Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 90: Start finishing

Here’s two bonus chapter in thanks to John Gold. Thanks for offering to buy me Starbucks coffee! Enjoy reading!


From today, I will finally start finishing it. Before I start working, I look at the sword carefully to see what needs to be fixed. It now looks like a sword compared to how it was at the beginning. I checked it several times and there seems to be no particular loss of magic power. I need to keep it in this state for the final touches.

I then placed the sword in the fire bed and use my cheat to adjust the placement of the charcoals and the way the wind is blowing so that only the area to be processed is heated. When it reaches a workable temperature, I take it out and hit it with a hammer. I hammered it as usual and compare it with the wooden pattern to make sure it is the same. I did this repeatedly.

Samia and Diana are out hunting today. So the conversation during work is between me, Rike, and Liddy-san. While I’m comparing the sword to the wooden pattern, Rike and Liddy-san talk to each other. Rike’s work for today is to make general model knives.

At first, the conversation between the two of them was awkward, but it seems that they are beginning to talk smoothly now, probably because they have been living together for about a week.

“I’m not good at grasping the flow of magical power like Boss…”

“I heard that many dwarves are better at grasping the state of the ore itself than magical power.”

“What should I do to become like Boss even a little?”

“It appears that he is far beyond the capability of a normal person so it may be difficult to aim for him…..”

“Un, I know that. But having some tips would be nice.”

“…Well then, I wouldn’t be here for a long time, but let’s train during that time.”

“Is it really okay? No, please do!”

Rike bowed and Liddy-san smiled, looking a little embarrassed. I had that look before too. With the knowledge from my previous world, dwarves and elves are two races that are often in conflict. It’s good that they become friends, with one teaching and the other being taught. In this way, while Rike is working, Liddy-san taught her about magical power for a while.

She stopped supervising my work saying, “I already know Eizou-san’s skill, so I know it will be fine.” However, even after saying that, she sometimes glanced at this side, it appears that at the very least, she is checking my work.

If that’s the case, I can be confident in my work. It would be troublesome if after working to a certain extent, I will be told that this is different and that is different. How many times have I been pushing that down my throat in the previous world?…. Sigh, I’ll just be sad, so let’s stop here. It’s just a matter of having Liddy-san check it from time to time.

On this day, I was able to finish the work with the progress I had planned. Rike’s progress however was not that good as she had to practice watching the magic power. The next delivery is still a long way off and we have not guaranteed the amount to be delivered in the first place so it’s okay.

What is more important is for Rike to grow and be able to make high-end models. If she can do so, it will be possible to divide the work. For example, I will mass-produce the general models with priority on speed and Rike on the other hand can make high-end model ones. In this way, I hope she will gradually gain confidence that she can return to her parents’ workshop.

After cleaning up the workshop, Samia and Diana were also back. They didn’t have anything in particular with them, so they must have caught a big one. When I asked them, they replied that they killed a big boar. It seems that Diana has been playing the “beater” role again today. It would be better for them to be able to switch roles or play the same role so that they have more options. It seems that the two of them have been practicing archery in their free time so I’ll have to make a bow for Diana too.

Well, on the side note, Diana was lamenting that she didn’t see the baby wolf.

The next morning, the five of us left the house together. Of course, we are not going to the town, but to collect the boar. Liddy-san could have stayed at home, but she insisted on coming with us so we decided to let her go with us. There’s nothing strange about it though.

Samia and Diana take the lead. Liddy-san and Rike, who gives off a MAX dwarf impression as she holds an axe, were in the middle. I am at the rear, keeping an eye out just in case. Shortly after, we arrived at the place where they sank the boar. A rather large boar is sunk there. Me, Samia and Diana pull it up to the shore of the lake, while Rike cuts down a tree to make a carrier. Rike alone was more than enough to cut down the tree, so I asked Liddy-san to help in tying up the rope.

Thanks to her, the carrier was ready by the time we pulled it up. We pulled the boar up and fixed it on the carrier, and after a short rest, we took the boar home. I pondered if I should ask Liddy-san to help us in pulling the boar, but she is not that strong so I decided not to. And yeah, it’s easy to overlook it, but she is still a guest.

When we got home, we started to skin and dismantle it into meat. Other than Liddy-san, we all have a custom made knife, so except for her, I work with the others in consideration of work efficiency. If we split up the work, the meat would be ready in no time.

Liddy-san doesn’t seem to have any particular feeling of repulsion in this kind of work so it seems that the same thing is being done in the elf village. They seem to live a life that’s basically the same with the humans, except that they live in areas with abundant magical power, including forests, out of necessity.

While we were working, I asked Rike about that too and she said that most dwarves are blacksmiths by trade, so they live in areas close to mines and the like. It appears that their lives are not all that different from humans either. Unlike elves, they don’t need magical power, so there are some “oddballs” who occasionally go into town to start a business or start a journey as apprentices. I wonder what about the other races, such as the lizardmen I saw in the capital. I’d like to know about them if they ever come as guests.

With that in mind, I returned to the house to clean up and prepare lunch.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


4 thoughts on “Chapter 90: Start finishing”

  1. I don’t know where the fantasy trope of elves not eating meat came from. Isn’t the food chain an important part of nature? Why wouldn’t a race of people who live in forests hunt and eat animals?

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.