Kajiya de Hajimeru Isekai Slow Life

Chapter 152: Day 1 of sword making

When Nilda and I returned to the workshop, there are already a lot of sheet metal produced. Basically, it’s just a matter of pouring into a sand mold and doing a little processing, so if three out of the four of us are familiar with the process, it’s natural that the production speed will increase.

“Well, let’s get started.”

I said as I roll up my sleeves.

“Can I watch it?”

Nilda asked.

“I don’t mind. However, I don’t think it’s going to be interesting to watch. You can go for a walk in the forest or practice in the garden, if you like.”

Even if the firing process(Sunobe) went well ―because I’ll be stretching it to the desired length, I will just be hitting the material. Quenching, which is the highlight of the process (I think), is still to come.

“Nice. I’ve been interested in this for a long time. Since I don’t have many opportunities to see it in my hometown, I want to see it now.”

“Oh-, okay then.”

While answering, I pick some of the sheet metal they made earlier. Grab one of them with a pincer and put it on the fire bed.

First, I’ll temper the sheet metal itself. Normally, this is where you will remove inhomogeneous parts of the material. However, in the case of my cheat, it is possible to make a homogeneous and high-quality product without doing so. So although it exists as a similar process, what I’m doing is completely different.

The sheet metal is heated in the fire bed to fix the inhomogeneity and then it is filled with magic power. This is not a high-end model but a custom model so I fully utilized my cheat. Some inhomogeneity is acceptable for high-end models, but custom models should not have any inhomogeneity. I have a feeling that if I used my cheats, I will be able to make high-strength steel sooner or later. However, even if I do make it, there is no use for it in this world.

Then, the high-quality sheet metal made in this way is piled up, heated in the fire bed and then forged together to make two lumps. At this time, iron oxide is formed around the sheet metal, so to prevent this from happening, straw ashes are sprinkled around the sheet metal.

I heat it up, hammered it, put a chisel and fold it back. This part is also when you should normally be conscious of how the pattern of the iron would appear. However, if I do it with a custom model using cheat, it will become homogeneous by all means. That’s why most of the patterns would hardly appear. What I’m doing now is just the work to make a lump.

This is a major issue for the future though. I wish I could take advantage of the non-homogeneous texture while maintaining the quality with my cheat.

Since this is a custom-made model, it is taking more time than usual. Then, a little time after lunch, the two lumps were finally finished.

“Rike, a minute please.”

“Yes. What is it?”

“From this point, I’ll do one of the important parts of making a sword called Katana in the North, so please watch.”

“I understand. Thank you, Boss.”

I elongate one lump and flatten the other. When the elongated one gets cold, I heat up the flat one.

“Usually, this flat one uses hard steel, and the elongated one uses soft steel. It will break if it’s hard steel alone. And it will bend if it’s just a soft steel.”

In this case, there is not much difference because it is like a cheat high quality steel. Even if the structure is soft, it will harden because of magical power. Well, except in the case of products that do not contain much magic power like general models of course.

When the flat one has reached the temperature where it can be processed, I bend it into a U-shape and then I put the elongated one there. In the case of Japanese swords, this is similar to the process called “Kobuse(甲伏せ)”.

“In this way, steels with two different properties are combined into one. This makes it possible to combine the sharpness and bending resistance of hard steel with the breaking resistance of soft steel.”

“I see. This is a Northern technique huh…”

“That’s right.”

In my installed knowledge, I know there are similar weapons so the method is probably the same. I doubt it’s that different. At worst, I can just say it’s a secret technique.

After that, I began on the process of stretching it to the desired size. I dampen the anvil is with water, I placed a lump of hot steel on it and start hammering. As the water evaporates, steam rises, and occasionally, when I struck, a sound like the bursting of gunpowder is heard.

When I first made that sound, it surprised everyone on the spot.

“S-Sorry”

“What did you do?”

Rike asked.

“By doing that, the surface will be much smoother.”

“I see, there’s such an effect huh.”

As I’m explaining this, there’s a sound from the outside,

“Kururururu”

Oh, I must have surprised Kururu too. I hurriedly went outside, stroking Kururu’s head. She was right by the workshop. I explained that nothing happened. Kururu looked a little worried but she quietly returned to her hut so I’m relieved.

After that, I adjust the width, length, and thickness while continuing the work of heating and stretching. I only stopped when the dimensions are almost as expected. By the time I noticed it, it was already dark.

Well, let’s leave the rest of the work tomorrow. While feeling that it’s a little regretful, I told myself that overtime is not good and we started cleaning up the workplace.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of Contents ⚜ Next


12 thoughts on “Chapter 152: Day 1 of sword making”

  1. I haven’t started this one yet but still thank you for your hard work megami-sama.

    Letting you know J-novel picked it up so it might be a bad idea to continue working on this one. As frustrating as that is it’s not worth the pain in the ass it’ll give you later I think.

    Like

    1. Hi, but is she translating the light novel or the web novel?
      You would only could get trouble with the light novel, or am I wrong?

      But nevertheless any status about the translator and her well being is appreciated.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. there’s plenty just search it up. when I read it though it feels like google translate, but most websites had somewhat different translation so if you read some at the same time you might get a good understanding at what they’re saying. it’s tiring though so I dropped it.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.