Hagure Seirei Ino Shinsatsu Kiroku

Chapter 46: Recollection

In the Isle Rose Fortress, there’s a waterway leading from the canal. It is used as the fortress’ water. There are also wells that were dug deeply and the fresh water is used for making meals.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

Originally, the wells were used by the local residents in a small village but it was bought when the fortress was built. With that money in hand, the original residents moved to Wendel town near the fortress.

One out of the two wells dug down has a hot spring which is the reason why the price of the well was high. The great advantage of those knights staying in the first floor lodgings of the fortress is the ease of using the hot water.

The basement of the fortress is divided into several areas, one of which is a bathhouse used by executives. I also think that this is a consideration only for women’s fortresses –even at the time of war, sanitation is directly linked to a knight’s morale, so it is good that facilities are in place.

Well, hot springs and wells do not always spring infinitely, so we can only wipe our bodies normally… At the academy, once in a while, I go to public baths in town, but that is not the case here.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

When I start to recall the things a while back, my friends come to mind. I think Sven will be fine because he’s a tough guy, but… is Leslie doing well at the academy?

It’s worrisome when it comes to Leslie’s home. As an illegitimate child of Duke Lenklus –I think Leslie herself does not know about it, I just happened to know that fact.

My father works as a secretary in a Noble House and my mother is the seventh daughter of a Viscount family. Originally, there is a large difference in status with Leslie, and it is not a relationship where they can interact. The reason why I got to know her and became known as “Grass-nii” can be traced back when we first met.

By the time I entered the Magic Academy at the age of eight, the teachers weren’t so strict on me because of the fact that I hold a noble bloodline –that expectation was betrayed during the day of my Spirit Selection Ceremony though. But in the first place, there were many children with noble bloodline so I was not particularly favored.

However, I still have a noble bloodline. At the time that Leslie entered the school, my mother’s parents had a connection with Duke Lenklus. Professor Hendrick, the vice principal then summoned me.This is translated by Yume Neiji

“To prevent the other students from harming Leslie Li Lenklus, I would like you to cooperate as one of the personnel who will guard her within the Academy.”

It was a request for me to strictly watch over Leslie during the outdoor school where new students and seniors form a group. The Lenklus family selected few other capable students with noble bloodline and with this, Leslie spent all her time in the outdoor school under the supervision of multiple people, perhaps she’s completely not aware of it.

At that time, I was in a different team. Something may have happened because Leslie got lost in the forest despite the strict guarding instructions.

Someone needs to look for Leslie. At first I thought that it was weird for me to go out and help a younger girl student who I hadn’t talked to yet. But I didn’t hesitate. As everyone rushed into the darkening forest, I was confident that I could find Leslie in the dark forest.

When I think about it, it may have been the sign that I would be contracting a plant spirit… I felt that the spirits of the trees that exist in the nature told me where Leslie was.

“Why are you here?”

When I finally found her, she was at the root of a big tree forming like a den. I reach out to her and she looked up at me. Her eyes told me that no one believes in her.

Somehow, I hesitated to tell her the truth. If I told her, “I was asked by a teacher”, I could imagine what kind of expression the girl in front of me would look like. I thought hard but I didn’t get an answer so at that time, I just said, “I don’t know”.

How did I get Leslie back then? I can’t remember clearly but I piggybacked her as she sprained her foot.This is translated by Yume Neiji

Until I tell her the truth, I won’t die. So there’s nothing to worry about.

I received instructions from the deputy head teacher and I even know Leslie’s ancestry. I can’t just keep my silence all the time –someday, I should receive punishment from her.

With the facade that I don’t know anything, I enjoyed being called “Grass-nii” and I felt that the time I spent with Leslie, who also had a similar spirit, was cozy.

All women with Lenklus bloodline are destined to have a political marriage. So it’s not unusual for Leslie to do so while I’m away from the school –it is known that all nobles are to be married by the age of eighteen.

“U-Uhm…..Grass-sensei?”

“Oh!…… S-Sorry, I stopped in the hallway.”

I noticed that a woman with short hair is standing in front of me. I haven’t remembered all of the medic’s names yet –this time, I must remember them.

“Ah, you’re going to take a bath right? In the bathroom, there is a note “Men in use”. We made that note for Grass-sensei and your secretary.”

“Thank you very much for your concern”

“N-No, likewise… I’m very grateful for Sensei’s help… W-Well then.”

Somehow she looked flustered and the woman hurries to go –but that’s maybe because she saw a postcard with the motto, “Be quiet in the hallway”, from which she quickly walked away.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

The people in this fortress are all hard-working people who values discipline. There are different type of people and so far, my social relationship with them is improving, I haven’t had any dispute too. Is it okay to think that I am doing well?

Because I was the only man, I thought I might be quite isolated but it really helps a lot with Lendl-san here.

With that in mind, I open the door with the “Men in use” tag and enter the dressing room.

“Uhm, Lendl-san. I’m going in…”

 “Uh……!?”

―No one else can be there other than “Lendl-san”.

There is even the note used by men. Lendl-san who came with me should definitely be a man even if he took off his hat and glasses. But when Lendl-san used magic to protect me from the Goblin’s arrow, I didn’t ask “what type of spirit it is.” If the power of that spirit can make “Lendl-san” lie to me….

“……Grass, s-sensei…..”

That’s how “she” called me… For a moment, I couldn’t connect her to someone I know.

At the age of twelve, she was still an innocent child. But three years later, I knew she changed but I still couldn’t understand how much she changed.

The cloth used for wiping the body unreliably hides her chest. The long wet hair hangs on her shoulder, and she may have concealed it by devising her clothes –her slender, delicate curve.This is translated by Yume Neiji (yumeineijiworks.wordpress.com)

Everything in front of my eyes showed that it’s impossible for “Lendl-san” to be a man!


PreviousTable of Contents Next


4 thoughts on “Chapter 46: Recollection”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.