Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 126: Completion bonus

We followed the female servant down to the Capital’s inner street. There is some noise, but compared outside of the inner wall, it is much quieter here. I am grateful that Liddy-san, an elf, is with me now as I won’t draw too much attention to myself.

I usually ride in a carriage so I don’t have time to look at such sight slowly. However, when I look at it from a low line of sight like this, it’s quite enjoyable. Basically, there are many stone houses and the streets where the carriages cannot pass by are quite complex and the walls are high. I wonder if this is the same story as that of the Japanese castle towns where it is easy to get lost.

I was curious about that so I asked the servant.

“Well, it’s not without its purpose, but the truth is much simpler.”

Was her reply.

“What do you mean?”

“Now we have an outer wall, but in the past, this area was on the edge of the town. Everyone adequately built their buildings and as a result, the road became complex.”

“I see. It’s convenient for protection. So when they tidied those building, they left the partition as it is?”

“Yes. I heard that everyone had reached a certain level of status by then and it was too difficult to take away their land.”

It’s a very realistic story. In other words, it has never been a burnt field due to a great war. If that happens, there is nothing to take up. There won’t be a proper cadastral map and the land readjustment will just begin here and there.

Anyway, we walked along such winding road then the servant said, “This way please.” Then she opened the metal door on the side of the road. It’s probably a back door. Liddy-san and I went inside.

As expected, it was a back door. When we entered, we found ourselves in a small room. There was a table but its top was unusually thick. The window looked more like an arrow slit than a window. The edge of the window is more like a decoration as it’s slanted down from the inner side of the room, however, this makes it easier to shoot an arrow into the room from the outside. In addition to that, the only exit from the room is the heavy metal door on one side. This is perhaps…

“A mechanism to repel intruders from the back door…?”

“You understand well. That’s right. You couldn’t break through easily from the back door.”

The servant said with a laugh. Not all the nobles in this city are, but rather because the Eimurl family has built themselves up through meritorious deeds in military. I’m a little confused as to whether I should be impressed on the training they applied up until their servants or be left speechless.

Liddy-san and I were led straight to the reception room I entered when I came here before. “Please wait here for a moment”, said the servant and then she left. As usual, the interior of the reception room looked like a picture of fortitude and vigor but, for a person who is not a noble like me, this is better because I felt more comfortable here.

Liddy and I talk about the future. Since we’ve been living together for a while, she already know who lives there and what kind of life we lead. I decided to leave that matter and I asked her what she wanted to do. Apparently, she wants to grow plants.

“I have something “close” to a field so you can use it. I will help you if you want to expand it.”

When I said that,

“Is that ok!?”

Her eyes were shining. I nodded in response.

“Rather, it would be great if someone could manage it. I and Rike are blacksmiths, Samia and Diana are in charge of hunting and collecting. Besides we don’t have proper knowledge on that so it’s okay for you to cultivate it. I feel like we’ll neglect it too.”

That was why I chose peppermint, which requires little care. It was correct not to plant it in the ground according to her advice.

“I see. Then leave it to me.”

“Yes, I’ll leave it to you.”

In this way, the means of securing food for our home was to be carried out in two ways: hunting-gathering and farming.

That said, it’s not like we can plant tomatoes in the morning and then it will be grow at night. So hunting and gathering is still the main means of securing our food for a while. And if we don’t continue to buy from Camilo, it will be difficult to secure enough food for five adults even if the farm starts to do well.

While talking about that, Marius came inside the room with two servants behind him. He has taken off his luxurious clothes and splendid armor. He is now dressed quite casually.

“Did I keep you waiting? Or, am I interrupting something?”

While grinning, he said something like that at the beginning of the conversation, to which I replied bluntly, “Neither”.

“I know both of you are tired, and to be honest, I’m also pretty tired, so let’s go straight to the topic.”

“Please do that.”

“First of all, let me thank you two first. That was a great help.”

Marius bows his head. It would be a big fuss if he did it outside. A Count bowing to a blacksmith… Well, he can do that now because we are inside the house.

“So, for Eizou, I have to show it in a proper way, like when I requested you to do the job.”

“Okay”

I participated because there was a reward. Well, if I was asked by another noble, I think I would have refused. I don’t know what to do if the Marquis made a request though…

“First of all, this will be the reward for the request.”

One of the servants presented a leather bag, documents, and writing tools to me. Once I checked the content, I find a lot of silver coins. I think it’s a little less than one gold coin. Since the number of soldiers is a little smaller, it’s good to see that the repair fee is included properly.

“Certainly”

I put the leather bag in my backpack and then I signed the documents. It is a document showing that the reward has been received. There is also the name of Miss Frederica in something like the person in charge part. So this will be another page in her war that starts tomorrow. I thought back to her struggling with the document like a squirrel with its food. I cheered her on in my mind.

As I handed the papers back, Marius quickly checked it and then he handed it to the servant. This is the end of my work……is what I thought.

Marius continued to talk.

“And this is for your direct participation in the subjugation, plus an additional percentage for repairs.”

The other servant holds out a small leather bag to me. When I took it to examine it, I found that it was rather heavy for its size.

It was filled with gold coins!

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


8 thoughts on “Chapter 126: Completion bonus”

    1. He is.
      He can buy horses and pepper ( were said only nobles use there).
      We know he will do sword from Demon King and Hero (Royals).
      He will be rich and important like Krupp or Ford.

      Liked by 3 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.