Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 89: Work is progressing

I heat the Mithril sword and hit it with a hammer to slightly change its shape. Basically, this is repeated many times. I compare it with the shape in the mold before I started hammering. I fully utilize my cheat to control the hammer so that it takes that shape.

The clear sound of the hammer echoed inside the workshop all day long today.

On this day, I was able to complete about 1/3 of the process of shaping the sword. I think it now looks like a sword a little. It will take another three days I guess. This means that it will take another three days to shape it, and then three or four days to finish it. With this, I’ll be able to meet the two-week deadline with a bit of time to spare. However, I don’t think I’ll be able to make the wholesale products in time. It’s a good thing that I skipped one week of delivery. At this pace, it would be possible to take a day off in between.

The next day,

When I came back after fetching water, Liddy was not there. During our breakfast, I asked her about that in a way that the other three would not understand. In summary, she replied that “it doesn’t have to be every day”. Well, otherwise it will be difficult to replenish the magical power until she got here. I guess that makes sense.

Today’s work is basically the same as yesterday. I did what I had done yesterday morning and then I start working for the day’s quota. The sound of fire and hammer echoes inside the workplace.

Well, when they work, Rike, Samia, and Diana are not really working silently. They talk about something as they do their job. Sometimes, Rike is quiet when she has to concentrate and except for that, they talk about our everyday life here. Like when we do repairs and they also talk about Diana’s life in the Capital.

That does not interrupt my concentration so I didn’t say anything about it in particular. Well, since I can’t work while playing music on my smart phone like what I used to do in the previous world, this is like an alternative to a radio.

As for me, I also talk to Liddy-san from time to time. Our topic is mostly about food. When I talk, Liddy-san either answers or nods. Today, I asked her something that has been bothering me for a long time.

“If it’s alright with you, can you answer my question?”

 “Okay”

While the reddish and hot mithril was reflected in her green eyes, Liddy-san replied to show that she’s paying attention to me.

“Why did this break in the first place?”

Even with my cheat, it is something difficult to make. It is not that hard to see that it would have been a considerable work from the start. And if it indeed is, it wouldn’t be something that would break that easily. Thus I was wondering what would be the cause for it to be broken into pieces of various sizes.

What did she do for such sharp mithril sword to break? If I can replicate it, I would like to reproduce the process and make something that does not break. It was a question that was purely out of my interest as a craftsman.

Liddy-san looks down a little. Maybe she’s wondering if she should answer. After a while, she stared at me.

“I can’t give you too many details because it’s related to magic. However, by following certain procedures, mithril weapons can be used for magic by drawing out the magic power on it. That’s why, just in case of emergency, this sword was kept in the village as a prized possession. Something happened in the village so I had to use it, but once you use it beyond the limit it could take, it would…..”

“Break huh”

When I finished it, Liddy nodded.

I see, that’s why she “wanted to restore it” and that’s also why she seek out someone “who is good at weaving magical power”.

Unless you are a human being (well, either for an elf or a dwarf) who can put in more than a certain amount of magical power into it, it cannot fulfill the role of a “magical battery”. On the other hand, regardless whether it could fulfill the role of a battery, it is probably an important cultural property of the village so it is not possible to leave it unrepaired.

“I see……”

While saying that, I swing the hammer down toward Mithril, and then I put it back on the fire bed. I was a little off the mark. We can’t break it in the way that Liddy-san had just said. Well, there is no way to prevent it from breaking in the first place.

It’s like “Prince Rupert’s Drop”. We can hit the tadpole’s head, but we can’t break the tail. Furthermore, breaking the tail means that there is no way to prevent the whole thing from breaking.

That doesn’t mean that what we talked was meaningless though. I can say that I even got a good harvest. She omitted the method of drawing out the magical power on it (well, it is probably a secret of their village or their race per se), but the fact that mithril can be used as a magical battery is a useful enough information.

And as for the event that happened in her village, Liddy-san did not try to give the specific details. I could easily see that it was not something that I should force out of her, so I said, “I understand it now. Thank you very much.” I thanked her and decided not to talk about it anymore.

The next day, the general shape was finally completed. Of course, compared to the wooden model, there were still some minor discrepancies. However, it was almost as good as the original. All that remains is to see how far I can take this thing to perfection.

I then tapped my face with both of my hands to brace myself even further.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


4 thoughts on “Chapter 89: Work is progressing”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.