Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 127: At the Eimurl’s residence

“Hey, wait a minute! What do you mean by this?”

“As you can see, it’s a reward.”

“No, I know what this is, I mean…”

I’m talking about the sum! Like, what is the repair rate and how did you calculate the money for going inside the cave. When I told him that, Marius answered with a wry smile.

“You usually talk about money but you are very particular about the legality of the things you receive huh.”

“I just can’t afford to receive unjustified money you see.”

“You sound like a stubborn craftsman.”

“Well, I’m a stubborn craftsman alright.”

“That’s right. My mistake.”

Marius and I laughed at each other.

“It’s not an unjustified amount. It’s just right.”

“Just right?”

Marius nods and continues to speak.

“Didn’t Eizou once made that important item for me?”

That…? Ah-, the heirloom?

I guess he didn’t mention the specifics because Liddy-san is also here.

“There’s that indeed.”

“At that time, that was the upper limit of the amount of money that could be moved without it becoming unnatural. However, this time, there are a lot of cover up. The amount I thought you deserve to have at that time was added on top of it. That’s why it’s just right.”

“I see”

At that time, Marius thought that the amount he gave me was not enough, and he is trying to give it to me now. I won’t ask too much about how he covered that up. However, it’s likely not the usual method. So if he took such a step to prepare it for me, it wouldn’t be sincere of me not to accept it.

“OK, I’ll receive it this time.”

“Please do. That’s a legitimate reward that Eizou should receive.”

I put the pouch full of gold coins in my backpack. No one would think that such an old man’s backpack would contain enough money to play and live for a while.

“Alright. That’s all for the rewards. Will Eizou now go home?”

“Yeah, I don’t have any other particular business to do you see.”

“But you will not go home today, right?”

“Yeah, I guess so. I’m thinking of going to an inn or something.”

I can’t forcibly go home and I don’t feel the need to go that far either. If we go to an inn somewhere (of course, me and Liddy-san will have a separate room) and leave the Capital early tomorrow, we should be able to reach my house that same day even if we just go on foot.

“It’s better if you stay at my place then. There are vacant rooms. Let’s have a chat while eating dinner.”

It’s a timely offer. I was a little worried whether it would be okay for Liddy-san to stay in an ordinary inn, so I’ll take his word for it.

“Thank you. We will do that then. Is it alright with you Liddy-san?”

Liddy-san nodded as she added, “I don’t know much about the Capital.”            

“Alright then, let’s take you to your rooms first. I’ll leave it to you guys.”

The second half is for the two servants who came with him. After they nodded in response, they started to guide me and Liddy-san, saying, “This way please.”

Both of them are women, but my cheat tells me that they are skilled in martial arts. If a superficial person tried to push them down, he would be the one lying on the floor the next moment. This House is quite scary.

It’s not extravagant but we proceed through a well-made corridor then I and Liddy-san are invited to different rooms.

“I will bring you some hot water so please relax here for a while.”

“Oh, that would help. Thank you.”

During the expedition, I had cleaned myself as much as possible with a cloth or something damped with water, but doing the same thing using hot water would feel much different compared from doing it with cold water. Maybe I should build a Goemon bath (五右衛門風呂) in my house next time…

I was given a hot water and change of clothes –since it was a simple one, I didn’t need someone’s help to get changed. I then cleaned myself up and felt comfortable. I was told that if I washed my clothes now, they would be dry by tomorrow morning. But since they offered to wash them for me, I took their word for it.

I lay down on the bed. It was the first time in a long while that I had such soft and comfortable feeling. By the way, the ride quality on the wagon along the way was terrible. It seems that there is a suspension system with chains and leather straps, but there is no suspension system beyond that yet so the rough ride was unavoidable.

However, it seems that leaf springs have been around for a long time in the previous world, and there was not much development in suspension for a while after that, so it might be a good idea to introduce leaf springs a little ahead of time.

As I was thinking about this, before I knew it, my consciousness sink into the darkness.

“…ma, …sama. ….up please. Eizou-sama!”

I felt that someone is shaking me. I thought I was dreaming so I gently grab the hand that is shaking me.

“Kyaa!”

I wake up hearing that surprised voice. When I opened my eyes, I was greeted by the sight of the servant of the Eimurl family who had her eyes wide open –my hand is on top of her hand which is holding my shoulder. For a moment, I felt confused with this situation but I immediately realized what happened so I hurriedly let go.

“S-Sorry!”

“N-No, I was just surprised so don’t worry about it.”

When I apologized, the servant smiled and replied that.

“How long did I sleep?”

“I think it’s about an hour or so. After guiding you to the room, I came here after dinner was ready.”

“I see… You could have struck my wrist. I would have woken up in one go then.”

“If Eizou-sama does something unscrupulous, I won’t hesitate to do so.”

The servant chuckled, then she said, “Excuse me”. She fixed my tousled hair and then she began to lead me to the dining room.

The three of us, Marius, me and Liddy-san, had dinner together. The topic of our conversation inevitably focused on the expedition. I gave a detailed account of the events inside the cave. Marius listened attentively while Liddy-san occasionally added something.

Marius talked about being in charge. I understand that it is very difficult to be the in charge of the overall command. Even though there are specially assigned personnel in the supply, management of wounded soldiers, and command and control of each platoon, Marius is responsible of the overall command. Even if Leroy takes part of the responsibility, Marius is the one who has to make the final decision. This time, the goal was clear and it was good because the opponent was not likely to change its base, but if the battle was against other monster race or humans, Marius said that it would not be so easy.

Since warfare is commonplace and difficult to avoid, I hope that Marius will become a great commander who can bring back as many people as possible, including himself, safely. That’s what I thought.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


8 thoughts on “Chapter 127: At the Eimurl’s residence”

  1. “I felt that someone is shaking me. I thought I was dreaming so I gently grab the hand that is shaking me.”
    (Angry Samia meme)
    [Little sad I can’t give this picture]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.