Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 30: Sanctuary

What happened at this place –the soil is dry, the stone floor weathered and was washed away. And more than that, there’s a decayed signboard entwined with vines. When I approached and confirmed it, my guess turned into conviction.

“…This place was once under the control of the kingdom. I can’t read everything, but it has the kingdom’s coat of arms and the name of the king at that time.”

“This name is about ten years ago… If it were the reign of King Kludio, it would be nearly a hundred years ago.”

The area containing this garden, though not completely ruled by the kingdom, should have been the territory of this country for 100 years.

Did the powerful families become more influential than the kingdom and the management of the garden fell into their hands? Or did the kingdom abandon its own control? At present, there is no certainty.

 “If the kingdom ceased to manage this place, why didn’t they ask the people nearby?”

“That….I can only guess from the situation but for some reason, I think this forest has stopped letting people in. Places with a strong spiritual power often reject people. Unless it is a magician who can detect the influence of the spirit, one would “somehow” think I don’t want to approach it. It ends up like that.”

Prohibiting people from entering due to the influence of the spirit is a magic that can be applied. However, if the spirits rejects humans due to anger or because humans have bad intention, those spirits should never be left alone at all cost.

The spirits of the natural world bring various benefits to humans, but sometimes they suffer. Elemental spirits are said to have a particularly strong influence, and the wrath of elemental spirits may appear as a natural disaster. The spirits of the spirit world will return to the spirit world if the summoning is released, so there is little effect on this world.

……The phenomenon that appears in this garden is also due to the incident that happened to the spirits. There is something that affects the entire plant in the garden. Being one level higher… But if its ahead, can we approach it and be safe?

I can’t make a reckless choice in this situation especially since I have some companions –but just as Presha-san said themselves, there’s no choice of retreat to them.

“Glass-sensei, you don’t have to be worried about us. No matter what happens beyond this, I won’t regret going on.”

“A garden that the royal family had let go…..Touching such a mystery is something you cannot experience while in a fortress. I’m not playing, but to be honest, I’m thrilled.”

There’s a road leading to the back of the garden, with sparse stone floors. There, a new plant monster obstructs the road – seeing it, Presha-san, stands up in a fighting stance, while Dite-san holds her bow. I felt reassured that they came with me.

◆ ◇ ◆

“―Haaaaa!”This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com).

“There…..!”

Presha-san’s spear pierced, Dite-san’s arrow shoot through the raging plant. Even monsters much powerful than goblin won’t stand a chance against these two if they knew their weaknesses.

The closer we get to the back, the stronger they attack us, the monsters don’t want us to come closer. But only the nettles listened to my words and never attacked us.

Plants of the same species share consciousness as fellows. The attacking plant just repeats the phrase “Punish humans who have abandoned the sanctuary”.

However, when it realized that it couldn’t stop us, the voice gradually weakens. As we were approaching a long downhill, the miasma increasingly darken.

―And, it was only when we came so close that I could finally see the existence of  “it”.

I could not see it from outside the garden because it was down a long slope, but there was a giant tree there. No, it is because there are parts like trunks and branches that it can be recognized as a tree. There are no leaves, and the surface has decayed and turned gray.

With the giant tree as the center, wind blows then the miasma hurl toward us. A voice saying “Punishment for humans” echoed in my head, the giant tree vibrates and gray sand rolls up.

 “Uh…Se-Sensei…… With this, one more step is…”

“―Glass-sensei, don’t! You alone…!”

Both Presha-san and Dite-san have stopped moving forward. I could hear their voices stopping me, but I couldn’t stop. The ones who are ahead are weak and calling for help –it wasn’t as easy as it seems.

Despair, lamentation, they even directed their anger to all humans. There was only one reason why they had no choice but to do so.

“I understand your feeling of hating humans who have left this place…Still, I want to ask for it though it’s unreasonable, pardon us! Give us one more opportunity, we will never betray you again! We won’t forget and throw you away …!”

(―It’s not a betrayal.)This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com).

(―I always thought that human beings would give me their faith.)

(―My pride kept away people’s hearts. A god who cannot get faith will only decay and be forgotten.)

“Your familiar isn’t convinced with that… they turned against us. I think you’ll regret it too! If the land around you perishes like this, it will really be forgotten… I can still stop it now! We can help you!”

I didn’t mean to tell a makeshift lie. But if the decaying giant tree claims to be a “god”, it is no longer a spirit, but a higher ranking entity – a Divine Spirit.

If it lose its faith and is dying and letting the land die, then I’ll offer my faith. If it’s not enough, I’ll encourage many to believe.

Despite that, the refusal increases, while miasma grows endlessly. Stones are mixed in the hurled gray soil and grazes my cheeks – pain runs thru my cheeks, I can see that blood is flowing.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com).

(―It’s too late. Even I cannot stop my own body from decaying. If my roots that support this land wither, the soil will rot and my familiar will become a demon. Originally, those who were cut off by you were also innocent flowers. )

(―I’ll sacrifice and perish with them. Human, just give up this land again―)

The voice echoes in my head.

To give it up and have no hope… if that is what the god wants, maybe there really is nothing left for humans to do. Still, I can’t give up. A little more and I’ll be able to reach that giant tree –while preventing the thick miasma to blow up, the magical energy stored in the magical crystals were about to be exhausted.


PreviousTable of ContentsNext


3 thoughts on “Chapter 30: Sanctuary”

  1. I don’t understand why authors and translators like to litter their works with various references to themselves in the middle of the text. All it really does is make the reading experience worse. It’s like having somebody come interrupt you repeatedly. It’s a bit infuriating. If anybody cares to, it’s trivial to strip out anyway. And heck, now I’m probably going to go off and hope somebody actually is doing just that.

    Why not just put something above or below the chapter? Anybody going to the trouble of removing it will do it no matter what, and that way it’s not actively interrupting the readers. We’re reading because we want to enjoy it, you know?

    Like

    1. Well, if you are reading and loading it on the site itself, you should not be able to see those texts itself as I set the text color into white. (Though there should be a few spaces)

      Outside the site (or if you read them on emails or wordpress reader) you’ll really be able to see them as the formatting were removed. This is just to remind readers that the real translation was made by the given site you see. (Even a single view a day matters as most translation sites are running ads.)

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.