Homeless Tensei: Isekai De Jiyuu Sugiru Majutsu Jisoku Seikatsu

Chapter 77: Allied Forces

Hi guys! I’m posting my last saved translations. Next update will be on Monday (12/04), following the M-W-F schedule.


A month has passed since I returned to the kingdom. Every day, I worked in the fields and worked as an adventurer. Well, there is no news in particular and the current situation is that we are living a leisurely life.

“Fuu-, that was a splendid skill.”

“Katakata”

I gently placed the teacup on the table. Suketarou, who poured me tea, gave me a quick bow.

There was a mixture of tension and relaxation in the room, creating a unique atmosphere. I’m now at a tea house in the bamboo forest on the 23rd floor. It seems like my clone created it while I was away. Lately, whenever I have free time, I have Suketarou make tea for me.

Looking inside the room, the earthen walls recreate the atmosphere of good old Japan. It even creates the illusion of returning home. A scroll with the words, “I want to eat meat”, handwritten by Pero in rough font was tentatively hanged here as well. Despite the rough writing, it soothes my heart. The floor is unfortunately a wooden one. This was because we couldn’t find the grass that is the material for tatami mats. Still, drinking tea in a place with Japanese vibe is exceptional.

“Uh, the tea is bitter…”

Pero, who drinks tea next to me, sips it slowly. Although he looks like a young man, he is still a child inside. Well, what can I say, he doesn’t understand the deliciousness of tea yet.

“Haah-, you guys are here. You’re drinking tea in a place like this again.”

Erna opened the door and came in. Suketarou prepares tea for her immediately.

“I don’t need it. I’m not good at drinking tea.”

“Katakata”

Suketarou clattered his jaw and looks a little disappointed. I’m the only one who drinks the tea he brews. Neither Pero nor Erna nor Freya really likes matcha. The reason why I was able to drink tea casually in this way was because I had gone through some difficulty. The tea leaves were originally produced in the kingdom so it was easy to obtain, the problem was how to make matcha. By groping for memory and repeating some trial and error, I was finally able to make matcha. Compared to what I drank in Japan, the flavor is lower, but it is still a big step forward to be able to drink tea in a different world. Well, the spirit of peace is the heart of a Japanese.

“Shinichi, it’s not the time to drink tea in a place like this.”

Erna’s words made me tilt my head. 

What does she mean by it’s not the time to drink tea?

“They are here!”

“Here? Who came?”

“The armies of the four kingdom have come to Mana! And the army representatives are looking for you in the city!”

Ah I see. Is it that time already? 

I thought it would be a little later, but it seems that the kings of each kingdom sent troops quite faster.

“Let’s go to Mana then.”

I decided to leave the tea room with Pero and Erna.

When we arrived at Mana, countless soldiers lined up near the city. When viewed as a whole, it is divided into four parts, consisting of elves, dwarves, beastmen, and wingmen. Needless to say, they are probably the army sent as troops from each kingdom.

At the entrance to the city, Freya was talking to four men in armor.

“Don’t worry. Tanaka-dono will be coming soon.”

“That’s fine, we’ve been ordered to come under the command of Shinichi Tanaka. It would be very embarrassing if we couldn’t meet him.”

 The four men, who seemed to be generals of various countries, all appeared to be of considerable ability. They didn’t come for the kingdom exactly. Well, they were sent here in friendship with me. In other words, the kings of each kingdom personally sent troops to help me. In the end, this will help save the kingdom so there should be no problem.

I approached Freya and the four men.

“Tanaka-dono! Good! Talk to the generals quickly! Its too much pressure for me!”

Freya caught me and she pushed me out to the four people.  Even as a former knight, she must have been nervous in front of these four generals. There was an aura exuding around them that would want an individual to run away as soon as possible after all.

“Are you Shinichi Tanaka?”

An elf man dressed in armor called out to me. When I replied, “That’s right”, he bowed and began to introduce himself.

“I’m Luan, a general in the Great Forest of Sanargia. Her Majesty has ordered me to help you. I would like to be under your command from now on, I wonder if there is any inconvenience?”

“No problem.”

Next, a male dwarf in armor speaks to me. He is short in stature but his muscles are bulging as if about to burst. He also had an extraordinary air around him.

“I’m General Gril of the Rock Kingdom. His Majesty has asked me to cooperate with you. I’m going to show you what we, dwarves, are capable of.”

“Un, I’ll be in your care.”

Next is the tiger-eared man. He has a large physique and is equipped with a curved sword on his waist. His eyes are so keen, he gives off such sharp stare that when a child sees him, the child would cry and run away.

