Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 114: Mass repair

There were many longswords on the list, a few shields, and one breastplate armor. I could imagine their fierce battle. How I wish I could finish all of these today. However, there are about four barrels brought by the soldiers. This may not be done by the end of today.

I then took everything out of the barrel. There was a large amount of weapons inside the 4 barrels. They are now all crammed inside the branch office as I arrayed them. I put them in the order of the least time to fix.

By repairing the ones that take the least amount of time to repair, I hope to get as many of them back into their usable condition as possible. At the same time, by doing so, more weapons will be usable. When it comes to an emergency, each piece could mean a difference between their life and death.

The first step is to repair the lightly damaged longswords. As there is no need to prepare fire, the work process itself is as simple as hitting it. Of course, something that can be fixed by hitting it once or twice is not considered as damaged in the first place so it wouldn’t be brought here. In other words, it is a certainty that at the very least, this will take more time to fix.

However, if I don’t start, I can’t finish these items so I picked one up, placed it on the anvil, and hammered it while checking for distortions using my cheat.

It was a bit forced, but thanks to the cheat, I was able to repair one in less time. There are nearly two digits more to go. I didn’t have time to feel relieved or tired, so I put the repaired one in a barrel and started hitting the next one. I continued to work hard on the repair and then I eventually finished repairing everything that needed correction for minor distortion.  

I also placed the ones that requires sharpening together with them, and I then carried the barrel containing them near the whetstone stand. I also carried an empty barrel and lined it up near the whetstone stand.

I pulled one out of the barrel containing the longswords and sharpened it while checking it with my cheat. As I don’t need to worry too much about the finishing touches, I just made sure that it’s ready for use. Since it is more efficient to do the same work together, I adjusted the sharpening process so that I could fix it all together.

One piece is finished in less than a minute. Without the cheat, it would have taken more time, but if I use the cheat without caring about the finishing touches, it will take much less time. Once I finished that, I took the next longsword out of the barrel, sharpened it, and then I placed it into the other barrel. Then eventually, the barrel containing the unsharpened ones is emptied out.

“With this, I’m finally done with the longswords.”

Totalling to a two-digit number, the swords are now ready to be returned to the front line. There are still a few heavily distorted swords left unrepaired, but I think I was able to secure a sufficient amount to replenish the supply.

The next step is to repair the two shields. One of them can be repaired by just hammering it, but the other one is dented enough that there’s even holes. To repair it, it must be heated and after it’s heated, it would also take a lot of time to remove or squeeze the handle of the shield. Therefore, this one is considered to be irreparable. And, even if I check it with my cheat, compared to the sword, it is a certainty that the shield that can be hit and fixed needs to be hit more.

Let’s get started then.

The shield is gently curved. Therefore, the dented part needs to be repaired along with it. It would be nice to have a batten, but let’s do something with my cheat here.

The first step is to knock the dent to the opposite side. This is the first step in bringing it back to a near flat state. After that, while adding a little magical power, I hit it at an angle so that the curve returns. Normally, this kind of modification would not result in its original performance.

In my previous world, it’s like you’re trying to put back an empty can that was once dented in the center. At first glance, it may look as if it has returned to its original state, but if you look closely, you will find distortions here and there. In the same way, hitting it from the back will not work that well, but there is something I can do with the combination of my cheat and some magical power.

Eventually, the shield has almost regained its original roundness. If I am to check it, I think there are still some small distortions but the extent of the repair should be enough on the front line.

At this point, the sun was already setting down. I still have a breastplate armor to be repaired, I wonder if this is something that needs to be finished today. The heavily distorted longswords have cracks and they need to be heated up so it will take even longer to repair, I don’t have a choice but to forgo them.

I decided to leave the branch office with the list in my hand and head for the command center.

When I entered the tent of the command center, things were starting to calm down inside. It must have been a long time since they returned while I was repairing. Marius and the others were around the table discussing some strategy. They were exchanging some words but they didn’t seem to be arguing, but rather, it’s like they’re repeatedly reviewing it.

Since Miss Frederica had come to request repairs and the order to withdraw had not come down, it’s likely that the mission will continue tomorrow regardless of a failure or success.  Even if it is extended until the day after tomorrow, it is still as planned, so they may have retreated today although the damage was relatively minor.

“Frederica-san”

“Oh, Eizou-san. Is it done?”

I called out to Miss Frederica even though she seems to be relatively busy in the command center.

“No, I still have the breastplate left. It’s about time for the sun to set, so if I’m going to repair it today, I’m going to need a bonfire. If I need to repair it by the end of the day, I’ll arrange for it.”

“I see. I have a spare breastplate so it can wait until tomorrow.”

“Alright. Next is, the shields and swords here are irreparable. If you really want to, I can fix them, but it’s only for emergency measure.”

“I understand. You can leave the parts that cannot be repaired as they are. The parts that have been repaired today will be picked up later.”

Pointing to the list of items that I found irreparable, Miss Frederica takes a new piece of paper and writes something on it. Well, it would affect my payment and if I am to repair an item separately, there would have to be different request form (whether if I am to repair or melt it down). It’s probably something like that.

“Then I’ll bring this back tomorrow.”

I picked up the list that I brought.

“It’s good if it will be settled tomorrow.”

“Yes, I hope so.”

I then left the command post and returned to the branch office, thinking about the repair schedule from tomorrow.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


9 thoughts on “Chapter 114: Mass repair”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.