Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 91: Please look at it

After dividing the boar meat into those that will be preserved and those that will be consumed soon, I start preparing our lunch. I sautéed it in blueberry sauce with a little brandy that has blueberries (although to be exact, “something like it”) soaked in it. It seems to be well-liked as usual.

After lunch, I started the afternoon’s work. Naturally, I will still be finishing up the mithril sword, Rike will be working on the knife and Liddy-san on the other hand is working on her magic training while checking on me from time to time. Samia and Diana are practicing archery in the garden.

I put the sword, which is already very close to its wooden form, in the fire bed to heat it. Of course, I fully utilized my cheat. When it’s hot enough, I take it out, hammer it a few times to change its shape a little and compare it to the wooden pattern to make sure it’s exactly as I want it to. I’m going to do this repeatedly today. It’s a steady process, so it seems like I’m doing exactly the same thing. When I compare it with the wooden pattern, I feel that it’s getting closer to it, albeit little by little.

When the mithril is out of the best temperature range that can be processed, I heat it again. In the meantime, glancing at Rike (and Liddy-san), it seems that they are also improving little by little. It seems that the knife that Rike is hitting is now somehow glittering, that means that the magical power is increasing… Of course, that’s just how it looks, and I’ll have to take a closer look at it later to see how it really is.

If Rike continues to improve and is able to put in a lot of magic power, the high-end model will have two outcomes. A general model is one that has only ordinary processing and little magic, while a high-end model is one that has been processed to the fullest extent, or one that has ordinary processing but a lot of magic. Special orders are both.

However, if possible, I would like Rike to be able to make a high-end model that uses only the material itself and process it to the maximum. This is because it is more likely to contain magic, and it is a technique that can be applied in areas where magic is scarce. In fact, if I’m to say it, the heirloom sword of the Eimurl family that I forged was a steel sword of considerable prowess even before it was turned into magical power. I want her to aim for that first, and then think about taking it one step further after that.

But I’m too much of a cheat to be able to teach her anything concrete. While Liddy-san is still here, I’ll let her learn what she can learn, and I’ll take care of getting the materials for her to use afterwards. I thought about this while I was doing the whole process. If Samia were here, she might say, “Eizou is thinking so seriously again”. I chuckled to myself and decided to concentrate on my work.

The next day,

Me, Rike, and Liddy-san did the same thing. Samia and Diana are going to gather some stuff so I ask them to bring something for me as well. We all bowed and clapped to the Kamidana and prayed for safety during the work and gathering.

Now then, let’s start today’s work.

The work itself is exactly the same as yesterday. The scene and sounds are the same. Liddy-san teaches Rike about magic. Liddy-san is a bit taller and Rike is shorter. At first glance, it looks like a mother teaching her daughter. The kind of happiness that I couldn’t find in my previous world, I guess I can say I found it in this one. I felt as if my heart, which had been frozen to keep concentrating on the same work for a while now, was being loosened.

With this day’s work, I could almost say that the work is now almost complete. Even when I compared it with the wooden pattern, there is almost no difference. It could be said to be completed, but if I use the cheat function, I can clearly see that it is not yet complete. I’ll finish it by tomorrow.

While I was cleaning up the workshop, Samia and Diana came back. Today’s harvest included raspberries, peaches and,

“Did you pick the one I asked for?”

“Yeah, was this all right?”

“Yes, thank you.”

The mint that Samia has picked up this time is a whole strain of mint. I’ll soak it in the water for today and plant it in the courtyard the day after tomorrow. If it is the same as mint, it should be able to thrive on its own. It was hydroponically cultivated in the previous world and it even overgrown. I’ll think about it if it did not grow. If I can grow it, I’ll be looking forward to drinking mint tea.

The next day,

I will be putting the final touches on my work today so the other four decided to stop their own work to observe me work. We all paid our respects to the Kamidana. We bowed and clapped our hands in prayer for the safety of the work and the completion of today’s work. I feel a sudden change in me. With this mindset, I felt that lighting the fire bed, which I had been doing until now, was somewhat like a ritual.

It’s been a little past noon, and there’s almost nothing to fix. Finally, I compared it with the wooden pattern, identify it with the cheat, and finish it completely.

There was still one last step to be done. Sharpening. The shape of the sword is already like the original one, but it cannot cut because it does not have a blade. I then use my cheat to carefully and deliberately attach the blade. During sharpening, it will naturally be worn down and it may lose some of its magic power, so I use all of my concentration to sharpen it. I could feel the hard edge of the blade in my hand, and I could hear the glassy clang of the blade, a different sound from when I struck it with the hammer.

“Okay, that’s it.”

When I said that, the four of them, including Liddy-san, cheered. Looking at the finished product once more, I can be sure that the original shape of this sword was like this.

“Liddy-san”

“Yes”

“It’s done. Please look at it.”

“Yes. Well then…”

After handing over the sword, Liddy-san began to check it with a gaze that she is as if looking at each piece of tissue. I’m confident that it will be fine, but I can’t help but get nervous because this is a job request. It’s not Liddy-san’s fault, but it’s because the original shape is also based on my own assumptions. If it doesn’t fit, then this will be a failure in my opinion. In that case, I may have to redo it, and in some cases, I may not be able to meet the deadline. When I think about that, my body gets nervous more and more. The three girls seem to feel the same way as they stare at Liddy-san intently. I appreciate the sentiment, but if you stare too much, it might make it harder for Liddy-san to check it you know.

Then Liddy-san gently placed the sword on the table. She finished checking it. I too stared at Liddy-san. For a moment, she seemed to flinch seeing the four of us staring at her intently. But right after she regained her composure,

“Thank you. It’s more than what I could have hoped for.”

She said so.

“Yey!”

Samia stands up in delight and hugs Rike and Diana. Of course, I’m happy too. However, there is one thing I was concerned about.

“Uhm, what do you mean by “more than what you have hoped for”…?”

It wasn’t out of anger or sadness, it was purely a question that I wanted to ask.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


7 thoughts on “Chapter 91: Please look at it”

  1. Thanks for the chapter.

    I also want to know what she means by ‘So much more than I hoped for’. I wonder if there are supposed to be romantic undertones here.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.