Umareta Chokugo ni Suterareta kedo, Zensei ga Taikensha datta node Yoyuu de Ikitemasu

Chapter 84: I just caught it

“““—W-why is there an Escape Lizard here!?”””

The examiners all shouted in shock.

“Ah, I’m sorry. I found one so I just caught it.”

“You just caught it!?”

“J-just when!?’

“Uhm, just now.”

“It’s not a monster that can be caught easily you know!?”

I’m kind of surprised, but it wasn’t that hard either. It simply blends in visually with its surroundings and does not hide its body temperature or magical powers so if you can use normal-level search magic, you will know where it is immediately. I had heard that it was also quick to escape, but it wasn’t really a big deal for me. My wolf brothers are much quicker.

“I can’t believe it……”

“Hey, shouldn’t this baby be the one to take the promotion exam?”

But I’m trying to avoid being too conspicuous in this city. At best, I want to stick to the stance of being a talking baby and at most a B-rank adventurer.

“It’s just a coincidence. And maybe this one was a little weak?”

“Oh, I see…… just a coincidence huh….”

“Is that really so……?”

And just then, the first one came back.

“Mmm. I caught it.”

It was Fana. She grabbed the Escape Lizard by the tail and dragged it towards us.

““Wha-!? You already caught it!?””

“Piece of cake”

Fana is naturally agile and can accelerate with wind magic, so as long as she finds it, she can certainly catch it.

“But how did you find it Fana-oneechan? You can’t use search magic yet, right?”

“I just did?”

Apparently, she knew where it was by sensing it. Well, when I say sensing, it’s probably the result of unconsciously sensing the magic power around her. If you get used to perceiving your own magic through physical enhancement magic, it won’t be difficult for you to recognize the magic around you.

“It’s only been less than five minutes……”

“The fact that there was a baby that caught one in a minute time makes it less amazing though…”

Fana looks at the Escape Lizard I caught and says,

“Did Master catch one too?”

“Yes. I was lucky.”

“As expected of Master. I lost.”

……Hey, I wonder how Anje is doing. Since she is a power type, she does not have the agility of Fana and cannot use wind magic. Still, as long as she uses her head, I don’t think she will struggle that much, right?

“—Far-sighted magic”

To see how she was doing, I used a spell that allowed me to see the scene from a distance. With my current magic, I can only cover a radius of about a kilometer, but I think she won’t be that far away. Since I’ve secretly marked Anje in advance, there’s no need to go out of my way to find where she is.

What? I can always take a peek, right? Haha, of course there’s no way I would do such an immoral thing….

Oh, I can see her. From the way she stares at one point, which is a serious gaze, it seems that she is about to catch the Escape Lizard. I couldn’t hear the audio, but I could understand what she was saying by the movement of her lips.

“It must have run into that bush…but I can’t tell just by looking at it at all. I can feel its magic power so there is no doubt about it though.”

It seems that it has already escaped once. But now she seems to be sure of where it escaped, so it’s just a matter of how to capture it.

“I’ll catch you this time.”

Anje approached the grass quietly. But the next moment, the Escape Lizard tried to escape and the grass shook greatly.

“I won’t let you escape!”

Anje immediately tried to follow it. On the other hand, the Escape Lizard jumped out of the grass and briefly reveals itself in a recognizable green color, but soon assimilates the color of its body with the surrounding soil, making it difficult to see.

But that’s when it happened.

The Escaped Lizard’s movements suddenly slowed down.

“~~~~!? ~~~~!?”

It’s struggling with something but it can’t move forward. On the contrary, its body is sinking to the ground little by little.

“I turned the ground into mud. There’s no way you can escape now you know. Fuhehehe.”

“~~~~!?”

It seems that Anje will be able to pass the first test safely.

This is translated by Yume Neiji. Kindly read at yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.