“…I’m Jagi. His Majesty told me to be under your command. I’ll listen to your orders, but only this time.”

“I see, then I’m counting on you.”

Finally, the winged man. He has long black hair that reaches his waist, and he is so lightly equipped that you can’t think of him as a general. His face looks exactly like Hasan’s.

“I’m Hisan, a general in the Holy Kingdom. I think it is easier to understand if I say I’m Hasan’s younger brother.”

“Oh! You’re Hasan’s younger brother! I was taken care of a lot in the Holy Kingdom!”

“My brother also said that he was indebted to you. For the time being, His Majesty has ordered me to come under your command. I’ll be in your care.”

“Un, I look forward working with you.”

After introducing myself, I’m now ready for a discussion with the generals. It’s the so-called strategy meeting. We get out of town, sit down in a random place and opened the map. Erna and the others seem to be listening nearby.

“Let me go first, I’m just an adventurer. Don’t expect me to do some tactics or strategies.”

The four of them nodded as if to say that they knew from the beginning. Although I am the commander, each of the general seems to be able to come up with a solution on the spot. In other words, all that I needed to do is to choose the plan to take on the empire. You could say that I’m almost like a decoration. Still, it is certain that I am needed to unite this Allied force.

Hisan raises his hand and asks for permission to speak. I gave permission.

“By the time we came here, our army had a reconnaissance squad. They reported that the Imperial Army had already begun marching towards the kingdom. With that, as early as a week later… here, they’ll reach the Aria Plain.”

He pointed to a location on the map. It is a border in the far west of Mana called the Aria Plains.

Hmmm, there is no village there and it is far from Mana. Isnt it the best place to ambush them?

“Alright then, let’s set up our main camp on Aria Plains. The battle will start in a week time and each army should decide on its role.”

“That’s fine but…, what about the Kingdom? As the kingdom in question, there’s no way that they wouldn’t send even a single soldier, right?”

General Gril asks as he pulls a bottle of liquor from his bosom. It’s a fair question. After all, it is us that asked for help in the first place. It is impossible to turn the soldiers of other kingdom into shields without making any sacrifices of our own.

“Don’t worry.  The Kingdom’s troops are already heading to Mana. If it’s on schedule, it’s about time they arrive.”

“That’s good then. It’s better to have a human soldier than not to have one at all.”

That sounds like a lot to talk about. But in fact, humans are too weak to talk back. I would be happy if humans were recognized in this battle…

“What are you going to do? As the Supreme Commander, are you going to watch this battle from a high perspective?”

General Jagi called out to me. Those eyes are sharp as expected, he seems to be suspicious of something.

“I’m going to fight as well. Even though I’m assigned as the Supreme Commander, it’s just something like an arrangement after all. I think it’s better to fight on the front line and reduce sacrifices as much as possible.”

“Hmm… it will be interesting to see how well you, a human, can fight against the dragoneuts.”

The Beast King was friendly to me, but his subordinates seem to be suspicious of my ability. I can’t let them test my skills one by one every time though. He doesn’t seem to have any intention of disobeying instructions so I don’t need to argue with him.

“Can I ask one too?”

General Luan raises his hand. I allowed him to speak.

“Do you have any idea what you would do if the Imperial sacred beast came out too?”

“Sacred beast… Hmm, I’m not very familiar with it, but is the sacred beast of the empire powerful?”

“As far as I can tell, it’s pretty good. It’s not as strong as our kingdom’s Sacred tree but it can be considered to be one of the strongest existing sacred beasts.”

“That sounds trouble then.”

I began to rack my brains.

Although I have Pero and Suketarou here, I think their chances of winning are slim. The opponent is a monster that can live forever after all. If things go wrong, it is quite possible that one sacred beast will annihilate the Allied Forces .

“How about borrowing a sacred beast from another kingdom?”

“That’s impossible. Our Sacred Tree doesn’t move in the first place, besides, the other three kingdom won’t move the sacred beast that is the key to their protection. We have no choice but to do something about it.”

Each general nodded deeply.

The idea of countering the empire’s sacred beast with another sacred beast seems to be rejected. It would have been nice if there was a powerful sacred beast in this kingdom as well. It seems that the sacred beast that protects humans was killed in the war 5,000 years ago though. Since then, sacred beast seems to have been absent in this kingdom.

“Alright. If their sacred beast comes out, I will deal with it.”

“Can you do it?”

“I have to do it. If I can’t deal with it, this kingdom will perish.”

