Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 102: Departure

After we got home, we spent the next six days like usual. Following the usual schedule, we worked on the production, hunting, eating etc. Thus we made a week’s worth of deliverables as usual. I could have worked on the production efficiently but I don’t have to do that unless it’s necessary.

Though I was once away from home for a certain period of time before, everyone’s reaction to that is just like their father is going on a business trip. They are not particularly worried about me.

Morning of the delivery day,

After we loaded the deliverables like usual, I also pack the hammer I habitually use, some dried meat just in case, and a piece of cloth (sterilized by boiling) to be used as a bandage in my usual bag. Those are in preparation for my departure after the delivery. More or less, it will covered by the other party. …In my previous world, it comes with a meal fee, transportation expenses and accommodation fee. That said, the level is completely different. As for the appearance fee, I hope I can negotiate directly with the other party which is Marius.

We then head to the town like how we normally do. We proceed while being vigilant inside the forest and on the main road. And as usual, we were able to arrive at Camilo’s shop without any problems. Nothing special happens each time (well, we do come across a deer or a wild boar but they quickly run away or move out of our way, we did encounter a caravan on the road too). Even so, we should always be vigilant because as soon as we neglect to do so, problems will definitely occur.

After we arrived at Camilo’s shop, the procedure is basically the same as usual. Well, at least the process of confirming our delivery and our purchase are the same. Since I’ll be going on a trip this time, we will not come for the next delivery so the big difference is that the amount of our purchase will be for two weeks instead of one week. After all that exchange, it’s time for the departure.

As for the horse and clay, it will be settled in another time. It will probably be two weeks at the earliest. In any case, it’s not something that I needed now. As for the clay we have on stock, he told me to use it in making knife mein** so it should last for a while. And in the unlikely event that it runs out, I’m told that normal knife will do.

(TLYN: I just literally translated it as I’m not sure, ナイフメイン – knife mein, please do comment if you know =))

“Well then, let’s go.”

Camilo urges when the conversation is over.

“Alright. Let’s go.”

All of us left the room and then we head to the warehouse. In front of our cart loaded with our luggage, there is the wagon from Camilo’s store with two horses in front of it, our cart is connected at the back.

“My wagon will pull you guys halfway. I’ll be loading a decent amount of luggage on my way home from the Capital so it will be fine with just this much.”

Since he said so, I did not hesitate and I took his words for it. We all got into our own cart. Shortly after, the wagon we are connected to departs. Although it is rattling and shaking, we slowly proceed through the town with a much higher line of sight than usual. Rather than because it’s heavy, the reason why the wagon is not moving that fast yet is because we are still inside the town so it would be dangerous if we speed up.

“As expected, it’s convenient if a horse pulls it.”

“Right”

I said that while looking at the changing townscape and Rike replied back to me. After I told Camilo that I am going to procure a horse, I realized that I had forgotten to bring up the matter about the coachman. Thankfully, it seems that Rike could handle it to some extent. She told me that her family use a fairly large wagon when going to the workshop and that Rike acted as a coachman once in a while. It seems that she took care of the horses at their home too.

Thinking about it, if several families were all working together in the smithy, there would be a certain number of deliveries and no matter how powerful the dwarves were, it would be inefficient for them to pull a cart by themselves. It would be more natural to use wagons. So, even if the horse arrives, it seems that I don’t have to panic for the time being.

When we are leaving the town, we waved and greeted the guard we are acquainted with, he waved over to us as well. He is not using a halberd today as well. Perhaps because of the matter with the subjugation team, Marius doesn’t have much time to get around to it. Combined with that, I would like to actively cooperate and get the job done so that I can come home quickly.

The speed of the wagon increases as we reach the main road. There are no sharp curves here so the speed is faster than I expected. At least much faster than walking speed.

I think it was faster because the last time I rode it coming back from the Capital, the load was mostly just me (and Dianna), but even if it is now considerably heavier than that, we can proceed faster regardless. I don’t think we could go this fast inside the forest but it would still be easier and quicker. I wish I had introduced the horse earlier.

We arrived at the entrance of the forest much earlier than usual. This is where I’ll say goodbye to my family. After reconfirming our plans for the next week or so, we gave each other a quick hug and then I said “I’m going now”. Well, it’s not like we’re parting for good. I then get inside Camilo’s wagon, which had been separated from our own, and when I looked back, I saw everyone seeing us off at the entrance to the forest so I waved lightly.

With a much lighter weight, the horses energetically gallops along the road towards the Capital. When we came back from the capital, we had only one horse because we didn’t have much luggage, but this time, perhaps because we had two horses, it feels like we are moving faster than that time. The scenery I saw before (on our way back) was a little more exciting.

And then while I’m looking at the view of the outer wall of the Capital and the mountains rising like a larger wall beyond it, which I thought I might never see again, I entered the Capital once again.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


10 thoughts on “Chapter 102: Departure”

  1. wouldn’t it basically be another way of saying the knifes blade? basically because mien in another work for face or at least the face you put forward/demeanour, so the knifes mien would be the knifes face put forward aka the blade? that or something to do with the etching on the blade

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the chapter! For some reason, I’m a bit surprised that the girls didn’t have as big of a reaction to seeing him off. Excited for his blacksmithing adventures with the army~

    Like

  3. I think knife main means focusing mainly on knifes. A sword uses up more clay so if he focused only in making knifes, he saves a lot of clay. But i could be wrong and its a type of knife.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, knife would indeed use less clay but I’m thinking it’s a type of a knife because the following text says that in case they ran out of clay just the normal knife will do.
      Here’s the complete line hehe. Do correct me if my understanding is wrong.
      粘土の在庫については、ナイフメインで作るように言ってあるから、なんとかもつだろうし、万が一無くなったらナイフだけでもいいとは言ってある。

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.