mess. Apparently, money doesn’t matter to him. After receiving the reward amount offered in the request, me and Erna decided to leave the house.

“That person is really weird.”

As soon as we leave the house, Erna spoke those words. I can understand what she wants to say. He’s definitely a creepy one. It’s really hard to understand why he wants the Lich’s bones.

“Welcome back, how was the reward?”

Freya asks while eating a balm fruit. I took out a few gold and silver coins from my pocket and showed them.

“By the way, what’s with them lying there?”

Five men were lying near Pero and Freya. All of them were holding knives and swords but they fainted with their eyes rolled back.

“They threatened us to take the unicorn, so Pero-sama and I put them to sleep.”

“Oh, I’m indeed right to leave Freya and Pero. Otherwise, the unicorns might have kicked them to death.”

“Indeed. They should be thankful for not being killed.”

Even in a town that seems to be safe, there are still people like this. It seems that it’s better to keep an eye on the area around the unicorn in the future.

“Hey Shinichi. What are we going to do now?”

“Hmm, we are done with our business here but there’s something I really want to find out. Can we roam around for a while?”

“Are you looking for the girl who had an incurable disease?”

“Yeah, I’m still curious about her.”

I want to know what happened to the work I received. Was the girl saved? Or, did she die? If she is still suffering from the illness, I want to help her in everything I can. I ask the passerby about Duffy and the girl who is suffering from an incurable disease as we walk.

“Duffy-san? That person lives in a house on the main street.”

After getting such important information from an old woman, we immediately headed to the house where Duffy lived. It was a house on the side of the main street. It’s a little old, but it looks like it is still in a good condition.

I immediately knock on the door of the house.

“Who is it?”

The man who opened the door is definitely Duffy.

“I’m the adventurer who you asked for help previously. Do you remember me?”

“Of course. Tanaka-dono of Homeless, right? So, what did you came here for today?”

“Actually, I was worried about the girl Duffy was treating so I came to hear the story. Can you tell me about it?”

Duffy thinks a little and smiles faintly.

“Then you can meet her in person.”

He got out of the house and then we started walking to somewhere with him. The direction we are heading to is towards the center of the town and I can see a large mansion.

“The mansion in the center of the town belongs to the Baron. We are heading there now.”

“Hn? Are we going to the Baron’s mansion?”

Inwardly, I’m totally baffled. I did not really consider it. However, the girl with the incurable disease turned out to be the daughter of an aristocrat!

Upon reaching the mansion, Duffy lightly greets the soldier guarding the gate and enters. Perhaps he is a doctor of this aristocrat family. Otherwise, he can’t go in with just his face as a pass. We also entered the mansion without any problems and a butler appeared and guided us to a room somewhere.

Upon arriving in front of the room, Duffy opened the door without hesitation.

“Liz, I brought you a visitor today.”

Duffy said to the girl lying on the bed in the room.

She’s a young child with her short blue hair. Her barely opened light-blue eyes shift their gaze to me after looking at Duffy.

“That……”

The girl’s mouth moves slightly and produced a small voice. However, I couldn’t completely hear what she had said.

“As you can see, Liz is weak and can’t speak properly.”

“Did you use the forked centipede as a medicine?”

“This illness has few precedents and limited treatments. It’s because of that medicine that she’s been able to speak this much now.”

What? Even after taking that medicine, her state is….

I was totally at lost for words.

“U…ugu…”

The girl gently stretches her hand. Her hand was very weak and it looks like it’s about to break. Then, a yellow dot appears on the girl’s forehead.

“…………Huh?”

I rubbed my eyes. As expected, it is not my imagination. A yellow dot indeed appeared on her forehead. Apparently, my skill, Life or Death technique, activated without me doing it.

“Excuse me”

I gently pressed on the girl’s forehead. With Erna as an example, it is better to push it.

“Argggghhhhhhhhh!!?”

Liz screamed and began to struggle.

“What the hell did you do!!?”

Duffy desperately holds Liz down. Liz struggles with a power that doesn’t seem to be of a little girl as she’s trying to free herself from Duffy. After a minute or so, Liz ultimately calmed down.

“What have you done…? I didn’t let you meet Liz to…”

Duffy drops his shoulder and his expression darkens. However, I had this strange confidence. –That Liz has recovered.

“I’m hungry…”

Liz who got up from the bed spoke in a small voice. Duffy was stunned at first, but gradually turned into a crying face and hugged Liz.

“Yes, I did it! I diiiiiid iiiit!”

“Duffy-san, you’re noisy……”

With her eyes half-closed, Liz appeared to be indifferent towards Duffy who’s making a fuss. She doesn’t look like the girl who was very weak until a while ago.

I suddenly got curious so I decided to analyze Liz.

【Analysis Result: Liz Schmidt: The third daughter of the Schmidt family. She has been lying on the bed since she was 11 years old but she finally recovered. She originally hated troublesome things so she is annoyed by the racket beside her bed: Rarity B】

【Status】
Name: Liz Schmidt
Race: Human
Age: 15 years old
Magic Attribute: Water
Magic: Aqua ball, Aqua arrow, Aqua wall, Aqua Cure
Skills: Ninjutsu (Beginner), Body Strengthening (Beginner), Eyesight Enhancement (Intermediate), Shinobi’s Vessel
Evolution: Does not meet the conditions
[Evolution Condition: Swordsmanship (Advanced), Ninjutsu (Intermediate), Taijutsu B (Advanced)]

Liz didn’t seem to be an ordinary child. Her skills are clearly different from that of an average person.

Above all, what is Ninjutsu?

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


1 thought on “Chapter 55: What is Ninjutsu?”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.