The generals seemed a little surprised at the remarks I made. 

The sacred beast is a great being in this world. It is also called a messenger of God and is also an object of worship. Of course, I don’t think I can kill it with normal means and I don’t want to kill it if possible. But let me tell you this. I’ll kill it even if it is a sacred beast. That’s what my determination to fight is.

“Shinichi, isn’t that a high-ranking official of the Kingdom Army?”

Erna, who was nearby, points to someone. Looking at the entrance to Mana, I saw a high-ranking figure walking towards us with several knights in tow. Judging from his appearance, he must be a general from the kingdom.

When they came in front of us, he began to speak condescendingly.

“I am General Olban. This time, I have come here in obedience to His Majesty, King Logas. Let us immediately begin a conference for the war against the Empire.”

 The man, who calls himself General Olban, is dressed in shiny silver armor with no scratches. His physique is too thin to claim to be a general. His eyes are narrow and the nose is high as well. He is even smirking, one would really get angry if you look at him. The four generals turned their heads towards me. All of them had expressions of displeasure. At the same time, their eyes conveys message, “What the hell is up with this guy?” 

I stood up and decided to talk to Olban on behalf of them.

“There seems to be a mistake in what the general said.”

“…Who are you? Why is an adventurer like you here?”

“I’m Shinichi Tanaka. I’m in charge of this joint operation.”

“Ah-, the adventurer that was asked to be a messenger? Your work is already done. Get out of here immediately.”

“That’s not going to happen. I promised the kings of each kingdom that I would receive the soldiers from them. Haven’t you heard anything from Duke Medil?”

General Olban took a piece of paper out of his bosom and shoved it to me.

By King Logas’ order, it says that the kings of each kingdom should send reinforcements immediately. Moreover, it was stated that the kingdom has the full control of the command over this matter. And that the representative chosen by the king would be the one taking in charge of this matter.

“Did you understand? Give the command authority to me right away then!”

Olban shoves me away. I was involuntarily stunned by the sudden situation and was pushed down.

“Hey! What are you doing to Shinichi!”

When Erna tries to use magic on Olban, I stopped her and said, “Erna calm down”.

If you look closely, Pero and Freya are also already holding their weapons. I’m glad to have such relationship, but I think I should conclude the matter here well.

I stand up slowly and get closer to Olban.

“Who cares about such thing!”

My fist digs into his abdomen. The armor was easily dented, and Olban was blown nearly ten meters away. His attendant knight run up to him and hugged him, saying, “Olban-sama!?” He was instantly knocked out with the whites of his eyes turning upwards.

“Damn! I- It can’t be helped, I’ll return to the royal capital first and report!”

The knight carries Olban and he runs away from this place. Looking back, the four generals smiled at me with satisfaction.

“It’s a shame to keep you in the human kingdom. As expected of the man approved by the Sacred Tree and Her Majesty, the Queen.”

“Buyahahaha. Isn’t that a great courage? You can’t just pick a fight with your kingdom, you know?”

“……I got to change my opinion a little. There is a human with a spine too huh.”

“Hahaha, that was a good punch. It was just like when you took down the Gigant worm.”

I was angry with the man named Olban so I hit him with one shot, but it seems that the four generals had the same feelings as I did. It is outrageous to impose the hardship on me and only take away the parts that are convenient. In addition, my credibility is completely destroyed. Such a silly royal decree is here. Perhaps such message was written in the letters I delivered to each king. If that’s the case, I feel sorry for them.

 We were about to resume the meeting, but this time, the human army came in lockstep. When I reached for my sword to see if they haven’t learned yet, one of them runs up to me.

“Long time no see!”

“Oh! It’s you Edner! How are you doing!?”

I and Edner shake hands. 

But…why is he, Duke Medils knight guard, in such a place?

“Did General Olban come here?”

“Been here. I punched him and drove him back.”

Edner held his forehead and sighed. I guess he wants to say that I did it, troubles coming. Of course, I knew that but still hit him, I won’t be surprised if that happens.

“So be it. The general delegated the command to me and returned to the royal capital. I’m sorry for the late participation, but let us, the Kingdom’s Army, cooperate in the operation.”

“I don’t care, but are there any opinions from other troops?”

Glancing at the four generals, they seemed to be telling me to do whatever I want. Since they did not have complaints, they should accept the kingdom’s army.

“It’s decided then, let’s join forces.”

“For sure”

I and Edner shook hands again.

In this way, about 450,000 Allied forces were formed.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


Previous Table of ContentsNext


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.