Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 86: Additional facility

Nothing in particular happened from the time we left Camilo’s shop to the time we got home. Well, except that Liddy-san attracted the attention of the people in the town. She’s a beautiful woman to begin with. I’m not sure if it’s because she’s an elf though. And yeah, the worst thing that could have happened is if Liddy-san gets into trouble so I was relieved that it didn’t happen.

When we got home, all of us carried the luggage inside. The Apoitakara was also placed inside the workshop. Liddy-san also helped in carrying some light things like root vegetables inside the house.

After bringing the things inside, we’ll have a free time as per usual. Well, even if I say that today is a time off, going to the city kind of feel like we are still doing some work. I’m currently working on a custom made order but I already notified Liddy-san about this beforehand. Thus, I decided to spend the day like usual.

I thought about dealing with the Apoitakara, but since it is a blacksmithing job, I decided to put it off and make something I wanted to do in the workshop. I went to the workshop and collected the leftover wood from making the scabbard. Some are reasonably sized, which seems to be enough for what I wanted to make.

Leaving it to the sharpness of the knife, I cut out the parts from the wood. This sharpness was also related to magical power. From now on, I’ll have to be more conscious of this when I make custom orders. It took a long time to cut them out because I cut it in a way that they could be assembled only by fitting them together, without using any nails. Well, I still managed to secure some time for assembly. I then started assembling it right after.

Eventually, though it was weird in a way, I completed something like a miniature house. It is palm-sized. I’m not that familiar with the format, so I just made it in a way that it would look like a house. However, I don’t think there’s something in this world that would settle on it (at least there’s nothing that corresponds to that in my installed knowledge). Anyway, this should be good for the time being.

I then make a shelf out of a piece of wood, attach it to the wall, and place the miniature house (something like it) on top of it. A “simple Kamidana” was then completed. As a former Japanese, I felt uncomfortable because there was no Kamidana in this place. That’s the reason why I made one. It may be better to have it placed inside the house, but personally, I feel that it’s more appropriate to put it in a workshop like this. (TLYN: Kamidana(神棚) – household altar)

I don’t know if there’s a god in this world or none, but I hope they will magnanimously look after this. I’m not sure if there is a God in this world that would settle inside it though.

From the kitchen, I fill a small plate and a small cup with salt and water respectively. I then put them on the shelf together. I’ll have to add changing its contents to my morning routine. After I made a simple bow to the altar, I clapped my hands and got ready to prepare our dinner.

The next morning, after I fetched water, I first took the water and salt in the Kamidana and replaced them with a new one. It’s a waste to throw them away, so I used it for making the soup for breakfast.

The rest of the activities did not change that much until we finished our breakfast.

After breakfast, I discussed the tasks for today. Naturally, I will continue to work on the Mithril sword. However, from today, I’ll have Rike, Samia, and Diana make the general models for a while. We will be delivering the items two weeks later but we need a good number of items for delivery.

Liddy-san decided to study my work by observation, or should I say she’ll be watching me. Anyway, it’s decided that she’ll do something like that.

When I entered the workshop, I first went in front of the Kamidana. I bowed to it two times, clapped twice and then I bowed one more time. I prayed for the safety of today’s work. I don’t know if there is someone who will receive this prayer but I feel that it can smoothly soothe my heart and mind if I have something like this. With this alone, it’s worth making this Kamidana.

As I am worshiping (something like that), Rike talks to me,

“Boss, what are you doing now?”

“I’m praying to God, it’s a ritual that is passed down to my family in the North.”

“To that weird house-like structure?”

 “That’s… right. Well, it’s like a simple altar that’s being set up inside the house.”

 “Heh-, there is a custom like that in the North huh.”

“I guess my family is the only one doing that. I don’t know how effective it is either.”

As Rike’s curiosity has been piqued, I readily answered her questions.

“Does Eizou-san have a family name?”

Liddy-san, who was listening to our conversation, also asked a question. Speaking of which, I didn’t tell her that huh.

“Yes, I do have one. However, as you can see, I have a special circumstance so I am living in this place.”

“I see… So that was why you don’t usually use your family name.”

“Yeah, it is as what you have said.”

Liddy-san murmured and nods her head indicating her agreement. I think she has this personality that she can’t help but to make sure to confirm what’s on her mind.

“Boss, can we also do what you did earlier?”

“Hn? Ah, yeah. I don’t mind. It’s not like it’s a secret.”

Rike asked hesitantly but I gladly agreed. Well, it’s better to do this with the whole family.

“Can I join as well?” Liddy-san also asked, I agreed of course.

I taught the four of them the two bows, two claps, and a third bow, like I did earlier. A beastman, a dwarf, a human, and an elf. The fact that people of different races and origins is doing the same thing like this, just like when we said “Itadakimasu”, really strikes home.

In this way, one more “usual” was added to our family.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


6 thoughts on “Chapter 86: Additional facility”

  1. i just started reading this today and i couldnt stop, thanks for the chapter and i cant wait for the next one ^^.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.