Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 113: Super busy

Now that I’ve finished the maintenance of Oyasan’s kitchen knives, I’m ready to finish the spearhead.

The temperature of the fire bed, which had dropped during the maintenance of the kitchen knife, is raised again by operating the bellows. Charcoals hold its heat well so there was no need to reignite it.

I grabbed the spearhead with the pincers and put it in the fire bed, add some charcoal and then I send in some wind. The flames that died down come back to life and it then raised the temperature of the spearhead.

Eventually, the cheat detected that the temperature had risen to a level suitable for quenching. I then quickly removed it from the fire bed and placed it in the water to quench it.

From the pincers that I held in my hand, I felt that the steel was getting harder. From that feeling, the cheat tells me that it’s time so I took it out of the water. Steam then rises from the spearhead as if it started breathing slowly.

After that, I polished the fine bumps on it with the whetstone. Then I sharpened it to attach a blade to it. This now completes the spearhead. Looks like the troops that went to the cave haven’t returned yet, I’ll go look for a suitable handle then.

I left the branch office and head to the wagon loaded with the materials from the Eimurl Family. If it’s about the things on that wagon, I don’t have to inform Miss Frederica and if anything happens, I guess I’ll just have to reimburse Marius directly in the worst case…

And so, I’ll use it properly.

I don’t know when the troops that went to the cave will come back so I have to find one quickly. When I was rummaging inside the wagon, I found a collection of rods of various lengths. These are probably not the ones used to prevent attacks, but the leftovers from the ones used for the fence around this place.

In that case, they probably won’t be used anymore. I don’t think we’ll change places so there won’t be a need for additional fences. I then took out a rod that was a little longer than it should be, and returned to the branch office.

When I returned to the branch office, I cut off the rod I brought to turn it to the right length. The other piece that I cut off will be used for other purpose. I pushed the tip of the rod in the part of the spearhead that was opened to insert the handle and crimp it. This then completes the spear. I did not make a butt end though. Well, it wouldn’t be used in an actual battle either.

As for the short end of the rod―I mean, the scrap. I used my knife and hollowed it out to make a miniature cup. I then filled it with water from the canteen and placed it on the shelf where the statue of the goddess is placed. I then placed the spear below the pillar where the kamidana is placed as an offering.

It would be better not to come to such a situation, but I hope I can get the blessings of this goddess if I should ever use this spear. Well, the problem is that I don’t even know what kind of goddess she is.

Just when I thought I was running out of things to do, Matis came over.

“I want you to fix the horseshoes, is that okay?”

“Hn? Oh, sure.”

I won’t earn money on it but I don’t see a reason to refuse. Thus I accepted it. I thought I’d have more time on my hands, but I guess I’m kind of busy today.

When I agreed, Matis handed me some horseshoes. I checked them with the cheat and found that they were indeed distorted. I don’t need to heat them up so I’ll just hit them directly in the anvil and fix them.

“It’s a good horseshoe.”

As I found out from the cheat, the iron used on it is relatively good. It’s a bit of a contradictory, but I think it’s too good for a horseshoe.

“You can tell?”

Matis is back to his usual short words, but he asked in a slightly joyful tone.

“Yes, that’s my main job after all. It is made well but the materials are quite good too.”

“I see”

Matis spoke in an even more joyful voice. It’s hard to tell because his facial expression doesn’t change much, but, he may be surprisingly more straightforward than I thought.

It took me some time but I hit all the horseshoes and finished fixing them. I used cheats for every process, and since it wasn’t a weapon, I decided that it wouldn’t be a problem to strengthen it so I infused some magical power on it. In this way, it would probably last much longer than a normal horseshoe.

“Alright, it’s done.”

“I’m sorry for the trouble, thanks a lot.”

“Don’t worry about it. This is also an experience for me.”

I respond with a wave of my hand.

“Does Eizou make horseshoes too?”

“Well, I’ll make it if it’s requested, but for now, I’m mostly making weapons.”

“I see”

Matis said so, but it’s hard to tell if he’s sad or satisfied because his facial expression doesn’t change that much. Speaking of that, should I consider that horseshoes could be ordered too?

After Matis received the horseshoes, he thanked me again in a prolonged way of speaking and headed for the stables.

As soon as I thought I could take a break, the next job came in. It seems that the subjugation team that headed to the cave has returned as Miss Frederica came running into the branch office with a repair request form and barrels full of weapons carried by the soldiers.

“I’m sorry Eizou-san! I want you to fix all this!”

Miss Frederica says in an unprecedented anxious tone. Looking at the amount of weapons that she wants me to repair, it seems that there are a lot of injured people, the command post is probably hectic now.

“I understand. Please put it there for the time being.”

“I’ll leave them to you!”

Miss Frederica left in a hurry again. I’m sure she’ll be managing the other materials after this. Thanks for your hard work.

“Hmm, let’s see……”

After I saw Miss Frederica off, I started checking the inventory on the request form given to me.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


9 thoughts on “Chapter 113: Super busy”

  1. Thanks for the this chapter.
    I think about elven soldiers sensing the embedded magic in the items Eizou repaired – they might be surprised by magic horseshoes …

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thanks for the chapter~

    You might want to change out “horsehooves” to horseshoes. Unless Eizou actrually was handed multiple cut of horse feet. I got a verry bloody image in my head reading that part… 😅

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.