Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 101: Probing

“Well then, this time, this is just between us but,”

As Camilo said that, his voice became a little softer. We then leaned forward.

“I think you already predicted this to some extent, the need for such a large number of swords means that many soldiers are on the move.”

“Un, I guessed so…”

That is indeed the case huh. Even if I say that Camilo is only extensively running his business, a situation where 40 longswords are suddenly needed only means that the soldiers are making a move somewhere, regardless of whether it is the national military or a private army.

“And given that, though I don’t think that there will be any problems with the sword you brought, the buyer of those longswords asked me to tell you to serve in the military if possible.”

“Hmm”

“Although it is a military service, there is almost no danger because you will be accompanying the supply unit in the rear.”

“Then, is my main job to repair at the destination they are moving to?”

“As expected, you immediately get what I mean. That’s right.”

“For how long?”

“It’s about 9 days or so at the longest. It will take 3 days going there, then you’ll work for 3 days and then the travel time going back would also took 3 days. If it’s done in 1 day, you can come back in a week time.”

“Hmm……”

If that’s the case it would be okay to leave the house to the three of them and be away for that long. Well, as for the problem with their meal, they’ll solve it somehow. I wouldn’t be able to take all three of them, and I can’t take only one of them either. I don’t want to leave just one person at home so the option of taking two people with me is out of the question. In that case, it would be better for me to go alone.

“Would it be okay if I go alone? Do I need an assistant or something?”

“No, there’s no need to because the supply unit is one group. Meals and other things are done by dedicated personnel and so is the setting up of the tents. Although it will be open-air, Eizou’s job is to set up the fire bed and the anvil.”

“I see. Then, all I really need to do is follow them around and fix their items huh.”

“Yeah”

“Last question, where does the army belong to and what are they going to do?”

“Let me answer what they are going to do first. It’s a monster subjugation expedition.”

“It’s not a war?”

“Sometimes there are skirmishes, but there is currently no battle in this country where we have to send some troops and pull out more than 40 people. Next, where they belong right?”

Camilo made a short pause there.

“It’s Count Eimurl’s. The king has entrusted some soldiers to him and he was asked to go there and form a subjugation team.”

I could see Diana gasping a little. I see. It was Marius huh……. I’m not saying this to brag, but he knows how capable I am. So of course, he’ll want to take me with him. It is not that hard to see that it would be safer to have someone who knows your family history by your side in case of emergency.

“Count Eimurl’s House was originally a House that got their title and family name after becoming known for subduing monsters and well, there’s the dispute part about their inheritance. The Marquis once said that there’s no problem and something openly problematic never occurred but it would be less likely that he will encounter trouble later if he achieved results here.”

“I see.”

I’m grateful that he explained this matter because it doesn’t reach me, a blacksmith who lives in isolation from the world. And truthfully, I’m not from a noble family. Anyway, Marius is in pinch again huh.

“If that’s the case I will be happy to participate.”

Diana looked a little relieved this time. She’s one of the few people who know that I have good swordsmanship. I guess she feels relieved knowing that I would be there if Marius needs me.

“By the way, when will it start?”

“I heard that you could go straight to the Capital after your delivery next week. I’ll be sending you there with my wagon.”

“Is that so? I thought it would be more urgent.”

I thought in worst case, I would be asked to set off today.

“Well, there will be something like group organization and minimum training.”

“Oh-, that’s right.”

Marius is also at a platoon level so he probably has little experience in commanding. Even if he has been preparing for a while, it’s always better to go with a good preparation unless it’s very urgent.

And since the monster subjugation is not that urgent, the soldiers who have been sent to him are probably almost like recruits. If all goes well, he can take some nobles with experience in leadership and soldiers with practical experience. And in the worst case, it will come to an extent that the country will be reorganized. In that case, it would be a hard blow for the Eimurl House.

“Well, I understand the story. I’ll be ready.”

Basically, my mission is of course, to repair their items while I’m in military service. However, the mission behind it is to bring Marius back safely. I think there are times when that can’t be helped, but even in that case, I would like to make it my top priority to bring him back safely as much as possible. To do this, the soldiers need to be fully equipped. It should be also in the category of general model as much as possible. The high-end model has some magical elements involved and it takes time for me to do it.

Around the time we are done with the conversation about the military service, Clerk-san returned with a pouch in his hand.

“Are you sure you want to buy the same things as usual?”

“Yeah. I want you to prepare for two weeks worth of those next week though.”

“Got it. Then, today’s payment is this.”

Camilo gives me the pouch that Clerk-san brought. It was heavy when I hold it, so I checked it and I found out that even if I subtracted the amount of the items I bought today, it is still way too much for 55 longswords.

“Isn’t this too much?”

“It includes the fee for rushing you and it also contains the inconvenience fee he gave you for “that time”. Don’t worry about it because it’s something that you are supposed to receive.”

A fee for hurrying me and for that time when I forged the heirloom huh. It would become complicated again if I return this.

“Understood, thank you.”

I received the pouch and then we left Camilo’s store.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


7 thoughts on “Chapter 101: Probing”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.